Skip to content

Marsha Marsha Marsha…mallow

March 4, 2008

We have the sickies in our house again… the Middle Guy has it… so far no one else is showing TRUE signs of this bug he’s brought home… it’s a high fever with a cough… oh the fun. He being that he’s a HE… is kinda whiny when he’s sick.. every cough he’s convinced he’ll throw up,… but.. with the high fever.. he’s a big lug on the couch.. and that’s ok… He asked me in his brief respite from fever (thank you tylenol)… to knit him a Marshmallow. The kids loved the ones I sent my Cocoa Swap pal… so… off I went to knit a new Marshmallow… He understood it would not be done before he went to bed… but I was determined to have him wake up to a new Marshmallow man this morning…

marsh.jpg

and I even went to bed early!

Of course, I need to knit 2 more today… and that’s ok.. the little girl wants a PURPLE one.. that might be tricky.. I’m not sure I have purple yarn …

I did also sew the bunny ears onto the hat and wove in the ends.. so… that will be ready to mail today… if we make it to the post office (probably not…. with the sickie)…

bunnyhat1.jpg

For those who saw the bunny hat the other day and asked… no, it’s not my pattern.. I got it here… (I realized my new ‘template’ in WordPress doesn’t show the links too well…)

I’m totally flattered at the idea though of me making a baby hat book.. 🙂 Maybe someday when I have knitting as my true job… hehehe

On the ‘Running’ side of things… I did somehow manage to find the time to squeak in a run yesterday. I had been so excited that the weather was nice (mid 50’s people!!! and SUNNY!)… I had just gotten my bike back from the shop getting it’s tuneup and had planned a late morning ride with the little girl… and… had also planned an afternoon run… however… we had the middle guy home from school.. I only even went outside once.. I took a LONG walk to the mailbox… I miss the sun, I miss the warm breezes.. SPRING HURRY UP AND GET HERE! … ok… yeah… so I did get a run in… here’s the proof…

run.jpg

I get kinda bored on the treadmill.. I think I said that before… I have a variety of ‘workouts’ I do to try to keep my ‘interest’ peaked while running.. most of the time though, they end up being speed workouts.. because.. well.. I just want to be done… I figure if I’m going faster.. I’ll get done sooner… (which would work if my workouts were designed to reach a certain MILEAGE.. however lately it’s on time… so instead I’m running for 30 mins hard.. instead of trying to just run 3 miles…DOH)…

That run yesterday I designed like my old spin classes… (as an aside.. I SOOO miss teaching spin.. I can’t believe that there isn’t a gym in our town with indoor cycle classes??!?!?!) In fact, I even put on one of my favorite spin playlists on my iPod and ran to that. I hit the hills when it was a ‘hills’ song, and sprinted when it was a ‘sprints’ song, and took it easy for a few songs just because it’s been a while since I’ve worked that hard… it felt good!

Speaking of teaching.. I used to teach a class called ‘Brick’… it was a treadmill and spin class… 15 mins on each alternating for the 1 hour class… they called it ‘Brick’ because your legs felt like bricks at the end… I loved that class too!

Oh North Carolina.. I miss you!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. March 4, 2008 10:24 am

    Oh, I hadn’t seen your marshmallow man before – he’s too cute! Wilkes-Barre has spinning. Do you have a Penn State campus nearby? Check there – call the gym. Either way, tough with the Little Girl though.

  2. chanknits permalink
    March 4, 2008 12:04 pm

    A purple marshmallow… Does she know they actually make a “variegated” bag of mini-marshmallows? I use them for a “stained glass” cookie I do at Christmas and Easter…

    Congrats on your run. I’m looking forward to just being released to do yoga and a “fitness” walk again!

  3. March 4, 2008 2:11 pm

    So I take it the picture of you on the treadmill wasn’t acceptable 🙂 I’ve never taken a spinning class…but always wanted to. It looks like an amazing workout–instead I bike long hills!

    Cute marshmallow!

  4. March 4, 2008 2:15 pm

    The marshmallow is so cute!

    Hmm…any way I could get a copy of that Spinning music you were listening to on your iPod?

  5. March 4, 2008 2:56 pm

    what a cute marshmellow!

  6. Mary permalink
    March 4, 2008 6:55 pm

    Oh is that adorable!! I love the bunny hat! Your just full of crafty ideas!

  7. March 4, 2008 7:32 pm

    Um, I want a yellow Mr. Marshmallow. Pattern please? 🙂

  8. March 4, 2008 11:59 pm

    I want a marshmallow 🙂 Do you ever sell them 🙂 If I put enough smiley faces would you consider it 🙂 🙂 🙂

  9. March 5, 2008 10:29 pm

    Gotta love those point free marshmallows, LOL
    Thanks for the link to the bunny hat, I was wondering about the pattern

  10. March 6, 2008 1:01 am

    I’m falling over just THINKING of the brick class. You rock. End of story.

    Hey, knitting could BECOME your job if you publish that book!

    SO, did the marshmellow make the middle guy feel any better? I sure hope so.

Leave a Reply

