Skip to content

May the Wind be Always at your back…

March 17, 2008

And the rains fall soft upon your fields….

Happy Saint Paddy’s!

pals.jpg
I meant to post this picture yesterday of my clover with our palms from Palm Sunday service.  Every year the kids get me busy creating palm crosses.. and this year was no different…

Saint Patrick’s Day holds a special place in my heart… I spent a year in Ireland as a college student… and every year on this day I think fondly of that time…  and always remark how differently it is celebrated here!  Our family has little traditions that most don’t.. my husband worries a bit about these ‘fairytale’ things I introduced… but not to worry.. 😉  the kids will be fine..

Lucky visited us last night… laundry was strewn all through the upstairs hallway…  he peed ‘green’ in the toilet downstairs and didn’t even FLUSH…

Men… sheesh!

There’s a movie theater of green stuffed animals set up in our living room… and … the usual pot of gold ‘chocolate nuggets’ was left in the kitchen.

Some years Lucky has really gone all out, though I think he was a bit tired when he reached our house this year… he didn’t cause nearly the rucous he’s caused in the past… maybe he’s just getting too old for the late night parties…

I got up this morning and baked green ‘goodies’ for breakfast… fruit scones.. with the luck of the irish..  what a yummy reminder of my year in Cork…

scones.jpg
I owe a number of photos from the weekend, which was a difficult one for me… the Big Guy was in DC for a track meet that he was working… and … I was home alone again with the kids… I know this sounds like a cop out but it’s getting tiring never getting time to myself… I’m seriously considering inviting myself to some friends houses for a weekend visit.. I just need a breather!  The last time I was away from the children for more than a few hours was a year ago this past weekend… when I ran the Shamrock Half Marathon in Virginia Beach..  I love my kids to pieces, and I love that I spend so much quality time with them, but… I know when I need a break too…  anyway, enough of that rant.. I had promised to upload some crafting photos from the weekend, but things just got ‘hairy’… and I never got back to blogging…
So here we go… the craft ‘lineup’
easter.jpg
Chalkboard painted wooden eggs for decorating over and over…
 monkeypod.jpg tunes.jpg mickey.jpg
Pipe cleaner crafts… iPod Monkey, tune listening stuffies, and the Mickey ears for a sea horse
weesterbunnie.jpg jjwee.jpg puffles.jpg
Pom Pom crafts… a few ‘weester’ bunnies, and some ‘puffles’
In all seriousness, it was an exhausting ‘parenting’ weekend… and I’m so glad to have the Big Guy home so it’s not just ME saying NO to everything… and being the bad guy all the time… I hate when parenting deals you that ‘bunch’ for some time… it’s just … just… exhausting I guess is the only way to explain it…
I owe some knitting pics too.. Sorry Chan, I never got any more work done on my shawl…  the Big Girl saw a photo and LOVES is… she’s thrilled that I’m making her something special for her special day… but life just was in the way of me getting the time to knit this weekend.. how sad!
6 Comments leave one →
  1. adayinthelife531 permalink
    March 17, 2008 4:07 pm

    Those eggs are so cute. If I can gather up any energy I’m going to copy that idea. I know how you feel about needing the time apart from the kids to come back a happier mom. I had a some time to myself this weekend and it was heaven. Go…invite yourself to spend the night at a friends house.

  2. March 17, 2008 5:14 pm

    Those eggs are such a great idea! I’m right there with you on being the “bad guy” all the time. I get to where I just crave not having to speak. lol

  3. shelly permalink
    March 17, 2008 5:52 pm

    Oh woman, do I feel with you. Hubby used to travel when the girls were little, and by the time we hit a weekend, UGH!!! I was really in trouble when he had to be gone over the weekend as well. Alone time is just a necessary thing for everyone.

    Youch! On the toe.

    LOVE those eggs. That paint didn’t come out until after I had painted the kids their “elementary” room. I bet the possibilities are endless.

    I’ve always wanted to go to Ireland, so I’m green with envy over your school term (yep, very punny)

    Enjoy the day, the big guy and the littles!

  4. March 17, 2008 9:16 pm

    You’re always welcome for a get away weekend here. There are no kids in this house and now there’s plenty of room. Come on over.

  5. chanknits permalink
    March 18, 2008 8:44 am

    Run away!! The house is never presentable, but come anyway…

    Love the traditions. I miss making palm crosses…

  6. March 18, 2008 12:23 pm

    I want to live in your house… imagine all that holiday FUN! You are THE best Mom.

    Come visit your home! Bring Chan! LOL

Leave a Reply

