Skip to content

Christmas again??

March 27, 2008

The winter is officially past us… and typically I take my Christmas cactus into a ‘rest period’ where it’s not watered and just left on the windowsill for a period of time to ‘rest’ before the spring growth period.. I say usually because this is our first time in a colder climate.. I say our meaning, me and my three cactus plants… 😉

The window sill I use for my plants is basically the only location that gets good sun in the winter since the leaves are not yet on the trees… but I also use this windowsill as a dumping ground (along with my kitchen counter and the kitchen table, and the laundry machine… well… you get the idea).. I’m a piles person.. and the piles had stacked up on the window sill until last week when I finally cleaned them off to get ‘ready’ for Easter Since I’d been ignoring the plants on the sill, I hadn’t really ‘looked’ closely at them… but wouldn’t you know it… the silly things think it’s time to bloom again!

blossom.jpg

One of my plants is a pretty pastely pink… and the other a bright fuscia… and both bloomed at Christmas this year.. I know I posted picks of them at some point.. I’ll go back and look for them…

The fuscia one didn’t bloom as well as usual, but now she’s loaded with blooms… yet another bright spot in what started out as a rather bleak week!

cactus.jpg

And yesterday… wow… the temps were so nice… I spent 3 hours in the afternoon working in the yard.. I raked, and clipped and trimmed and raked and raked and raked… and then I thought about Cass as I loaded the rakings and clippings into our plastic bin and then lugged it deep into our woods and dumped it… oh the fun. The hilarious part is… there’s only one small corner of our backyard that is now ‘leaf’ free… ONE SMALL CORNER…

Thank goodness I like yardwork!

You’ll start to see my knitting productions dropping off quick now.. In Spring and Summer, I still love to knit, but I like to get my fingers dirty in the soil… and dirt and yarn just don’t mix well together 😉

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 27, 2008 8:31 am

    Silly plants! But I love surprises like that! 🙂

    So what’s the name of the red butterfly looking thing next to your silly plant? I really like those! I want to get myself one of those!!!

  2. chanknits permalink
    March 27, 2008 9:05 am

    My green thumb turned brown a few years ago and I can’t seem to get it back. I have one live peace lily courtesy of Anne and Ingrid, and that’s it now for the inside stuff…

  3. March 27, 2008 10:32 am

    Pretty! My brown thumb always manages to kill them… plants only thrive in my office. I’ll have to take a pic of my coffee bean plant for the blog sometime…

  4. March 27, 2008 11:09 am

    I love being able to be outside, I can’t wait till its warm enough to get the lawn funiture out of the garage. I miss being outside during the cold winter- I long for spring days like today- where I can take Chester for a 4 mile walk.

  5. March 27, 2008 11:12 am

    My plants and shrubs shudder when they see me coming. The hubby even makes little “dying” noises whenever I buy plants at the store. LOL

Leave a Reply

