Skip to content

Dearest friends

January 8, 2008

I’ve missed you…

Have you felt the same??

I really have… I’ve been so swamped with Cocoa Swap matching and emails and dealing with the things that come up and need dealing with… Thank you Anne for NOT telling me about this.. because if you had… I probably wouldn’t be hosting this swap!  Don’t get me wrong Cocoa Swappers… I love the swap and I know it’s going to be fun now that it’s under way… but wow.. the matching process was much more difficult and time consuming than I had anticipated.

If it hasn’t been related to the swap I haven’t answered emails… and I miss my dear daily chatters… like Anne, and Chan, and Holly, …But I think things can finally get back to normal now! 🙂

Hmmm 2008 has been off to a busy start… first.. I got (by the skin of my teeth) my pattern submitted to Knitty, (no word yet, don’t know when I’ll hear) got the swap (with the help of Lesley) going… I finished an object for myself (I’ll have to post it’s picture tomorrow)…  and… I cast on a new project…

Last night, I crawled into bed and thought.. I’ll cast it on, knit a row or two and hit the hay… well… I’m doing Fiber Trends Ruffles and Ridges…  I adore this wrap… but you know what?  I pulled out the yarn (from stash), and located the pattern (hidden away with the… some day I’ll knit this for myself… stack) and I open it up to find that the small has 807 stitches… you read that correctly… eight hundred and seven… It took me close to half an hour to cast it on.. and I knit a whopping 100 stitches… and know for certain that I need to buy a bigger needle to be knitting this on…

For a brief moment last night I considered chucking it and casting on Fetching…  but no.. I bit the bullet… I always seem to shy away from the ‘bigger’ projects… and this one is only big for the ruffle and then gets under control soon… but I really really do need to buy a longer needle…

They recommended a 40″ needle, but I didn’t have one and am using a 24″ and it’s just not going to cut it… I dropped stitches and had to pick them up too many times last night… so tomorrow I’ll be heading to AC Moore with the plans to buy a needle in 40″ length!

In other news.. I joined another swap… it’s the Scavenger Hunt Swap.  It sounds so fun.  The registrations are still open so if you’re interested…  you send your partner an item from each of 5? categories… and they are interesting categories ..

Other things on my mind… my Etsy shop.  I have some new items to upload and some new ideas as well.  I’ll hopefully get some work done for that this week…

Now.. maybe a few email responses before heading off to Bunko!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. chanknits permalink
    January 8, 2008 7:50 pm

    Of course I’ve missed you, but I knew the swap had you busy, along with back to school and the rest of your wild life!

    You’ve talked me out of Ruffles and Ridges. Gah. Casting on 800+ stitches?! Crazy-making!

  2. January 8, 2008 11:34 pm

    Can’t wait to see new stuff on etsy!

  3. January 9, 2008 10:50 am

    Michelle where do you find the time for everything? And two swaps??? I couldn’t do more then 1 at a time. Yikes.

  4. January 10, 2008 10:46 am

    Can’t wait to see what’s new on Etsy… kudos to you for getting the pattern off to Knitty! Fingers & toes are crossed!

Leave a Reply

