Skip to content

Cranky Pants

February 11, 2008

That’s me… Ms. Cranky Pants today… don’t get me wrong, it started off all well and good… I felt a lot better (other than this nagging cough)… and in spite of a 2 hour delayed start to school, the kids didn’t totally get on my nerves… I got a lot of house cleaning done in anticipation for tomorrow’s drive to meet my MIL to get her cat whom we’ll be ‘sitting’ for a few weeks, and for the playdate we have planned for the little girl for Wednesday…

I took photos of my WIPs to share with you, and got busy with my Cocoa Swap wrap up activities (namely reading blog after blog to hunt for contest entries and start marking off who’s gotten their packages etc…

Somewhere in there things took a drastic turn…

First.. my trip for tomorrow… well.. looks like we’re getting a weather situation developing tomorrow through Wednesday morning…hmmm?  They leave on Thursday for their trip… so.. hopefully I don’t have to make this trip that morning…  7″ of the white stuff.. I’ve actually been craving,… but NOT for the day I need to drive to Allentown…

Second… this cough.. it’s nagging, it’s like an annoying co-worker that just won’t shut up… and now.. sitting here.. I am wondering.. is this a NEW cold??? I mean come on.. I thought for sure I paid my winter’s dues with that flu last week.. PLEASE GOD… I’m begging you.. please tell me this isn’t a new cold!

Third… let’s see.. I’m annoyed at the new possibility of a new cold… annoyed that I have to postpone my boring drive to Allentown, (wow.. I used to easily put close to 100  miles a day on my car last spring when I was commuting back and forth from our rental to preschool… and now I’m bi*%&chin about my ONE drive this week??? get a grip Michelle… anyway… since number 1 and number 2 a driving me nutty… well it goes without saying that now my kids are driving me nuts… they fought from the second they got home, with me about homework, with each other about blinking at each other and thinking about looking at each other… hmmm what else were they arguing about… ? so yeah.. .I’m on a path of easy annoyance it seems tonight…

MAYBE sharing my WIPs and weekend knitting round up will make me feel better, somehow I doubt it… but here goes anyway…

Ruffles and Ridges.. oh great another annoyance… I ran out of my stash yarn I was using for Ruffles and Ridges.  I searched at the 3 ‘close’ shops where I had previously seen this yarn… and it’s all gone… bleh… so I found in my stash a slightly heathered forest green that nearly matches the green strand in the variegated yarn I had been using… it’s close.. it’ll do… I’m still trying to love the newly added color… it’s too far along to rip out and start over.. NO WAY am I casting on 807 stitches again!  NO WAY…

ruffles.jpg

Next… the  Knitted Kitties.  I’m making these for each of my kiddos for Valentine’s day… a very quick knit and easy to put together project… I have 2 knit, one partially put together, and one OTN… easy to complete by Valentine’s day..

kitties.jpg

Then there’s the ball band dishcloth do-over for my dishcloth swap pal… I love how this came out… I just carried the second color up with me, and added a garter stitch border in 3 stitches on either side…  🙂

ballband1.jpg

I finished my SILs booga bag (the LAST of the Christmas presents and the ONLY one that was late…)

booga.jpg

Finally, I finished Fetching… wahoo.. and wore them most of the day.  Mistakes I made… well.. I knit a few extra rows on my first one (after the last cable row near the fingers/knuckles), which resulted in my running out of yarn (well, I would have run out if I had knit the same number of extra rows on the right hand fetching… but I didn’t.. what does this mean?  Not much other than that one is a tad longer than the other… that’s all… )… My right hand glove is a tad tighter knit than the left… so it actually fits a tiny bit better.. but it’s Allllll gooooood .. I love them! 🙂  I actually had to fight the little girl for them today! 😉

fetching.jpg

Fetching, US6, Debbie bliss Cashmerino Aran.

So… in other news… Big Girl attended the Father Daughter Dance held by the girl scouts on Saturday… Weren’t they a cute pair!?!

dance.jpg

And in First Communion Dress news… the seamstress confirmed what I had expected.. my wedding dress doesn’t have enough fabric to make the dress the Big Girl really wants… so she tried on this…

firstcommunion.jpg

and this is the applique along the waist…

lace.jpg

Now to convince the big guy it’s ok to have the seamstress make her THIS dress… 🙂

I look forward to a good night’s sleep, the mystery condition disappearing by miracle overnight, and a much less grumpy day tomorrow… 🙂

10 Comments leave one →
  1. February 11, 2008 8:50 pm

    You are a knitting machine!

    Okay, let me see if I can go in order. LOL The cough: If it’s the same stuff the hubby had, the cough hangs around for a while. He just now got rid of his. The ripple: I like the purple and green! Two of my fave colors. The washcloth: Perfect! The dress: Gorgeous! She looks beautiful!

  2. February 11, 2008 8:59 pm

    Damn, that’s a lot of knitting!

    I think the cough will go away. Try the numbing cough drops – I usually take the Sucrets – they come in a tin can and I love to recycle and use the tin can for knitting accessories – buttons or what not. The dress is gorgeous! I love it on her!

    And you should check out my blog that I just posted 🙂

  3. holly permalink
    February 11, 2008 10:00 pm

    I love the ballband I like alot better with the border. All your knitting is amazing. That dress, she looks like an angel. She is beautiful. Get well hugs coming your way.

  4. February 12, 2008 5:38 am

    Lovely FOs. I think the Ruffles and Ridges works — the green matches the little green bits in the pink really well. “Just knit. Don’t try to understand”… haha

    Adorable dress – she looks lovely and sooo happy. 🙂

  5. chanknits permalink
    February 12, 2008 8:51 am

    Gah. Another reason to be cranky; friends who promise to send things and don’t. I realized it at 3am this morning, and still left the house without it. I’m soooo sorry!

    Love the dress. Love the ruffles contrast; isn’t the sample done in two colors?

    Father-daughter dance brings back good memories. I hope it will in 30 years for Big Girl too!

    XOXO babe!!

  6. February 12, 2008 9:38 am

    I didn’t see a picture of those “Cranky Pants” lol, but everything else looked great.

    I also popped over to see what you gave your swap partner, I loved the felted mug and the marshmallow buddies, too cute.

  7. February 12, 2008 12:31 pm

    She’s beautiful in that dress!!!
    Love your fetching!
    Hey on the ruffles – is that the Red Heart acrylic/wool blend (the purply color)? It looks familiar…I found some in my own stash that I’m using for a drop stitch scarf right now.
    Feel better soon… we’re expecting that storm to roll in tonight and make tomorrow pretty hellish. :/

  8. kadezmom permalink
    February 12, 2008 6:44 pm

    Oh Michelle, what a day! I had one too. What a day…..PTL it’s almost over. I love your wips….but the fingerless mitts are it…… and I love the dress for the big girl. And dh just called and now I’m crumpling again. Gotta love it. Ugh. So much for cheering you up! Hardy har har

  9. February 12, 2008 7:47 pm

    Holy cow busy much? I haven’t knit that much since I started I don’t think :p

    I think the crankies were going around today, but I shall send some happy wishes and healthy thoughts and prayers to help with the icklies you have to go with your crankies 😦

  10. February 12, 2008 10:18 pm

    WOWEE! Look at all your WIPS/FO’s! I am J-E-A-L-O-U-S…

    May your cough go away now.

Leave a Reply

