Skip to content

Dogs on Thursday, aka, how’s Murphster? and some other stuff as well!

February 21, 2008

Here’s my boy today…

murph1.jpg

Notice the head tilt… that’s normal now… his head does tilt to the right, and from what Cindy tells me, it might NOT correct itself even after a long time, as her Mary has still got a slight tilt from her episode over a year ago. The good news is that Murphy seems livelier with each day. His walking today almost looks normal.. he still is NOT liking walking on the hardwoods, so I have towels where the various runner carpets stop and expose hardwood… so that he can get around a bit more stress free… if his monster paws touch the hardwood he stops dead in his tracks and if he has to walk more than one stop on them he slips… I wouldn’t say our floor are overly slippery, but he definitely seems to slip on them…

He actually has kept his food down thus far today (yesterday he threw it back up.. oh that was fun)… I was really upset about it last night as the big guy seems to be able to discuss Murphy’s ‘end’ better than I can.. of course, I got Murphy before I got the big guy.. his leaving me won’t be something I handle well, and will consider counseling even if it’s just with my Priest.. to get through it…

There are a few things I need to write about because I keep forgetting.. first.. a number of people asked me for the Kitty pattern

blue.jpg

warning.. the vocabulary in the pattern is hmm… not really G rated…

What else am I knitting? Well, I got the little girls socks done.. totally cute, too big, but so I’m thrilled to have knit my first pair of socks… I’m hoping that after their first washing they will fit a bit better, but at worst.. she’ll have some room to grow into them! So since I finished one pair, and I have 3 Littles, I’m already half way through pair #2

abbysock.jpg

The Big girls sock fits much better than her sister’s did… the weight of the yarn is a tad lighter, so that certainly helps… also, it could be because she tried this one on over her school jumper’s tights… she was thrilled with it, but I haven’t had a chance yet to CO the second sock… I will though tonight during Survivor.

I am participating in 2 additional swaps right now, and have sadly had to put off work on some of their ‘stuff’ until now since I’ve been so busy with Cocoa Swap details.. I have my dishcloth swap package ready to go (have had it ready for a few days now) but it still sits here.. oh the fun… I really really hope that the weather will allow me to mail it tomorrow… My Scavenger Hunt Swap package has one last detail to finish up, and it’s a knit item. I’m waiting on a few things that were ordered.. but I expect I’ll have them early next week sometime and can then ship out. The knit item is part of my ‘senders choice’ category and I’m excited about this item.. of course, it’s something I’ve dreamed up in my head… so it doesn’t have a pattern… I’ll be winging it as seems to be my usual MO lately.. I do hope it turns out as cute as it looks in my head! I managed to get all of the remaining ‘categories’ items while out shopping today… šŸ™‚

Speaking of shopping today.. I went to Weggies… I love Wegman’s… anyway… enough of my drooling over the awesomeness that is Wegman’s grocery.. I had the joy of grocery shopping with the littler girl today. Normally grocery shopping is ok.. however sometimes I just dread it, especially if I have to bring any of my other children. Normally I’d prefer to go it alone.. but then I always feel rushed because surely the Big Guy will ask me why it took so long.. what I want to say is… It’s WEGMAN’S… I love just looking at everything.. I’m afraid I’ll miss some really cool thing while I’m there… but I rarely get the ‘browse’ time I want… Today however… the Little Girl, she fell asleep in the Race Car Cart.. it was kinda funny too, I wish I had my camera, she sat on the floor of the race car and rester her head on the seat and fell right to sleep.. this was just after eating a tomato (oh how I love my little health nut)… normally I wouldn’t let her eat it, but she begged and since Weggies has those weighing scales that print out the price tag for your item, I didn’t need to worry that I was stealing a piece of produce… ** even though many grocery stores would gladly give your child a cookie in the Bakery dept. I’d prefer my kids get a banana, or in the Little Girls case, Roma Tomato or some healthy item than a cookie any day… so, what would NORMALLY be a 1 hour shopping trip (or less if I can keep the child in the cart).. turned into a 2 hour browsing extravaganza… call me a geek but, it was fun!

Little girl asked again in the produce if they had Dragon Fruit, she actually calls it Dragon Berries most often as that’s what Ord and Cassie of the Dragon Tales call some fruit on their show… but it’s really called Dragon Fruit. Anyway, no.. they didn’t have it.. they haven’t had it since the first time we tried it… (texture kinda like a Kiwi, tasted like a sweet cucumber)… since they didn’t have it, she picked a ‘Prickly Pear Fruit‘ to bring home and try. This needs a bit of explanation I guess… I am in the habit of trying to get my Littles to try new and interesting, or even Exotic food items, usually a new fruit or veggie, but sometimes a new ethnic food or some such thing… broaden their horizon’s I guess.. I’ve been doing it since the oldest was little.. it’s not an every grocery store trip sort of thing but at least once a month…

here’s our prickly pear…

prickly.jpg

I’ll peel and prepare a slice for each child after dinner tonight..

Almost every time I go to Wegman’s I pick up this for my lunch…

sushi.jpg

I’m NOT a sushi connoisseur by any means.. in fact. I hardly know anything about it. I’ve not broadened my own horizon’s in the land of sushi, but I can tell you that I love California rolls, and I especially love them with that little bit of pickled ginger you get… oh yum… if they weren’t already prepackaged with the wasabi stuff I’d ask for double the ginger… mmmm I honestly have only one other time tried Sushi that actually had raw fish.. I don’t remember what it was like, I don’t think I disliked it.. I just liked the california rolls so much that I haven’t tried anything else…

My buds Chan and Nichole are starting a new group on Ravelry, I love the button and have joined the group.. but I find I’m not much of a chatterbox on ravelry to be honest.. I upload my projects and organize my stuff there.. search for patterns and yarn types and what folks are knitting with which yarns etc. but I dont’ do a lot of message board stuff… Still.. I lurv the button.. so I’ll be adding it over there on the right somewhere, sometime soon!

2282419014_e2a7504e9e_o.jpg

the button links to the Ravelry group if you are a member… come join all us multi-tasking knitgeeks… šŸ™‚

Ok.. anything else I wanted to say??? hmmm oh.. yes.. Contest winners.. I haven’t forgotten you… I will be raiding the scary stash soon… I need to finish up my cocoa swap details/duties/etc. and then I can think about it… no fears though.. I’m in a stash busting mode.. I need/want to get it under control šŸ˜‰

And speaking of contests etc. For the cocoaswappers out there… I’ll be drawing names today for the topic of the week contest… šŸ™‚ I’ll get the Littles in on that action! šŸ™‚

I thought of something today, while I was shopping… and generally relishing in my grocery store browsing… I don’t think I want to do any more swaps… I mean, I love doing them… but I keep wanting to work on these more time consuming knits.. and well.. a swap in the middle of a project I am loving working on kinda kills my knitting mojo for that project… but at the same time, the fun of pulling together a swap package is something I don’t want to lose.. so here’s what I decided while shopping..

This year I won’t be doing any more swaps.. well with the exception of the following:

Finish up the two swaps I’m in
Potentially co-host a small swap with Lesley
Potentially host another Cocoa Swap in the fall

But… I will be sending out a few swap packages. Wait a minute.. you just said you aren’t doing any more swaps this year… yes… I know… What this means is, when I feel the urge, I’ll anonymously join in a swap that’s going on… not officially of course.. but what I’ll do is I’ll pick someone and just sent them a package… just because… I guess it’s my way of ‘paying it forward’… šŸ™‚

so yeah.. that’s about it… we’re expecting a storm tonight.. which, every time I get excited about one, it doesn’t happen… we don’t get much or it immediately rains right after and then it washes it all away or turns it into something my Littles can’t even enjoy… so I figure if I just get grumpy about the upcoming storm (instead of excited) that the Mother Nature will finally give me what I’ve been waiting all winter for… so .. I’m going to concentrate on hoping the kids won’t have school canceled because I missed the memo last week about how Summer break was starting early (last Monday school had a delayed start by 2 hours, Tuesday was an early release at 11:30 due to inclement weather, Wednesday was a delayed start by 2 hours, Thursday was the ONLY full day, Friday was canceled for a Teacher in-service, and Monday of this week was off for President’s day… sheesh… my word!), and seriously we’ve missed so many days due to the ‘non’ yuck weather that we were supposed to get that we’re now going to have to extend the school year! grrr… so I really really don’t want them to miss school tomorrow..

This is PA for crying out loud… why do they even miss school due to snow??? we never did in Massachusetts, and College in Maine… the teachers would cross country ski to their classes.. there was no chance in the 3 feet of snow laying on the ground preventing your 8am bio class!

wow.. I should have told you to get a cuppa or something.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 21, 2008 9:28 pm

    You certainly have a lot going! How you manage a swap and are participating in others I have no idea. Being in one swap at a time is plenty for me! ha ha…

    Give Murphy a kiss for me. That sweet face….

  2. February 22, 2008 9:11 am

    Yeah a cuppa woulda been nice, lol.

    I actually enjoyed that post, you sound more like yourself.

    I’ll have to check out the Ravelry group too, I also love that button.

    Looks like we both learned socks this year. The skies the limit for us.

    HUGS to your Murphster… you know Murphy is my middle name. And the law that follows, yeah that stayed with me, LOL

  3. chanknits permalink
    February 22, 2008 10:59 am

    Kick the big guy in his big shin for me. šŸ˜‰ You know I’ll need sedatives when Mugsy… sniff… Stretch out in the floor with Murphy and while gently stroking his head, kiss him on the nose and whisper postive, loving thought to him from us, will you?? Then, when he nuzzles you back, that’s from us too…

    LOVE the sock action! You go girl!!

    I’m getting ready to break out the flowering teas Firefly gave me for Christmas. Pop on over and try it with me?? (Wish you could…)

  4. Secret pal permalink
    February 22, 2008 3:04 pm

    Sweet Murphy, glad he is feeling a little better. My heart goes out to you & him.

    Your socks look great!! Awesome job! šŸ™‚

    I have your package ready to go, I’ll get it in the mail on Sat or Mon… probably Monday. šŸ˜‰

  5. February 22, 2008 4:47 pm

    *drools* SUSHI!! I just can’t get good sushi here in England. When I get home to Vancouver my best friend and I are going for All You Can Eat Sushi! mmmmmmmmmm

    Love the story of you in the Produce Section. It’s fun getting different fruits and veggies!

  6. February 22, 2008 10:17 pm

    I love sushi but only roll like California, Philadelphia Boston Shrimp Tempura Roll and the Veggie Rolls

    Thanks for posting the link to the dragon and hopefully I will keep better track and get in next falls cocoa swap!!!

Leave a Reply

