Skip to content

Where is Heaven? aka Dogs on Thursday

March 27, 2008

Our dear Chewy has been gone for almost exactly 5 months now.  I am over the tears, however still think of her every day, wishing she didn’t have to go so soon…  Murphy misses her, I miss her, the kids miss her.  In fact, they had a little visit to her ‘grave’ during the nice spring weather yesterday.

chewy.jpg

I mean, seriously look at that face… awwww such a sweet sweet girl she was…

Our youngest daughter talks a lot about Chewy being ‘dead’ now.. and how she’s in Heaven with God and Jesus, and that she looks forward to seeing her again.  She has asked a few times if she could go to Heaven now.. and for a three year old this sure is a difficult to explain topic.  She understands now, after MUCH communication that you can’t just GO to Heaven.. because you can’t come back when you do.

I’m not sure why, but, Little Girl has this idea that Heaven is this Brick Retirement Home that is near our house.  The building is large and in my opinion, while it is quite pretty, it is fairly creepy looking.  It’s a long three story dark brick building set up on a large hill…

Every single time we have driven by that place, since the day Chewy died, she has said that Chewy is in Heaven, and then over time, she pointed out that THAT Brick building is Heaven, and that Chewy is there…  She has asked to visit this building because she thinks Chewy is there..    We cannot drive by this place without a discussion on Heaven, Death, Chewy etc.  On days when I don’t want to ‘deal’ so to speak I find myself driving a different way so we don’t have to pass ‘Heaven’…  but today when we went by… I noticed some green in the grass, some flowers peeking up from the ground and started thinking Heaven didn’t look so creepy afterall…  I hope Chewy likes it there…

19 Comments leave one →
  1. March 27, 2008 3:36 pm

    You’re making me cry! I saw a boxer pup at the dog park yesterday- Chester was sort of playing with it- but its crezy antics reminded me of a young Buster- and I started thinking about the fact that he’s somewhere- playing like he use to. Ok- must not cry at work, must NOT cry at work…

  2. March 27, 2008 5:34 pm

    May Chewy rest in Heaven! Probably a good thing for your little girl to have some place tangible to remember Chewy, it’s just so cute.

  3. March 27, 2008 5:54 pm

    What a beautiful face. I have tears in my eyes.

  4. March 27, 2008 6:14 pm

    What a precious pup. So sweet about your 3yo too. I’m going to go cry now.

  5. shelly permalink
    March 27, 2008 6:20 pm

    Yeah, cos Chewy is playing with my Eli…they are having a BLAST

  6. March 27, 2008 7:10 pm

    I want to say something, but I just can’t find my words.

  7. March 27, 2008 9:10 pm

    Aw, Michelle… I know what you mean about these conversations. Since our kitty has been gone (all of a week), our son and I have been having many conversations about Heaven. Yesterday we picked up the urn from the vet’s office. Poppy thought we were picking up the cat. It was hard to explain that we were picking up the cat, but only his “fur” (how do explain ashes to a kid afraid of fire???), but his soul was in Heaven with God. He thought for a second and said, “God takes the pain away” … yes, he sure does. Even if it’s a slow process. I hope your pain subsides and you can smile and feel all the joy Chewy brought you.

  8. March 27, 2008 10:54 pm

    Oh gosh. I really shouldn’t have read Amanda’s comment first…now I’m tearing up.

  9. Catherine permalink
    March 28, 2008 7:38 am

    What a face!! I absolutely love it. You were so lucky, as was she, to have had each other.

  10. chanknits permalink
    March 28, 2008 8:33 am

    Sigh. April 5th will be 6th months for Fred. I waved at his garden this morning and asked him to keep Sissy and Mugsy comforted during the day, as has become my habit.

    Hug Murphy for me!!

  11. Lee permalink
    March 28, 2008 12:35 pm

    Michelle, thanks for sending the books. The washcloth is too cute to use…but I will use it and think of you! Yes, you are right spring is definitely here probably not to stay because we will be down in the 30’s tomorrow night. But, I think the weekend will be okay. Missing you big bunches, Lee

  12. fireflynights permalink
    March 28, 2008 3:22 pm

    Riley has been gone for four years and we still miss him so much. It’s hard to get over the loss of a good dog. I’m sorry you had to lose Chewy. The biggest thing we worry about with Riley is what to do about him if we sell this house. He’s buried in the front yard under what will soon become a nice flower garden.

  13. Anita permalink
    March 28, 2008 7:09 pm

    Awww…. that’s a sweet story. Chewy is up in heaven playing with Chan’s Fred, and our Harley chasing Amanda and my dear kittys. Only in fun though! 🙂 We will all be together again some day, I could see how that would be hard to explain to a little one.

  14. Mary permalink
    March 29, 2008 12:20 am

    Yep, its hard, but remember they are always with us in our heart! It does get easier..I still miss my first Lady, the real Lady..
    The little ones have their own way, but they’ll get it when they can understand it.

    Hope you all have a good weekend!

  15. March 29, 2008 9:37 am

    My heart goes out to you and your family. Chewy looks like she was such a loving and sweet girl. I still think of our first fur-baby, KC. Although he’s been gone 10 years this April, he’s still an important part of our memories.

    There is a lovely book, called Dog Heaven, that is wonderful at giving kids (and adults) a comforting way to think of where they are and what they’re up to until we see them again.

  16. March 29, 2008 2:49 pm

    Sigh… as I wipe a tear from my eye. Big hugs to you and your little ones.

  17. Lee permalink
    March 31, 2008 4:34 pm

    Michelle, I too remember Chewy. You forget what a handful he was….I remember watching him drag you up the street in front of the model when you were hugely pregnant…thinking??? Will her arm stay connected???
    Dogs are the BEST! Can’t imagine us without one…maybe smaller next time??

  18. Lee permalink
    March 31, 2008 4:36 pm

    Michelle, changing the subject…I am knitting socks for myself with the fixation yarn or two circulars. I am ready to make the heel and can’t figure out how to combine the circular directions with the doublepoints? Any suggestions? Lee

    Miss you!

  19. April 2, 2008 2:52 am

    What a sweet, sad, funny & touching post! I don’t think it would be too bad to have Heaven be a brick building on the corner. Little kids have such a wonderful slant on life.

Leave a Reply

