Skip to content

Doom and Gloom

March 26, 2008

You know the knitting community is a wonderful thing… here I was in this foul, ‘woa is me’ mood yesterday, and all these wonderful ladies came here to give tips of how to deal with my predicament… I kinda knew what I needed to do… but it was reassuring to hear everyone second that opinion…

The doom and gloom of yesterday is looking more spring like and cheery today…

Take for example my yard…

yard.jpg

I stood in the window looking at our back yard and wishing I was in North Carolina where it’s probably green, the trees are most likely filled with buds starting to open or maybe already open, and the daffodils are starting to die back.  Granted there would be a dusting of Yellow pine pollen on EVERYTHING, but at least there would be some color…  I did the whole ‘Whoa is me’ garbage again and then turned to a different window and saw this…

flowers.jpg

Thank you God… sometimes You just so know when someone needs THAT sort of pick me up!  Dwarf Dutch iris’s… so pretty… I will go outside this morning and clear away those dried nasty brown leaves so I can see her beauty more fully!

I then threw my sneaks on and went through the yard .. which since it’s a new house to us, may have other blooming beauties I was unaware of…  while I didn’t find any, I did find this…

buds.jpg

I forget the name of this shrub, but it’s along our driveway and has buds… YAY! 🙂  Color is on the way!

In addition last night we got some news we’d been really hoping to hear.. .and while I can’t yet share it here, it definitely brightened my mood that much more!
I’m feeling so much better today  even if my ‘issues’ aren’t solved… at least I have some bright spots right now to distract me from those grey areas!

14 Comments leave one →
  1. chanknits permalink
    March 26, 2008 10:52 am

    Forsythia? Is that your shrub?

  2. March 26, 2008 11:03 am

    I covet your climate that allows flowers when it’s still freezing here 🙂

  3. Bunny B permalink
    March 26, 2008 11:06 am

    Love that blue flower pic! It’s so bold and bright 🙂 Glad to know you got great news!

  4. March 26, 2008 12:12 pm

    I think it’s forsythia, it’s an early bloomer, not that we have any blooming right now, but the snow is melting. Some of the piles in the parking lots may melt by June! I haven’t even seen the tops of the bulbs I planted last fall…

  5. March 26, 2008 1:09 pm

    Good news? Eh…I’ll ask you later. ;-p

    Purty flower.

  6. March 26, 2008 1:53 pm

    love your irises!! Beautiful!

  7. March 26, 2008 2:04 pm

    Does it have anything to do with an N and a C? email me! 🙂

  8. March 26, 2008 3:03 pm

    Ah Michele, before long you’ll love PA, ok maybe. But God sure does know when to show us His miracles, doesn’t He?

  9. shelly permalink
    March 26, 2008 3:33 pm

    God bless ya, Michelle. Hang in there. Spring is a long wait after you’ve moved north…….byw – thanks for sharing the colors…I’m still a few weeks from that, but the hope spread outwards and onwards!

  10. March 26, 2008 6:14 pm

    Hey if it is one then US forsythias are different to UK ones!

    monty python may have been taking the rip but it is true – always look on the bright side of life *whistle, whistle*

  11. March 26, 2008 7:45 pm

    Glad to hear that things are a little better today than yesterday.

  12. Mary permalink
    March 26, 2008 10:10 pm

    Sure is a pretty Iris! LOVe all those and your lucky to have them 🙂 Can’t grow that stuff out here 😦
    Glad your in a better mood… We do love ya!
    Thanks for sharing your flower, my roses are budding and I hope to get a pic of the roses when they pop out, provided I beat Lady to them 🙂 lol

  13. March 27, 2008 9:11 pm

    Yup, I know what you mean. You and my knitting online peeps are the best.

  14. March 29, 2008 9:49 am

    Thanks to your pretty pictures, I can vicariously enjoy the start of spring. It’s nowhere to be found in the Heartland.

    The yellow-flowering shrub is a witch hazel, a member of the alder family. The flowers are much different than forsythia.

    Happy Spring!

Leave a Reply

