Skip to content

Contests and friends

March 5, 2008

Hey everyone! I’m going to do my best to portray myself as my typical happy-go-lucky spunky personality here… because underneath it all, I’m in a foul mood! Maybe just maybe if I concentrate on pretending NOT to be… then it will work 😉

I’m absolutely certain that despite my mood today, I have made probably the best friends EVER through this blog, and those people know who they are.. even if I haven’t said it directly… sometimes you just connect with people for the oddest reasons, perhaps because you share some UNEXPECTED things in common, like the fact that the word ‘Wicked’ does NOT mean evil in your vocabulary, or we’ve connected because of where we both grew up, or that in addition to those other things maybe it’s because my cousin was good friends with you, or it’s because you raise your children in a similar manner as I do… maybe it’s because you were there for me at the right time… or perhaps you didn’t even plan on making a friend but through another knitblogger I got to know you better and now love you like a sister… or even better, maybe it’s because I feel like you’re my lost twin…

I seriously didn’t set out writing my blog with all of that in mind… and I could go on and on describing ‘in code’ the folks I’ve become friends with.. but I won’t.. I’m using the above paragraph to cheer myself up…

One of my very first friends in blog land is Anne. She was just there for me when I really needed someone… and even though her insane work schedule (which will be nutty for at least the next week due to her release schedule) has kept us kind of ‘apart’ for a good portion of this year… I still consider her a very very close and dear friend. Anne was the sweetest to me at a time when I just really needed and extra hug, and because of that I sent her a care package… a swap box of sorts if you will, combining the various requirements of the swaps we were involved in together…. putting it together in secret (with the help of Chan, my secret spy friend)… was so good for my soul and was obviously well received and loved by Anne. She’s the sweetest friend you’ll meet… and.. she’s holding a contest right now! She wants you to send her your favorite patterns that are written and recorded by fellow knit bloggers! You know how wonderful it is to find a unique and brilliant pattern for free… (or even for a small price).. so go … give her the links to your favorite patterns you’ve found in blogland! **for some reason I can’t directly link to the contest post… so it’s the one on March 2nd, you’ll have to scroll down to find it…

Another knitblog friend is Devon, whom I had the wonderful opportunity to meet and yarncrawl with this past summer… She has a job that I adore… she’s a pastry chef.. ohhh yum… and her creations are simply amazing… I strive to be as good as she, at least with the things I’ve attempted😉 Devon is celebrating her blogoversary and she wants you to tell her about your favorite dessert! So go… I’ll wait here for you.. really.. I’m not GOING ANYWHERE.. (hmmm wonder why?? more on that later, maybe.. if I feel like blabbing about my mood)…

And then there’s my friend Amanda, of NHKnittingMama (the etsy shop and the blog)…  She’s hosting the PIMP my store contest which I already did, but am re-mentioning it because I’m now listing a bunch of contests… her yarns are loverly, and she will do custom jobs too!  I know.. I have some gorgeous Chewy colored yarn for a scarf I intend to knit 🙂

My good weight watchers buddy Kathy is hosting a month long contest at her blog, and all you have to do is comment to get an entry.  She’s giving out prizes each week, so check in with her daily for more chances to win! 🙂

For those asking for the Marshmallow pattern.. I’ll post it today.  I wrote it out last night as I knit the two remaining marshmallows by request 😉  The arms and legs still need knitting this morning, so I need to get on that as two kiddos weren’t too thrilled with their mama for not being totally COMPLETE sheesh! 😉  I’m warning you, I do not know exactly how to perfectly describe SOME of what I did.. so you might have to wing it a tiny bit on a few areas.. hmmm like exactly where you pick up stitches for the arms and legs…  no biggie, I mean.. it’s a Marshmallow! 😉

Ok, I’m feeling tremendously better, and now I need to go call a friend who invited us to a dinner on Good Friday to see if we can still come.. my other plans got canceled because we apparently don’t rank high enough in their book…

11 Comments leave one →
  1. chanknits permalink
    March 5, 2008 9:02 am

    What a great group of women! Luckily, I count them as friends too.

    Good Friday. Gah! I need to focus. Mark’s smoking salmon for the family, but I need to figure out what I’m making…

  2. adayinthelife531 permalink
    March 5, 2008 10:04 am

    You’re so lucky to have such friends. I mean really…after that who wouldn’t want to be a knit blogger. =0)

    Go with the greenish yarn for the Clapotis. I just joined the KAL last night. See you over there.

  3. March 5, 2008 10:46 am

    Isn’t it great how writing out something can help change your mood? Its why I started my blog – and I feel privileged to have stumbled upon so many other great writers and blogs through that. I love reading about your days and adventures. Hope your mood continues to improve.

  4. March 5, 2008 11:00 am

    I agree…lovely ladies!

  5. March 5, 2008 3:22 pm

    Well, you rank HIGH on my list! 🙂 Much higher than your wickedly talented cousin too, I might add… ha ha!
    Great post. 🙂

  6. March 5, 2008 5:07 pm

    Michelle, you’re wicked cool (yes, I grew up in one of the places where we STILL use that on a daily basis!)…

    I am honored to be among that list – I really am. I actually teared up when I read it, because you know in school when you’re at the “B” table and you want to be at the “A” table? I feel like I’m at the “A” table.

  7. March 5, 2008 5:45 pm

    Aw, thank you – now I’m cryin! You’re an amazing lady, I’m just lucky to have you in my life. Sadly, I have spare time this week – bad things happening and the release is pushed – at least a week, maybe more. Means i have time THIS week, but may not for a while once they’re done ‘fixing’ things LOL

  8. Anita permalink
    March 5, 2008 7:16 pm

    Sweet post,are you feeling better mood wise?

    I know how you feel about blog related friends, I have made some wonderful ones of my own since I started my blog… surprisingly Anne was my first “blog friend” too! 🙂

  9. hollyshooksandsometimesneedles permalink
    March 5, 2008 7:33 pm

    I know you are just ill cause your missing me, and I have to work. Fairytale world is over, I have to go back to the real world, but I still love you everyday sis!

  10. March 6, 2008 8:04 am

    Michelle, I can ditto those sentiments. Of course you know me trying to turn a yucky mood into a better one is my mission… when you are in a foul mood, do you wear a knitted chicken suit??? Hahahahahahaha

    Now off to check out those other contests, and add them to my side bar. You know I love a good contest.

    And I love you too

  11. March 6, 2008 9:22 am

    Its awesome that you have met such wonderful, strong suportive women. I can say the same thing is true for me, I feel very blessed to have my “blog” friends (you are one of them)!

Leave a Reply

