Skip to content

Too many hugs are needed aka Dogs on Thursday

April 10, 2008

Wow, it seems that my  last few days of blog reading (catching up) has produced a rather large list of friends in need of hugs…. Murphy and I would like you to please take the time to visit the following people and offer words of support for them as they deal with the sickness or loss of a beloved furry family member…

Alice, was in my cocoa swap.  I still read so many of the blogs from that swap.  Her dear Alex was attacked by a neighborhood dog on a ‘quick’ walk this past weekend.  Alex was transferred from the emergency vet to her local vet yesterday and is expected home today.  Poor sweet baby, I do hope he’ll heal quickly, and that her meeting with the neighbor will go well.

Mary, had to say goodbye to Storm, and her sweet Kitty Electra at the same time.  It was hard enough to let go of Chewy this past fall but to have had to do two pets at once, I can’t even fathom.  Please stop and leave a kind note at her blog… I know she’s trying to be strong but we all need hugs during times like these.

Cindy and Elizabeth, are also from my cocoa swap.  They are dear Mainers with a love of running, homeschooling, and their beloved Golden’s… Mary was a world traveler and sweet running partner to Cindy for years.  Besides our love of running and knitting, Cindy and I really connected through Murphy’s recent incident with his seizure and resulting vertigo symptoms… Cindy’s dog Mary had been through a similar incident a few years ago, and she was a tremendous support with plenty of words of wisdom from her experience, and I’m just so saddened that she has lost her beloved Mary.  Elizabeth, Cindy’s daughter, is also struggling with the goodbye.  Please stop and visit their blogs with your kindness!

My friend Jen, who is blogless at the moment? I think?  Has said her goodbyes to Gizmo.  She’s really struggling with this and I know she will be ok, but is taking the time she needs right now for her grief.

In my life… I’m zonked… I had a bizzaro allergic reaction to something in my eye last night, causing it to swell a LOT and I woke in the middle of the night with what I think is an ear infection!  I’m not sure if the two are related but this morning my eye is still swollen, and I sit here waiting for the doctors office to open so I can get my ear checked…   Ummm… aren’t ear infections something CHILDREN get???  at 37 I hardly consider myself a child.. though I can be childish at times.. 😉  For the moment my breakfast has consisted of decongestant, antihistimines, and lots of ibuprofen!

Come on people… I just want to get a decent nights sleep!

That Lunestra commerical is constantly at the front of my mind these past two weeks…

9 Comments leave one →
  1. April 10, 2008 7:49 am

    Michelle that was a great post and later today I will be stopping by those blogs to send HUGS.

    An Ear infection, see as you get healthier you get younger too. If only it worked that way huh? Hope that breakfast cocktail does the trick.

    Love ya

  2. Catherine permalink
    April 10, 2008 7:57 am

    It may be allergies if you are working in the yard so much. Things are different here than they are in your hometown area and you could have allergies here that you didn’t before.
    Hope you get into the dr so you will feel well enough for sit and knit tonight!

  3. chanknits permalink
    April 10, 2008 8:21 am

    Take care of you. Sorry there’s so much sad dog/pet news!

  4. Anita permalink
    April 10, 2008 8:27 am

    nice post! Good luck at the Dr. office! My ear was hurting one morning, turned out to be a sinus infection… go figure!

  5. April 10, 2008 12:38 pm

    This is why we love the blogoverse. I shall visit and offer thoughts. Thanks.

  6. Mary permalink
    April 10, 2008 1:20 pm

    Thanks for the hugs Michelle! They’ve been dong wonders. I’m so sorry to hear of all the others, it really is hard and TOO quiet!!
    I hope your Dr. visit goes well! Hugs back to you 🙂

  7. April 10, 2008 2:00 pm

    I agree…sounds like allergies. They can do a number on you. Let us know what the doc says. 🙂

  8. April 10, 2008 4:02 pm

    May I suggest Melatonin for a couple nights? It is a natural substance the body produces to help you sleep. Some people’s bodies have periods where the brain does not produce enough. Hence, difficulty sleeping.

  9. Jen permalink
    April 12, 2008 4:47 am

    Hi there. I’m so sorry to hear about all the other animals/people going thru what I recently went thru.
    Alice, I hope Alex feels better soon. We’re wishing him a speedy recovery. (we=my Ben dog and me)

    Mary, I’m so sorry to hear about Storm and Electra. I had something similar happen a few years ago. My other dog and another cat went within a month of each other. My heart goes out to you. Gizmo will surely meet them at the Bridge. hugs to you.

    Cindy and Elizabeth, I’m very sorry to hear about your Mary too. Remember, its never “goodbye,” its always “I’ll see you later.” I know it’s mostly said about people but I think it applies to pets too. Cuz we will see them again someday. Gizmo will see Mary at the Bridge too. hugs to you both.

    Thank you all for your kind comments and prayers. I’m still hanging in there one day at a time. I miss Gizmo a lot but I also know that he is at peace and not in pain anymore. I feel him with me sometimes and I know it is going to be okay. I’ll see him again one day.

    hugs and prayers and aloha to you all.

    Jen

Leave a Reply

