Skip to content

Tea For Two

April 7, 2008

Grab a cup and sit a while… this is going to take a bit!

See that tea up there?? Chan gave me that lovely tea cup, and bought a matching one for herself. What a fun way to build a unique tea set that will remind you of your visits with your friends! I think I might have to ‘steal’ that idea 😉

Tea is just one of many things that Chan and I share in common.. and the fun thing about meeting in person for the first time is that we were able to talk for REAL… and reveal all these other interesting things about ourselves that we share in common.

Y’all have listened to me whine and complain lately about stresses in my life… whether I revealed them in detail here on my blog or in emails with friends… it isn’t important. I got a breather from my life this past weekend and was thrilled to share that time with Chan. I’m home now, refreshed and ready for another year (probably) before my next break! 😉 And with the looks of things.. this year might be just as jammed packed as the past one!

I’m not sure where exactly to start with my recounting of the weekends events… I mean seriously … leaving my house and children behind was hard.. I miss them when I’m not with them.. but it was necessary to for my sanity, and theirs I’m sure 😉 My sweet husband is fantastic with the kids, so I never fear for a moment leaving the lot of them for more than an afternoon…though I do sadly fear for the condition of my house… but that is entirely secondary and unimportant in the grand scheme of things. Yes I left it in decent condition and yes it was as if tornado ripped through it upon my return… but it wasn’t unexpected!

My drive south was uneventful, rainy, and filled with stops to deal with the skipping cd’s I’d packed.. bleh! But it was nice to have 5 hours of uninterrupted ‘thinking’ time.. I sang with abandon to the Barenaked Ladies, and Dave Matthews… I laughed my rear off to Dane Cook, and enjoyed a Dairy Queen milkshake… and then I was there!

Chan and her family of cute pups and the lovely Knight were so welcoming and lovely. The Knight opened up to my quirkiness and I think he might have even enjoyed my visit 😉 The dogs were a blast.. and helped me to NOT miss my pup so much… I kept Mugsy running after his ball, and kept Sissy happy with pets and lap sits, and started teaching her our version of how ‘not’ to jump up… hahaha yeah that worked so well! 😉 Oh puppyhood!

Our first night was filled with knitting, laughter, chatter, and at a very late hour we finally went to bed… I got to sleep in late (9am is hardly late by most standards but for me.. that’s quite late!).. We started our Saturday with a trip to Carodan Farm for some yarn petting and purchasing… 🙂 Caroline has a lovely shop, and is so wonderfully accommodating and helpful! I’ll surely purchase from her online shop in the future!

The show and tell… I bought some ‘new’ to me fibers to work with and am already in love with one…

Panda Cotton… yum.. I love how it knits up, and am very pleased with my first sock in this yarn.. I’m certain I’ll be buying more of this yarn for my sock adventures of the future! THIS is the type of sock I love… a soft cotton, and the colors available scream to me… I just love it! In fact, I think Chan was even quite thrilled with how it was knitting up and planned to pull some from her stash soon… 🙂

I’m a pastels girl for sure.. and I love how the first sock knit up…

I also picked some Panda Wool… I am excited to try this out for socks as well 🙂

The greens and blues are so my colors!

I picked some Tofutsies since it is hands down Chan’s favorite sock yarn… in this yummy pink…

And then… this new to knitting socks girl saw this… of course the little ‘noise’ or squeal of delight that errupted from me… well.. that had Chan in hysterics.. but how cool is this…

My main reason for liking this chart is twofold… first.. my sweet hubby has size 13 feet! I know he’s not all that ‘into’ my knitting.. but I have really wanted to knit him some socks… and this will help me know what size I am looking at (and how LONG) I’ll be knitting that foot… additionally… my children are of course constantly in need of new shoes for their growing feet.. so as they change size I will have this to guide me in my sock knitting adventures for them!

Chan purchased some lovely cotton sock yarn from Caroline in a beautiful ‘summer’ colorway, some new bamboocle which looked lovely and not very boucle’ish… … and she got something else.. shoot… what was it??? a pattern for a very super cool sock, and some yarn to knit it in … but I forget just what it was.. new Tofutsies maybe???

From the shop we headed to a Pampered Chef show of Chan’s. What fun to meet some of her fire-station friends. The show was lovely, and Pampered Chef has added some very new cool items to their fabulous collection… here’s a link to Chan’s store in case you may be interested.. 🙂

We finished our evening with a lovely dinner at a local favorite of Chan and her Knight’s… and of course.. mucho knitting, and chatting..

I brought with me some Malabrigo that I received what seems like eon’s ago from Devin in the Harry Potter Scarf Kit swap (round 3)… I had been hunting for just the right pattern when I found a lovely cabled hat pattern in my knitting pattern calendar. It’s called Jack’s cabled hat. I don’t have a link for it. I can’t believe I didn’t use this yarn before.. and I assure you I’ll be heading over to Ravelry and joining the Malabrigo lovers groups… YUM.. knitting with this is like knitting with butter! It so lusciously soft..

I love the variation in color of this hat.. and think it will be a wonderful Christmas gift for the Big Guy for next year.. *yep, trying to keep up with my Year Long Gift Along group.. still haven’t posted April’s list though.. eeks!

I snapped a number of cute photos of the doggies.. and had such a ball playing with them. Chan tells me that as I drove away sweet Sissy stood on the porch watching my car until it disappeared from the drive…

Look at her.. isn’t she a doll!!! Ok.. now for the cutest pic… look how she sleeps…

oh and another relaxed pose of the sweet girl… and of course her buddy Mugsy there snoozing in the background…

Mugsy and I got along splendidly… I kept him running most of the time we were outside… he just LIVES for fetch.. and I love it when Dogs will fetch (Ummm yeah.. mine don’t believe in fetch…)

Yep.. that’s THE ball.. always ready in case fetch could be played indoors! Please note the cuteness with which Mugsy lays down.. legs splayed back… too cute!

Mugsy is just such a sweet sweet boy…

Of course it had to happen.. the weekend came to an end… Chan and I did our obligatory pose together and the sweet Knight took our photo…

In very quick ‘other’ news…

My friend Elizabeth had her baby yesterday! A little girl! (I knew it.. I just had a gut feeling about it)… now.. I will run my little fingers to Ravelry to find something ridiculously cute to cast on…

Chan it was so much fun to visit with you! Thank you from the bottom of my heart for such a nice weekend away!

22 Comments leave one →
  1. Anita permalink
    April 7, 2008 9:13 am

    Awwww… look at you guys!! Cute photo! 🙂 I’m so glad that you had a good weekend! And a safe trip. Loved all your photos! Those 2 puppies are just too cute.

    I’m lovin that Panda sock! I got some in a swap, I might just have to pull that out & give it a try….

  2. chanknits permalink
    April 7, 2008 9:49 am

    I’m laughing out loud… we titled our posts the same! The Knight did adore you; I think the Dane cd as a parting gift iced the cake. I’m pretty sure it’s in his work truck this morning.

    LOVE the shots of Sissy. MJ is mortified that her granddog is splayed on the ‘net for all to see… SNOL!!

    I see you did have time to finish that first sock. It looks great!

    Come back anytime. It was a blast!

  3. April 7, 2008 10:15 am

    What a great weekend. I can see by the use of smilies that you totally feel recharged. We all need that sometimes.

  4. April 7, 2008 12:21 pm

    Isn’t meeting real imaginary people the best?! Really pleased you had such a lovely time with Chan ( and being with wonder doggies helps the time go even quicker!)

  5. April 7, 2008 12:31 pm

    I know what you mean about meeting online friends. I have been blessed to meet several and hope to add you to my list soon. I am only 3 hours from PA you know. Just a few more pounds and maybe I can drive it myself.

  6. April 7, 2008 12:34 pm

    Okay…that is the most precious picture of Sissy I’ve seen as of yet! LOL I just love it!

    I’m so glad y’all had a great time! You definitely deserved the break. 🙂

  7. kadezmom permalink
    April 7, 2008 12:44 pm

    Michelle~

    Wow. Reading about your trip felt like a vacation! Thanks for sharing. Chan – you ROCK as a hostess. Wow, wow and wow. Thanks for a ray of sunshine on this rainy monday!

  8. April 7, 2008 2:17 pm

    What a great weekend!! Love all the goodies you got and it’s such a treat to hear about your trip. Like being there too! Cuppa tea?

  9. April 7, 2008 4:01 pm

    Oh How fun! I was wondering where you went!!! Glad you had a refreshing weekend. 🙂

  10. April 7, 2008 5:33 pm

    I would be excited about that sock chart too, but I’m just a geek like that 🙂 It looks like you had a great weekend.
    Oh, and by the way:
    *Tag*
    Check my blog for details.

  11. April 7, 2008 7:46 pm

    Aw, I’m so glad you both had a nice visit! I love all the yarn and pup photos.

  12. April 7, 2008 8:19 pm

    I’m so jealous of the weekend you two got to spend together! Both of you were so deserving of such a relaxing weekend with a great friend. I got that same warm fuzzy feeling when I met her too. Maybe some day you and I will get to chat and knit in person too!

  13. April 7, 2008 8:20 pm

    I’m so jealous of the weekend you two got to spend together! Both of you were so deserving of such a relaxing weekend with a great friend. I got that same warm fuzzy feeling when I met her too. Maybe some day you and I will get to chat and knit in person too!

  14. holly permalink
    April 7, 2008 9:23 pm

    Hey, I have that same shirt, wonder where I got it from. Hehehehe. Looks like you had a good weekend, I am glad for you.

  15. Mary permalink
    April 7, 2008 10:45 pm

    So glad you got your much needed break and what a great time you had!!! I think alot of gals will steal Chan’s idea of the friendship tea cup..neat idea!
    Love the yarns and that sock is beautiful!
    LOL Sissy is so darling, I think most girl dogs lay unlady like as I always say, mine pray for stuff all the time..lol Glad to see another doggie doing the same!
    Thanks for the post of the weekend, Thank you also for your thoughts & hugs!! Look forward for more posts!

  16. April 7, 2008 11:41 pm

    I’m so glad ya’ll had a nice visit – it’s ALWAYS good to visit Chan, and she’s a lovely hostess.

  17. April 8, 2008 8:58 am

    What a wonderful weekend and great “stress free getaway!” I love all of your purchases – and I need to find me one of those sock it to me charts too!
    Great doggy pics….. I’m jealous you got to meet Sis & Mugs… (and yes, Chan too…)!

  18. April 9, 2008 9:17 am

    Just wanted to say that I’m glad you got a weekend away! It always nice to be able to re-charge!

  19. April 9, 2008 11:37 pm

    Dont get your hands too black and bruised.. you still need to knit 🙂

  20. Jen permalink
    April 12, 2008 4:37 am

    Sounds like a lovely getaway. Sissy and Mugsy are too cute! He lays like mine do…that’s the frog pose. =) I’m glad you had a good time. (hugs) and aloha,

    Jen

  21. April 13, 2008 11:15 pm

    Looks like you had fun and I love the puppy shots!!

Trackbacks

  1. Goodnight sweet Mugsy « InsanKnitty

Leave a Reply

