Skip to content

Weekend Report

February 25, 2008

Not that many FO’s to show for this weekend. My in-laws were here for one of the days, and I spent a bunch of time catching up on the winter weather laundry… you know, several wet outfits per day, hats, mittens, scarves, coats, snowpants… all up the wazoo.. oh the fun!

Important news… Murphy seems himself again. Lively, ornery (he ran away from me while enjoying some shoveling of the driveway that bad boy!)… other than a slight head tilt, I’d say that our episode is past us. Special thanks to all of you again for your loving words and support…

Today I need to do a ‘Thank You’ Post. I’ve been the lucky recipient of some recent packages that need mentioning.

Last week, around Valentine’s ish… I received two very sweet packages from Chan and Holly, I did thank them by email, but kept forgetting to photograph the lovelies they sent me…

Chan sent me a gorgeous heart dish, and some of my favorite nummies… Werther’s originals… which are nearly gone to be honest… and Holly sent me some beautiful Valentine’s appropriate kitchen cotton (already OTN for a DW dishcloth), and some of the chewy Werther’s ummmm they were gone within an hour of opening the box, so they didn’t make the picture…

gifts.jpg

Additionally, this past Saturday I received two lovely treats in the mail. The first, some super lovely squishy goodness from my Defeat the Doldrums Dishcloth swap pal, by way of Jessi’s etsy. The colors are soooo screaming me… blue and green, and since I’m now heading into Sock love territory, will be the first pair of socks I knit myself… I love this colorway, and it’s name is also lovely, ‘Michelle’s Melody’… thank you pal and Jessi for your gorgeous work!

melody.jpg

The mailman was a busy guy too.. he also brought me something from an unidentified person, who I believe is my Scavenger hunt swap pal… Whomever it was knew I’d been coveting these Knitterella note cards (which leads me to believe it’s the SHS pal because she asked me for a wish list… and I shared this item on that list) If y’all aren’t visiting Etsy on a regular basis, you really should, the artwork is amazing… you’ll surely find something you absolutely NEED to have …

cards.jpg

I did finish some things…I finally found the buttons for the Saartje’s booties I made for my friend Elizabeth who’ll be bringing her first into this world around Easter… it’s now all ready to ship!

booties1.jpg

and here’s the whole package…

elizabeth.jpg

I have the iCord to knit for another Kureyon-Chan bag, for my SIL who I knit this for

purse.jpg

for Christmas… she had actually wanted a smaller ‘grab and go’ sort of bag but the pattern she’d picked ended up much larger than either of us had realized…. so I’m sending her this.. (though I want to keep it for myself).  I knit it from the scrap yarn left from her Christmas bag… (as an aside, I do have to say how proud I am of myself for how much I’ve been knitting from stash this year!)

anotherchan.jpg

The ‘biggest’ thing I got finished this weekend was my ‘Ruffles and Ridges’ shawl. I do really enjoy it. I wore it to church on Sunday, and it kept me warm and cozy. I find that I’m wearing it in bed or on the couch later at night while I’m knitting and chilled… it keeps the shoulders good and toasty! I do need to block it still, but just couldn’t wait to use it..

ruffles1.jpg

I also worked on… this secret project… which I hope that posting a picture of the progress won’t give it away… actually I’d be surprised if anyone of you could guess what it is…

broc.jpg

That package is nearly ready to go… just need to finish up this baby… and then off to the KSHS pal… 🙂

In my cleaning effort this weekend, I found this…

basket.jpg

Which is full of this…

catalog.jpg

a load of un-cataloged (as in Ravelry) knit items from the last two years… mostly scarves and hats and mittens…. not sure I’ll get them in Ravelry or not… but I may… depends on how bored with cleaning I get today!

And finally.. I’ll leave you with a snack… a treat we make periodically here at the InsanKnitty household.. it’s healthy I promise, but so yummy too. For those Weight watchers gals… it’s 1 point per muffin.

muffins1.jpg

Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins (healthful version)

3 Ripe/Black Bananas
1/2 Cup Oil (canola, safflower or Veg)
1/2 C Applesauce
3/4 C honey
2 tsp Baking Soda
2 1/2 C Whole Wheat Flour **
1/2 tsp Salt
1/4-1/2 C mini chocolate chips

** or use 1 1/2 C whole wheat flour, plus 1/2 C wheat germ, and 1 C whole oats which is how I ALWAYS prepare mine

Blend wet ingredients, add dry ingredients slowly and blend well. Add Chocolate Chips. Spoon into baking cups, or greased loaf pans and bake at 350 degrees for 18 mins (mini muffins), 20-25 mins (standard muffins), or 45-55 mins for loafs.

YUM! I always make mine in mini muffin form (1 point per muffin) and freeze them in batches of about 6-9 because my kiddos eat 2-3 for breakfast some mornings. They are filling, rich in fiber and good for you too. They feel like a treat with those nummy chocolate chips!

Speaking of ‘nummy’… another family word came up this weekend.

The big girl is a brownie and we finished delivering Girl Scout Cookies to the neighbors and the middle guy said he wanted to be a brownie so he could sell cookies. We told him all about boy scouts and how when he’s a scout, he can sell mogo cocorn (caramel popcorn)…

Mogo Cocorn was invented by the big girl, as she couldn’t say caramel popcorn… It has stuck and we now call caramel corn mogo cocorn…

weirdos I know! 😉

and because I’m still so pumped.. go see my previous post about Knitty!

13 Comments leave one →
  1. February 25, 2008 9:11 am

    I love that baby set!! Congrats on your Knitty Badge!

  2. Secret pal permalink
    February 25, 2008 9:12 am

    He He!!! Nope, those notecards came from me too! 🙂 Your main package will be in the mail (priority) today!! Hopefully you will have it mid-week. Have a great day!

    Secret Pal – Doldrums Dishcloth Swap

  3. February 25, 2008 12:30 pm

    That’s what you call not getting much knitting done? Holey Moley! ((SMILE))

  4. holly permalink
    February 25, 2008 1:28 pm

    I must not organize my time right. I love the wrap. Congrats on the Knitty award for the pattern acceptance.

  5. February 25, 2008 4:25 pm

    Look at all that great stuff! The yarn colorway is gorgeous – cant’ wait to see what you do with it! 🙂

  6. February 25, 2008 5:16 pm

    Wow! If that’s “Not Much Knitting” I’m ashamed!!

    Love the colourway. Those muffins look good… and YOUR SECRET KNITTING PROJECT IS A CELERY! I KNOW IT!

  7. sharon permalink
    February 25, 2008 7:44 pm

    uhm, when did you have time to entertain family? I mean I’m 2/3 the way through a scarf and have 2 more inches on the afghan done.
    Wow – congrats on Knitty.

  8. Anita permalink
    February 25, 2008 11:25 pm

    I forgot to tell you Congrats on your pattern being accepted by Knitty!!! 🙂 You beat me on that one, they turned one of mine down one time, does that count? ha ha!

    You got lots of good stuff there! Can’t wait to see some socks out of that yummy yarn!!

    Speaking of yummy, those muffins look really good, making me hungry…. I think I have some girl scout cookies somewhere around here, hmmmm, got to go find them!

  9. fireflynights permalink
    February 25, 2008 11:50 pm

    Thanks for the muffin recipe. Love having a more healthy version.

  10. February 26, 2008 10:18 am

    I have to make those muffins this weekend. We buy bananas- and forget to eat them- so there are always 3-5 in the freezer waiting for me to remember they are there.

  11. February 26, 2008 1:26 pm

    Holy Cow Woman!!!!!! I had to rescan the picutes for an extra smile.

  12. February 26, 2008 2:35 pm

    So Michelle what sock pattern are you planning for that beautiful sock yarn??? I have discovered that I have a taste for the sock yarns, but my budget is still stuck in acrylic… Boo Hoo

  13. March 2, 2008 12:30 pm

    oh my, those cards are TOOO cute! i’m still trying to get in touch with your spoiler, though I do have an angel lined up if need be. as an aside, you are a total enabler and i just went and bought those note cards!

Leave a Reply

