Skip to content

Do you check?

April 15, 2008

Do you check on your children before you go to bed?

I do…

and I tuck them back in if their blankets have fallen off… and, when they were the earliest of newbies in my family I checked to make sure they were breathing… and alive and all that stuff…

Sometimes when I check my kids it’s totally uneventful… sometimes though I get this…

Yes.. instead of picking the sleeping wonder up and putting her back into bed… I … the blog freak that I am, ran downstairs to get my camera, tell the big guy and prep my blog post in my head…  Yes she was sound asleep…

Oh, and for the Snitch followers… here’s an update of my progress…

Pre-decoration (the color is NOT that wonky in person.. something about photographing a shiny sphere is just NOT going well with my camera)

As a reminder… the snitch is not a smooth sphere.. it has grooves in it, and ALL of my reviews of photos couldn’t quite confirm their EXACT design, so I kinda wung it on one for sure and a bit on some of the others as well.. not sure if I’m overjoyed with it yet.. but once I luster dust it and add some wings I’m sure I’ll be much more pleased!

Side view…  that top swirly… I don’t think is supposed to be so swirly… but honestly, the attention detail freak that is the ‘Big Girl’.. isn’t concerned so I’m going to be happy with it as it is… the colors will darken as it sits, and will blend better once it’s been ‘dusted’. 🙂

Ok.. the Biggest Loser finale is starting… I’m off!

15 Comments leave one →
  1. April 15, 2008 7:58 pm

    LOL. I couldn’t stop laughing at that picture. I think I would have done the same thing if I were you.

    The snitch is coming along quite nicely!!!!

  2. April 15, 2008 11:31 pm

    The snitch is looking great.

    Poor little one. Our oldest does a lot of sleep walking, so often times we’ll find him curled up on the stairs or in our closet. lol As long as he doesn’t try to make a treck through the neighborhood, I’m good.

  3. April 15, 2008 11:31 pm

    LOL… she is soo cute.. I cant believe she fell asleep like that 🙂

  4. bunnyb permalink
    April 16, 2008 6:00 am

    LOL! What’s funnier is that your first instinct was to grab the camera. But then again, all parents are like that. My dad loved to take our pictures when we were sleeping and our mouths were open with drool coming out. 😛

  5. April 16, 2008 6:20 am

    OMG is that your WEDDING BAND lying there??? Just LYING there!?!? 😀

    That is the cutest pic of your wee bug. Mine used to sleep upside down hanging off the edge of the bed. Cutie. 🙂
    Love the snitch!
    (I’ll think of you while in Raleigh. XOXO)

  6. lauriec permalink
    April 16, 2008 6:42 am

    Yes, I check & I have found a similar sleep position! One night she was talking in her sleep & I started to laugh so hard i had to run out of the room!

    Your snitch looks GREAT! We have the same penguin plate!!

  7. chanknits permalink
    April 16, 2008 8:01 am

    MIL couldn’t believe she was sleeping like that, and laughed that you left her that way to go get the camera.

    The snitch cake looks awesome.

  8. April 16, 2008 9:28 am

    That is so funny to your daughter could even sleep like that!

    Cool cake!

  9. April 16, 2008 5:24 pm

    WOOT-WOOT!!! I laughed for the first time today!!! That’s better than showing her future boyfriends naked baby pictures!!

  10. April 16, 2008 6:41 pm

    That’s a cute pic! 🙂 When Levi was small he went round & round the bed in sleep, and usually wound up falling off! LOL Poor thing.

    That cake is shaping up!

  11. Mary permalink
    April 16, 2008 7:35 pm

    LOL very cute photo..lol I remember those days! and yes I like you alwys checked on my kids! Good thing too sometimes..cause of those like your pic.
    Cake looks nice! Guess the big wings you piped out didn’t work so hot.. Want smooth all around should’ve went with a fondant icing! you roll is out and lay it over or pour it over 🙂
    Oh hey, I mailed a box to you this morning!!
    Wish I cold be a mouse in the corner when you open it..lol
    Have a good one!!

  12. kadezmom permalink
    April 16, 2008 10:31 pm

    oooooh, that is too funny! I can just “see” you running downstairs to get the camera….and getting the big guy. Love it. I’m still trying to decide if I’m going to show dd2 your snitch. I wouldn’t want to get myself into something I cannot do. Or worse, have her decide to try. ACK! LOL. Nah. Maybe during the summer…..hummmm, her little group of friends are planning themed parties. We were slotted to have the chocolate party..but maybe she can just snitch it over to HP! (okay, even I groaned at that one) Thanks for getting the wheels of my brain well greased.

  13. April 17, 2008 8:54 pm

    Priceless pic – and yes I do check on them, for similar reasons.
    That looks like a snitch to me…

  14. fireflynights permalink
    April 17, 2008 10:07 pm

    Poor Murphy. I didn’t know dogs got vertigo. I had it twice and it was awful.

  15. Paula permalink
    April 20, 2008 9:42 pm

    I almost always check on the kids. Sometimes, I do skip it if I’m really tired, but only if DH has checked on them instead. When they were babies I did check if they were breathing. If I couldn’t tell readily if they were, I admit that I would poke them until they moved just to make sure they were still alive.

    My 4yo daughter moves around a ton in her sleep, too. We find her with her feet on her pillow, on the floor next to her bed, leaning on her bed (like in your picture). Most recently, she was found laying across the bed on her pillow. We have take pictures, too. We don’t do that every time. But, whoever finds her in one of her funny positions always goes to find the other to come and check her out before we put her back into a somewhat normal position.

Leave a Reply

