Skip to content

I think it’s broken…

March 15, 2008

Yep, the spring should be rearing it’s head.. but .. well other than the spring showers..  I’m not feeling Mother Nature’s love yet.

Today I had hoped to take the Littles to the playground…  however, it rained through the night and into the  morning..  and while I could pack towels to dry the swings, slides, monkey bars…  I’m not in the mood for the extra loads of laundry right now…

Let’s not even talk about the fact that I think I broke my pinkie toe last night… dang ottoman…  right there, in the middle of the floor where it always is… you’d think it would get out of my way when I’m trying to pick up so I can sit and knit at long last…  I’ve broken this toe before… it feels just like it did last time… so.. .guess the treadmill will start to collect a small layer of dust over the next few days.. sadness…  I’d really hoped to get in a good run today!  The good news though is that since I was laid up with this silly toe situation last night… I got a bunch of knitting done the old Clappy… starting to look good… I have done 4 repeats of the straight section, with 4 drop stitches so far.. and I love how it’s looking…

In addition, I cast on for the Big Girl’s first communion shawl…  I’m knitting this with DaleGarn Baby-Ull, instead of the lace weight the pattern called for,  so it will be able to actually provide some warmth for her big day in early May… additionally, I stuck with the needle size and will knit the heart lace section to an appropriate length for a girl child instead of adult!   I am amazed at how much more simple following the charts is… I admit, a bit sheepishly, that I had been afraid to try lace… and this shawl had me a tad worried because of all the charts.. but.. I LOVE it so far… The pattern is knit from the short side which is great for adjusting for an appropriate size.  I’m already working the straight section… but.. like all my other lace knitting friends… I realize that knitting Lace requires quiet, and ALONE time…  and… with the big guy out of town this weekend, it will be limited to evening knitting… so we’ll see how far I actually get with that…

Today’s park plans have been traded in for some craft time.  I pulled out the glue, pom poms, googlie eyes,  and pipe cleaners, and the things they’re creating are so fun and cool… I will share them when everything is dry…  so far we’ve got a monkey wearing an iPod with earphones and everything, several dozen bunnies, and puffles… 🙂  All absolutely adorable and quite creative 🙂  I love when the Littles take something and open up their imaginations and just go with it… 🙂

For the Malabrigo lovers out there Mari is having a contest where you can win some… so check it out, and while you’re there, tell her I sent you!

Also, stop in and check on Anne… did y’all see about the tornado in Atlanta!?!?!?!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 15, 2008 11:22 am

    Thank you so much for the comments and well-wishes – I’m fine. Another round is headed my direction, but hopefully things will remain safe where I am. I’m just thanking God more folks were not hurt given where it touched down.

  2. March 15, 2008 1:18 pm

    Ouch! Sorry to hear about the toe.

  3. March 15, 2008 9:17 pm

    That stinks about the toe!

    Glad you were able to get some crafting done today.

  4. chanknits permalink
    March 17, 2008 8:44 am

    Hope the toe is feeling better. Where’s the photo of the shawl!?

Leave a Reply

