Skip to content

I can FLY!

April 15, 2008

Some parts of cake decorating I love just for the simple joy of the quiet I can experience while working on it…(aka, I do this when the kids are in bed or else suffer major stress!)

take for example, working with chocolate to make ‘decorations’ like hmmm Snitch Wings..

First you draw your pattern on paper

Tape it to the counter, and then tape a piece of waxed paper over it.

Next, melt your chocolate

follow your instructions carefully of course so as not to burn your chocolate or yourself…

Then Pipe the chocolate over your pattern.

I have done a MUCH better job in my piping in the past… two problems last night, first, I couldn’t find my usual chocolate piping containers… so the lid had a much larger hole (more for making filled chocolates or lollipops, than piping designs)…  these may have to do if I can’t find the containers today for a do-over…

Finally, for a fun added touch, paint on edible ‘pearl dust’

11 Comments leave one →
  1. April 15, 2008 6:53 am

    I have enjoyed watching the progress the last couple days. Thanks for sharing!

  2. April 15, 2008 7:08 am

    You are so talented! Maybe I should hire YOU to make my wedding cupcakes! 🙂 J/K. I wouldn’t want to put that stress on a friend. I can’t wait to see what you got today!

  3. chanknits permalink
    April 15, 2008 7:46 am

    Lovely! Don’t be so critical of something that will be devoured much faster than you created it. 😉

  4. Anita permalink
    April 15, 2008 9:08 am

    The cake is shaping up nicely! You have WAY more patience than I do!! 🙂

  5. Mary permalink
    April 15, 2008 9:35 am

    Looking good, can’t wait to see it all attached!

  6. kadezmom permalink
    April 15, 2008 11:25 am

    oooooooooooooooooooooooooh, and you give TIPS!!!!! Thank you, oh talented one. I’m still really loving what I’m seeing. (it would help if I could draw…but at least I know HOW to do it)

  7. April 15, 2008 12:16 pm

    You are the coolest mom ever! I tried piping chocolate into little heart shapes once. It wasn’t pretty. LOL

  8. April 15, 2008 2:19 pm

    ooooo! I have the gold brush on and I lurve it!

  9. April 15, 2008 4:02 pm

    That is sooooo cool!!!!

  10. April 15, 2008 5:45 pm

    Way to go!!! The wings look great.
    I now know where you picked your name from though.

  11. April 15, 2008 8:00 pm

    WOW! That is so impressive! How did you learn pastry-magnificence?!?

Leave a Reply

