Skip to content

Knitterly goodness

March 8, 2008

The knitting community is such a wonderful thing. I barely got my comments about using the DPNs onto the blog when I was getting suggestions… (and yes Cindy, they’re long, but I guess I haven’t searched the right shops for shorter ones)…

I guess that since I’ve used DPNs for umpteen other things that I thought learning on two circs would be tedious, or difficult. I’m not the HUGEST fan of circular needles, but mostly because I seem to cast on tightly and have trouble knitting my first row… I was mildly worried about knitting with skinny yarn on tiny circulars and my tension… I was worried for NOTHING.

Huge thanks to Devon and her post about socks (two at a time) for pointing me to these two links from Cat Bordhi about socks on circs. First off.. Cat Bordhi does an excellent job demonstrating the process… and second.. I laughed so hard listening to her instructions.. she’s so NOT what I was expecting.. she had me cracking up! Even my middle guy had to watch and giggle along with me… I guess hearing his mom laugh got his attention…

There were a number of other Cat Bordhi videos there and I watched about the magic cast on, and think that I’ll soon try my first toe up socks… but I don’t want to rush into anything just yet…

My Monkey‘s are coming along nicely. I got through 4 rounds of the lace repeats last night… I ended up going with the tradtional (male) Monkeys because I was just afraid to try knitting ALL the purls.. I wasn’t absolutely certain that knitting all the purls in the lace section was correct.. even though all my research kept pointing to YES.. I wasn’t thrilled with the possibility of ripping it all out if I was wrong.. I don’t have any issues with purling anyway… so I just went with the traditional Monkeys… (Jess.. please just write and tell me… YES you doof… it’s Knit all those Purls šŸ˜‰ )

monkey1.jpg

No flash, not quite the right color

monkey2.jpg

The color is closer to this pic with the flash, but then you can’t see the Monkey details well…

For The Big Guys birthday cake we had a cookies and cream cake from

cake.jpg

Sooooo yummmmmy!

Want one for yourself?Ā  Here’s where we got the recipe…

5156tj6qk7l_bo2204203200_pisitb-dp-500-arrowtopright45-64_ou01_aa240_sh20_.jpg

12 Comments leave one →
  1. chanknits permalink
    March 8, 2008 9:01 am

    Look at you go! I mean… we’ll see photos later, but I knew you could do it! I’m gonna’ have to conquer two socks on two circs. Maybe I’ll try again this evening…

  2. Anita permalink
    March 8, 2008 11:45 am

    I can’t wait to see your photos! The yarn looks so pretty!!!! šŸ™‚

    I love knitting my socks on 2 circs but I don’t know about knitting 2 at a time, I’d probably have a tangles mess going there…

  3. March 8, 2008 1:28 pm

    I have knit them both ways, but I LOVE them without purls, but everyone needs to knit them the traditional way at least once šŸ™‚ We are doing a Monkey KAL in my knitting group as we speak šŸ™‚

  4. holly permalink
    March 8, 2008 7:43 pm

    Your monkey is looking great! Love the colors. I think that is my next sock.

  5. March 8, 2008 7:53 pm

    Your Monkeys look great! Purl or No Purl, it’s a fun pattern! (and yes, you just change all the purls in the lace pattern to knits) :-p

  6. March 8, 2008 8:31 pm

    Mmmmmm ice cream cake mmmmmmmm.

    The monkeys look great.

    Mmmmmm cake…

  7. March 8, 2008 11:25 pm

    Happy birthday to the Big Guy! Your monkeys are looking great. Cake doesn’t look too shabby either….just saying!

  8. Anita permalink
    March 9, 2008 2:37 pm

    WOW, look at your socks!! You are going to be finished in no time, they look great!! šŸ™‚

  9. March 10, 2008 7:10 am

    Socks are looking good. My local knitting group is knitting them as our own little KAL and we are not using any purls…all knit. So much easier and the pattern isn’t as poofy which we are liking. You can still see the pattern quite nicely.

    I went from dpn’s to two circ’s and haven’t looked back. Love and prefer toe up because I don’t end up with left-over yarn. Most patterns can be converted with a little work and some trial and error.

  10. March 10, 2008 9:03 am

    My what difference in color a flash can make! Your Monkey looks great!

  11. March 10, 2008 5:12 pm

    Good for you! Those monkeys look great.

  12. March 12, 2008 7:57 am

    It’s beautiful. I made a pair for my son, but loved them so much that after doing laundry they frequently are found – completely by accident – in my dresser. Go figure.

Leave a Reply

