Skip to content

Cocoa Swap Topics, and Knitting progress

January 17, 2008

This weeks Cocoa Swap Topic is:

Now that we’re in the thick of ‘Winter’… has your knitting changed to match the season? Are you moving on from dishcloths, and tank tops to afghans, hats and mittens? Has your yarn changed from silk or cotton to wool, superwash or heavier cottons?

Hmmm this is hard.. I don’t really knit hats and mittens all year round, though I do baby hats any time of year…  I knit dishcloths year round, especially because of the Dishcloth Swaps hosted by Anne, and now Holly too, but also because, I could always use another, and they make great quick gifts…

I think that my yarn is the most that changes… living in NC I would knit with light cottons or acryllics through the summer months, and switch to heavier cottons, or superwash in the fall and winter.. but again it all depended on what I was knitting.  My colors seem to change with the seasons too.. following the bright cheery spring and summer colors with the more earthy fall and winter colors.. 🙂

So.. Knitting progress…  I actually do have some… if you can believe it.  Of the 3 dishcloths I had hoped to knit yesterday I got two and 1/2 done.  I’m going to run out of yarn on the 3rd, so I need to check my stash before continuing.  I refuse to buy more when I have such a healthy kitchen cotton stash… so if I don’t have any more, I’ll end this one abruptly at an unusual size and keep it for myself.. (some of my favorite cloths are ones that I’ve made in a non-standard dishcloth size… ) I really am enjoying the pattern on this cloth so I’ll just pick another yarn to do it in…

here’s where we stand with my sister’s dishcloths…

hpim1900.jpg

hpim1899.jpg

I worked a tiny bit on the Ruffles and Ridges pattern. (2  (interrupted) hours got me 4 rows!!!) but now I’m finally down to 273 stitches!  This seems almost manageable! 🙂

hpim1895.jpg

hpim1897.jpg

I also spent some time reading through my Dishcloth partners blog (yes I already have my partner.. special request from a hostess)… and planning what I’ll be doing for her 🙂  I have some neat ideas… I am excited to get starting… I love this particular swap since it’s such a simple idea… dishcloths.. they knit up in no time!! 🙂 If you’re still interested in signing up for that swap the deadline is tomorrow.. so get over there and signup now!

Today I’ll be doing some custom orders for Etsy.. the kids being home yesterday through me for a loop so I didn’t get the things done I had wanted to do …  today though.. I will 🙂

13 Comments leave one →
  1. chanknits permalink
    January 17, 2008 10:21 am

    Pretty cloths. Four rows gets down in the 200s of stitches? Maybe that pattern *IS* still on my to-do list after all…

  2. January 17, 2008 11:47 am

    Yeah, one of mine has been home sick this week and boy, am I tired. LOL I can’t wait till he can go back to school! He and his sister are pinging off the walls!

  3. Shelly permalink
    January 17, 2008 12:42 pm

    I love the almost finished cloth…but what pattern IS it.

    Great job on the ruffle, but oh how aggrivating! Love the color as well.

    My kids are off for a 4 day weekend starting tomorrow. BIG WRINKLE! Oh well. Maybe noone will be hormonal! Yeah, right….but a mom can hope!

  4. January 17, 2008 2:03 pm

    Pretty cloths… and pretty ruffles!

  5. January 17, 2008 6:38 pm

    I agree with Shelly – what pattern is that cloth? It looks great.

    And I like the dishcloth swaps for the same reason as you. I recently had a co-worker accept an out of state job. Luckily, he was a serious HP fan, and I had just finished two of your HP dishcloths! Instant gift.

  6. January 17, 2008 8:01 pm

    I can see I missed the topic of the week, better make sure I get that posted on my blog tomorrow. oops

  7. holly permalink
    January 17, 2008 8:15 pm

    I love the yarn you picked for the wrap. Those dishcloths would cheer me up. You know I love pink. I know what you mean in one of the post before, that hosting consumes your time. I will do my meme this weekend, I am glad I am somebody you know to tag.

  8. January 17, 2008 9:52 pm

    Wow, lots of FO’s! Holey Toledo!

  9. January 17, 2008 10:11 pm

    I love that flower, how cute!!

    When you get to those socks you are going to be hooked! I Love knitting socks!! 🙂

  10. Mary permalink
    January 18, 2008 12:23 pm

    Bright colors and pretty petal cloth! The ruffles looks good so far, but holy cow thats a lots of stitches..lol
    Good job for all the FO’s!

  11. January 19, 2008 7:35 pm

    Your idea of not getting things done is always about twice what normal people do 😀 I like both cloths – the one for your sis is so bright it’ll be sure to brighten her day!

    Your package arrived, I just need some sun to take photos – but it all looks just great!!!! You always amaze.

  12. January 19, 2008 10:25 pm

    The flower cloth is gorgeous!

  13. January 20, 2008 12:03 pm

    I like the flower cloth the best. Wish I had the urge to resist new cotton yarn as you do. I have tons and keep on getting more when the new colors are released. Lol.

Leave a Reply

