Skip to content

An explanation is in order…

February 26, 2008

Ok,… The pics yesterday of my weekend FOs… well.. it’s deceiving because if you look, for example at the booties… they are photographed with a blanket and hat… both of which were complete weeks ago, and, the booties, were complete before the weekend, except for the buttons… so the only work there was sewing on buttons and weaving in ends..

The bag posted… it’s the Kureyon-Chan bag, and is small, when complete it measures around 5-6″ tall , it takes only about 1/2 a full skein of Lion wool (which is what I used, not the Noro it called for)… and it is only 64 stitches around (and only that many for say 10 rows I think?)… so… a fairly quick no-brainer knit (there’s only 34 rows)… that was my Saturday evening knitting while watching TV, talking with the in-laws, project.

The bag listed before that one was a picture from a Christmas knit that was gifted in December..

The Ruffles and Ridges Shawl was started in early January, and was knit before I went to bed at a rate of about 2 rows per day… if that on some days… it sat for a few weeks without even being touched… I didn’t even realize I was that close to finishing until mid-week last week and finally got around to it on Friday and blocking… well… we’ll see if that ever happens.. it’s supposed to be ruffly… ๐Ÿ˜‰

The secret project I started last week… and it’s not very big… pictures can be deceiving… it stands (now completed after last night’s Law and Order viewing.. Monday’s have NOTHING on tv…) 7″ tall and 3″ wide (approx)… this little guy and the bag are the only true knits from the weekend…

broccoli.jpg

the others were complete or needed ZERO knitting to complete prior to the weekend… I tend to use my weekends to do the ‘completing’ of knits I’ve worked on through the week….

That being said, I’m flattered at some of the comments I received… I do admit, I’m a fast knitter… and pretty much only knit while watching tv/news etc. at night when the kids are in bed… I have been known to stay up just a tad too late because I’m caught up in my knitting, but I could never compare to (though secretly strive to) people like my swap pal from the Dog Days Dishcloth swap who I think must be an insomniac because she knits multiple sweaters on nearly a weekly basis! Her knits are gorgeous… and truly amaze me…

I owe some chatter about my homeschooling research.. .and I will get to that… for now, it’s still a possibility, but the Big Guy is a harder sell than I’d expected. I’m peeved at my local library, and therefore have NO books to show for my research hours last week. Instead I’m busily hunting down homeschool groups in my area (hmmm having some troubles there)… and doing online research. I have a tentative ‘trial phase’ planned for this summer, which will go over so well with the littles, I’m sure… haha, and am trying to find the best plan to execute this summer… I have received umpteen links from friends and am slowly working my way through them… thank you all for sharing! ๐Ÿ™‚

So.. yeah, still having the happy dance syndrome here… I just can’t believe Knitty liked my pattern I guess.. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Y’all should know that my Big Girl is the one who took the photos.. the Big Guy couldn’t manage to get one decent shot out of the 25 he took without cutting my head off, or putting the camera on the wrong settings or who knows what.. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Thank goodness the Littles enjoy photography and play with our old digital regularly… because I thought the Big Girls pics came out pretty well, and apparently Knitty did too! For those who are curious.. the pattern is for an ‘accessory’ and it is Doggie friendly!

Please do go read Cass today, if you haven’t already.. she once again cracked me up!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. chanknits permalink
    February 26, 2008 10:51 am

    See?! I figured the Big Guy would be a hard sell… dunno why, but I just had a hunch. I hope it works out, because I’m quite certain you know what’s best for your kiddos!

    Now, I’m off to read Cass, and everyone else in my Reader!

  2. Mary permalink
    February 26, 2008 12:16 pm

    Love the littel guy, does he have a name? lol
    Like the bag too and glad knitty liked your pattern! You deserve to dot he happy dance!!!

  3. February 26, 2008 2:56 pm

    I have been lusting after that Ruffles and Ridges Shawl pattern. You are pushing me over the edge…

  4. February 26, 2008 3:53 pm

    Can I have your autograph, you knitting celeb you! You deserve to do the happy dance.

  5. February 27, 2008 8:37 am

    Michelle, I was right, I meant to email you too, but I figured the project was broccoli or celery. I couldn’t decide on which one so I was going to say a vegetable.

    Google LEAH for home school groups in your area.

  6. February 27, 2008 4:52 pm

    I can’t wait to see your project on Knitty! I’m so excited for you!

  7. Cathy permalink
    February 28, 2008 11:53 am

    Have you considered K12 for your homeschooling (k12.com)? My son’s in it, and I think it’s a wonderful program. There’s a set curriculum, an assigned teacher (advisor) in your area, and all of the books and supplies (including a computer & printer) are sent to you via UPS (no charge). It’s a state funded public school available in many states. I like it because it gives me guidance, and I know I’m on the right track. I hope this helps with your decision.

  8. February 29, 2008 9:31 pm

    Is the “little guy” celery? He’s adorable! Made me smile after a long day of working and running my kids around. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

