Skip to content

When you have a mama’s boy…

March 13, 2008

I have a Mama’s Boy…. and I’m proud of it.. 🙂

teacups.jpg

At 5 1/2 he still needs to ‘snuggle’ with me every night… which only means that he wants to have me lay in bed with him so he can play with my hair until he’s sleepy enough to fall asleep…

um… name me ANY woman who wouldn’t love that at the end of her day…

uhhh and we get our hair done at the salon so we can have it washed and ‘played’ with and PAY for that!

I get more ‘Mommy, I love you’ from him than all of the other people in my house combined…

He would rather spend time with me than any of his toys, games, or friends…

….

Some day, some other girl is going to have some tough competition 😉

The mama’s boy treated his mama like a queen for Christmas this year. The school he attends has a ‘Secret Santa’s workshop’ where the kids can spend just a little money on their family members and still get nice gifts… My son bought me this…

hpim3222.jpg

It was the first present opened on Christmas morning, and he tried for days beforehand to get me to open it… my little lovebird! I kept reminding him that I don’t get very many presents on Christmas (this one in particular since our gifts for each other were a trip to Disney!).. and that I wanted to have something under the tree for me to open…

The necklace inside this beauty of a box is a pretty cross with little sparkling gems in it… I know it isn’t expensive, or high quality, but it was the idea that in his mind, this was the most beautiful thing he could buy for his Mommy.. that gets me… I wear it to church each week… and the smile on his face when he sees me wearing it is better than the gift itself!

For my birthday he gave me this beautiful handmade bracelet that he made at school.

hpim3223.jpg

It’s Blue, one of my favorite colors, with a hand drawn, colored, and cut out red heart ‘gem’ for the center of the bracelet. Being made of paper it’s a tad fragile for the ‘dishes’ lady to wear all the time, but I did wear it the whole day of my birthday, and have worn it other times to show him how much I love it… 🙂

I hope everyone out there has a mama’s boy of their own!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. bunnyb permalink
    March 13, 2008 6:13 am

    Awww…that’s so sweet! 🙂
    Thanks for sharing.

  2. chanknits permalink
    March 13, 2008 8:25 am

    It’s not too late to start brainwashing. Trust me, by 11, you’ll thank me. When you’re snuggled up, whisper “You’ll never be too big or too old to snuggle with Mommy, will you?” I swear that’s what kept the Page saying “Love you bye” in front of the school, even as a tween…

  3. Mary permalink
    March 13, 2008 8:55 am

    Oh those days I remember well…I have one son that thinks of everyone before himself…the best thing is he is 30 now and still thinks of Mom and everyone else. He’s not so much a momma’s boy, their the kids with “heart”!

  4. Lesley permalink
    March 13, 2008 9:51 am

    Aww, that’s beautiful.

    I have several “rose bouquets” on my desk…construction paper shaped and taped to look like flowers.

  5. adayinthelife531 permalink
    March 13, 2008 10:36 am

    I have 2 of those. 5 & 6 years old. Yes, you’re right about the competition someday. I will just pray hard right now that some deserving ladies come our way. I only have one daughter and I could use 2 more. =0)

    Congrats on the Knitty pattern. I could use one of those…if only I had a dog. You did a great job on the pattern.

  6. March 13, 2008 11:01 am

    Aww! I have a sweet boy, too. His heart is definitely as big as the sun. He likes to pick out our Christmas presents each year, too. 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

  7. March 13, 2008 12:58 pm

    That’s so sweet! We went to a similar Christmas present program as a kid, it was like $2/person you were buying for. And they gave us wrapping paper and bows. And you had a volunteer help you shop. I remember one year (I’m a Daddy’s girl), I got my dad a paint scrapper. I was so excited, and on Christmas morning, he opened it, and I told him “Its for scrapping the ice off the car!” And he explained that it was actually for painting… I was a little disappointed- but I remember him making a point of using it at the cabin, when we were scrapping, preparing to paint. And he’ll always remember that you wore the braclet he made all day!

  8. Lee permalink
    March 13, 2008 2:47 pm

    Michelle, spring has come to Beckett Crossing. Missing your smiling face. Question…..do you know where the books are that I lent you before you left. If you do, could you drop them in the mail. I have a friend who would like to read one of them…the quilting one about the club.

    Looks and sounds like you guys are very established and busier than ever. The knitting group has expanded to include a crocheting group we bumped into at the bookstore. They are fun girls and most of them have turned into sock knitters.

    Jen remodeled her kitchen with granite countertops, new backsplash tiles and stainless steel appliances. I am recipiant of her gas range. Yea!

    The weather is fantastic….no snow this year. We are going away for Easter with Jen and Greg and the girls.

    Catch you later…..blessings, Lee

  9. March 13, 2008 5:31 pm

    I have a Mama’s boy, too. I got oatmeal cookies as soon as I walked in the door yesterday – “Mommy, they’re JUST FOR YOU!”

  10. holly permalink
    March 13, 2008 10:25 pm

    Isn’t it amazing how boys love there momma’s. You fall in love with your husband, but your son can make you fall in love all over again.

Leave a Reply

