Skip to content

What is she doing??

January 22, 2008

Yep… you know you’ll think that after you see these photos…

dressme.jpg
Yes… this is today, and this is my wedding dress from nearly 10 years ago…. (wow.. still fits)
bodice.jpg
sleeve.jpg
buttons.jpg
bustle.jpg
 pattern.jpg
The big girl’s first communion is coming up!  We made the train into the children’s baptismal gown… now it’s time for bigger things…  (thankfully my Mother-in-law is tackling this project while we’re away…  I don’t think I can bear to see it taken apart….)
17 Comments leave one →
  1. January 22, 2008 11:15 pm

    OMG Michelle you’re going to tear that beautiful dress apart??? I couldn’t do it. I am impressed it still fits you too, no way could I fit in mine. Of course I did not have a real dress, I was married by a JP, actually sorta eloped, but the dress I wore was burned in a house fire. {{{sigh}}} at least I still have a few pictures, right?

  2. kadezmom permalink
    January 23, 2008 1:21 am

    Michelle, that is going to be one beautiful first communion dress….and since this marriage is going to last, I can’t think of a better way to pass down the dress to your daughter. And I dont blame you one bit for not wanting to do the makeover. Enjoy your trip!

  3. January 23, 2008 5:13 am

    Very impressed it still fits after all these years. I was just thinking about mine the other day and how it would make luscious lining for a very smart bag.

    Uhoh! there must be something in the air!!

  4. January 23, 2008 7:20 am

    That’s such a smart idea! Lucky me, I won’t be needing to think about that for at least another 10 years. (I’m just about to get married!!!)

  5. chanknits permalink
    January 23, 2008 8:44 am

    You still look pretty as a picture in it! That’s about the coolest thing I’ve ever heard of doing with a wedding dress. I’m sure it will make the most lovely 1st Communion dress! Big Girl will be the belle of the ball!

  6. January 23, 2008 10:22 am

    Very cool! And call me the crazy one, but hey… if you’re never going to wear it again, then why not be able to make some VERY special little dresses out of it? I’m not big on “THE” dress and all… esp if you’re just gonna toss it in a box… lol

  7. January 23, 2008 11:57 am

    Somehow, I just KNEW there were going to be scissors involved when I saw the pic of you in your dress. Looks stunning on you – you should be proud.

    I agree though. While I think it is a fantastic use for your dress, I don’t think I could be the one to cut it up!

    Hope vacation is great, and I’ll look forward to hearing all about it when you’re home again.

  8. January 23, 2008 12:15 pm

    What a great way to “re”-use your dress. My mom made my First Communion dress out of remanant fabric from my Aunt’s wedding dress (which my mom made). I was a weird kid though, I begged my mom to let me wear it to school (after the ceremony). I’ll have to get a picture of me in that dress… its a ridiculous early 90’s dress.

  9. January 23, 2008 3:10 pm

    What a beautiful dress! And what a wonderful way to recycle it! I’m sure your daughter will look beautiful!

    And congrats on fitting so nicely into the dress you wore 10 years ago!

  10. January 23, 2008 6:08 pm

    What a wonderful way to recycle something that has wonderful memories attached to it. Now that fabric can live on in a special place in the hearts of those involved in two events in the same family. Bravo!

  11. January 23, 2008 7:39 pm

    I think you said that you are just using the train, right? Was it detachable, or is it actually attached to the dress.

    I was married 10 years ago this year, and my dress style was very similar to yours. Coincidentally, mine still fits, too.

  12. January 23, 2008 7:40 pm

    I think you said that you are just using the train, right? Was it detachable, or is it actually attached to the dress.

    I was married 10 years ago this year, and my dress style was very similar to yours. Coincidentally, mine still fits, too.

  13. January 24, 2008 7:07 am

    what a great way to repurpose your dress and create even more memories with it!

  14. Mary permalink
    January 25, 2008 11:25 am

    I think thats great that your Big girl will have something of moms for her First Communion, you’ll even have enough left to make a matching bag for her too.
    You look lovely in your dress thougha nd lucky enough it still fit! Its nice to be able to pass things down.

  15. holly permalink
    January 25, 2008 11:00 pm

    You are so pretty and so will your daughter be with her dress made out of yours. Too cool. Hope you are having fun.

  16. January 28, 2008 2:33 pm

    Michelle I am back again to tell you that…

    YOU MADE MY DAY and I told you so on my blog today

  17. January 28, 2008 4:15 pm

    How great that your dress is getting a new life! I think it’s a great idea, and hey, you got a pic of yourself in it before you took it apart!

Leave a Reply

