Skip to content

Weekend blogging

March 2, 2008

Is not something I typically do. mostly because the Big guy is here, and he hogs my laptop… but that’s beside the point… we typically are busy with family stuff, house stuff, yard stuff.. that sort of thing…

This weekend was no different than any other, except that we dove right into our Camp stuff.. paperwork, mailings blah blah blah.. boring stuff for most people, but something about the monotony of putting the brochures with the letters, adhering mailing labels and stamps is  relaxing to me… of course after several hours of that it gets old.. but then it’s done…  Tomorrow we’ll have 100 individual mailings going out.. and then as this month progresses camp will start filling up…

As the weather starts to change I start getting excited for camp to get here… I want to put in more miles, get in better shape, and be ready for that insane week of non-stop running (not exactly literally.. I mean the campers run 2x daily.. but me and the Big Guy.. seem to NEVER stop running the whole time we’re there… sort of goes with the territory of being Director I guess!)

My running has not been a topic for my blogging lately, actually for months and months now… because I’ve been injured… and just when I was finally getting my running legs back, well, we went to Disney, and then I got the flu… seems like one thing after another.  This past week I got 3 runs in… at a decent pace given my re-start… I was sore.. as I had expected… but it was the good kind.. where you know you are sore because you worked hard….

Right now my running is limited to the basement… on the dreadmill…  Some people really really hate running on a treadmill…  it isn’t quite the same as on the roads with regard to effort expended… so you need to tweak your workout to simulate a road run… (bringing your incline to at least 1% will come close to simulating road conditions)… around here though, 1% won’t touch our road conditions.. I live on top of a mountain, …but for last week, and the next few I’ll keep it at 1%… dont’ want to shock the legs too badly!  For me the most difficult thing about treadmill workouts is the boredom… there’s no change in scenery, there’s hardly a change in terrain unless you use a prescribed hill program or play with the incline or speed…  so I find myself cranking up the pace to just get through with it.. .

This week while running I spent a lot of time thinking about my knitting and what I want to knit next.. I mean it is supposed to be the year of knitting for me…  but I’m torn… I have things I want to knit my kids… so I’m trying to find a comfortable in between.. knit something for the kids, then something for me…  and this weekend I finished the Big girls socks.. so, I think it’s my turn to knit for me…

I’m torn … I want desperately to knit a pair of socks for ME… I have the yarn ready, thanks to the lovely Anita and my dishcloth swap yarn from Jessi… but so far I’ve only knit up two very simple pairs of socks…. they have a short rib section at the top, and then it’s stockinette through the remainder of the sock.  I feel comfortable with the heel, and gusset sections now, and want to move onto something a little more advanced… but does it seem silly to jump into a Jaywalker, or Pomatomus, or Monkey??  Will I want to rip my hair out?? What was your first ‘REAL’ pair of pattern knit socks …?

I’m actually leaning toward Pomatomus.. I just love the look to it…  but is it unrealistic to think that I can handle that pattern after only doing two kids pairs of stockinette stitch socks???

Speaking of socks.. my dear friend Amanda is having a PMS contest.. and not PMS in that sense.. a ‘pimp my store’.. or rather, I think her words were promote my shop, but I like Pimp My Store 😉  Amanda has amazing hand dyed yarns in her etsy shop… you should really check it out.  She will even do custom jobs.  She made me some gorgeous ‘Chewy‘ yarn in the color of our dearly missed Chewy dog.  She has some very lovely colorways that she’s just recently uploaded and you really should check it out!

Sadly, until our taxes are done and paid for because this year we DO have to pay… I cannot buy any more yarn.. so there’s a few colorways over there that I’m really hoping will stick around for a little bit 😉

16 Comments leave one →
  1. March 2, 2008 7:09 pm

    Thanks for the link! I’ve put your name in the hat, my friend. I’m not going to publish your comment because it has the correct answer to the extra credit, too. But know that you’ve got 2 entries.

    I have a mini-gym downstairs that I use when the weather in lousy. I know what you mean about “dreadmill”

  2. hollyshooksandsometimesneedles permalink
    March 2, 2008 9:02 pm

    Well, I am taking your advice and I am starting this week, building up again for running. I am working on a basic knit 3 purl 1 sock.

  3. March 2, 2008 9:25 pm

    I’m knitting my 4th sock. And it’s a Jaywalker. Notice I didn’t say 4th pair. I knit a pair of practice socks in Moda Dea Sassy Stripes. Practice, because they are on #5’s. Then I knit 1 tiger sock and my kids refused to wear that itchy thing. So, I started socks for me. I’m on the toe decreases of Jaywalker #1. It’s really doable. I think what some people didn’t like as much about the Monkey’s was purling. I don’t know about the other one…I didn’t look into it.

    Now…just so you don’t make my mistake… http://dayinthelifeof531.blogspot.com/2008/01/socks-2-3.html

    and for where I found my mistakes… http://dayinthelifeof531.blogspot.com/2008/01/fresh-start.html

    I felt really stupid…but maybe it will help someone else. Go for the Jaywalkers.

  4. March 2, 2008 9:30 pm

    My first patterned socks were Monkey (using Sweet Georgia yarn in “Blue Steele” and they are STILL GORGEOUS!)

    Here what you need to when choosing a yarn and pattern: Is the pattern going to compliment the yarn and vice versa? Go look on Ravelry and see how many people have chosen variegated and/or handpainted yarns in those patterns you mention (especially monkey socks!) and to me, it looks awful. You lose your stitches in the colours, and/or the stitches make the colours look like shite. Why on earth would you put in the time for a pattern only to lose it?
    Now, jaywalker is a pattern that does both: keeps the knitter on her toes (ha!) while displaying that yarn to it’s best advantage. There are lacy patterns out there that do show off colours, and with the right colour changes, even monkey or pomatomus can work.

    Just some food for thought 🙂

  5. March 2, 2008 11:11 pm

    I vote the Monkey socks with no purls

  6. March 2, 2008 11:30 pm

    I’m probably not the best to give advice on wether you should do a specific pattern or not since I tend to jump in over my head quite often with my knitting. 🙂 But hey, how else are we going to learn how to do it? I say go for it! If it drives you crazy or you can’t figure it out it can always be ripped out and turned into another pattern! 🙂

  7. March 2, 2008 11:47 pm

    I second the Monkey with no purls. 🙂

    Ugh…the “dreadmill”. Me hates it.

  8. March 3, 2008 4:42 am

    Running really isn’t for me. Sometimes I get the urge of running, but rapidly it goes away LOL I’m more of a swimming girl 😉 I don’t think you will have much problems with the socks. And the felling of learning something new is great! Most of all, enjoy your knitting 🙂 kiss*

  9. March 3, 2008 8:49 am

    Honey, go for the socks you’re in love with. I can tell you that Monkey’s are not as hard as they look… and they go fast!

  10. March 3, 2008 9:35 am

    I make myself run for at least 4 minutes at a certain speed before I can up the pace…otherwise I would be running appropriate speeds for a 5K training 🙂 I can’t wait for spring and daylight savings time, more time to run outside!

  11. March 3, 2008 9:54 am

    I’m planning to make Pomatomus myself, and soon. If you can knit socks, you can do the fancier ones; they just take a little more attention. I’m a little worried about the chart….

    I started a pair of Monkeys but they’re too loose using the needles recommended. Yeah, forget swatching, that’s my motto.

  12. chanknits permalink
    March 3, 2008 10:08 am

    I’ve done monkeys and Jays, so do what moves you. You can do it, especially if it’s a pattern you love!

    We’re going to have to pay this year too, I’m sure. We’ve paid for the last couple of years. Sigh. I’ll do our taxes this weekend, I think…

  13. March 3, 2008 10:43 am

    For what it is worth, I second all the others…I’ve only done one pair of socks and for my second, I jumped on board with River Rapids. I figure the hardest part is the heel…the pattern is just like any other lace pattern except on dpns instead. I got a piece of advice that I’ll lend to you…’it’s just a sock. it’s small so ripping out and starting over really isn’t a big deal’

    btw–I like hearing you share about running. I actually really started to enjoy it about 4 years ago and am starting back up after a long break (some indoors, some outdoors)…provides me motivation to read other folks exercise tales!

  14. March 3, 2008 11:38 pm

    I’m just gonna join the choir here. Go for it! You already know the basic parts of a sock. And you obviously know how to follow a patern. So where’s the hard part???

  15. March 4, 2008 8:08 am

    My first patterned sock was the Anastatia sock- its a simple yo, k2to spiralling…. although, its toe-up- so that might not be what you’re looking for. I don’t do gussets (they scare me)- so I only knit socks toe up.

  16. March 7, 2008 1:30 pm

    Love your green eggs. Are they jello? Or did you poach eggs and dye them? Too cute. I’m a fan of green eggs – but my sister has a chicken that actually lays eggs with a green shell. I take all of them. I think they may taste better.

Leave a Reply

