Skip to content

Chicka wa wa

January 2, 2008

“Chicka wa wa, chicka wa wa”… that tune has been sung in our house for weeks.. and today, we finally took a family afternoon together to go see Alvin and the Chipmunks… a delight for all of us… especially the kids at heart in myself and the Big Guy. This movie brought us back to our childhood when the Chipmunks were big, even with their own cartoon in the 80s for a while there..

Chicka wa wa is now what the Little Girl calls Chipmunks… and I mean the species in particular, not the Movie.. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I cracked up when she saw a ‘live’ chipmunk on tv and called them Chicka wa wa’s… too funny… (yeah, you probably don’t think so.. but look at it this way. Other than this blog and the occasional phone call from a family member, I rarely speak to adults… this kinda stuff cracks me up)

The movie was a delight and I highly recommend it. I loved the new versions of the old favorite songs… totally cute!

So… the whole New Year’s Resolutions thing… yeah.. I just don’t get into that… though I do like to set annual GOALS… not to be confused with resolutions… GOALS aren’t always about changing some BAD part of my character and/or being… GOALS are more about attaining these THINGS… not always materialistic, .. but hmmm my brain isn’t working right now.. I can’t figure out the word I’m looking for… but anyway.. I set goals for things each year… SOMETIMES the goals are things that I find to be a character flaw of mine, but usually they are about learning, growing, experiencing… and that isn’t any different this year….

Generically speaking here are some of my goals.

1. Knit for myself for the first time in my knitting life

2. Don’t be afraid to try NEW knitting techniques (I will join the Fearless Knitting KAL)

3. Knit a REAL garment for myself this year. If you’re in Ravelry and stop by my space.. you’ll see I have a rather LARGE and VARIED Queue

4. Work on my ‘finances’… this is one of those THINGS that could be a resolution instead of a goal… however.. it’s not really. Each year I work on bettering my understanding of the finances and my spending control… I’m not always good at it, and the Big Guy gets really frustrated with me every year at this time. I’m mildly ashamed of the apparent lack of control I have at times, but we aren’t swimming in debt, so no fears there.. I just need to be continuing working on the goal at better understanding the finances…

5. Get my foot healthy so I can run another Half Marathon this year. I had one in mind for the Spring, but my foot has been rather troubled. Today was my first run in 5 weeks.. it felt good, but not GREAT. I don’t want to rush… and risk re-injuring it. Running is perhaps the only hobby of mine that trumps knitting… and y’all can see how much I love to knit! When I get running and in the groove.. I don’t want to stop. I know.. I’m weird.

6. Continue to better my healthy lifestyle. Each year I have tried to pick one ‘habit’ in my lifestyle that I’d be healthier without and work on that. Again, similar to a resolution, but NOT really. I don’t pick 10,000 things that I need to change.. just ONE so that it can be a permanent change to my lifestyle. Last year’s was dealing with my DIET COKE problem. I set a goal to only drink Diet Coke on special occasions, or an evening out or that sort of thing. And while it took nearly 6 months of the year to get there… I did… I am down to nearly 1-2 DCs a month.. and that’s significant in comparison to the 2-3 per day I started the year with! This year I’m continuing on the path to caffeine decrease by watching the amount of coffee I’m drinking. I had built up to 2-3 cups per day, and want to get that down to 1. (can you imagine what I was like with 2-3 DCs and 2-3 coffees per day!!! can you say OVER TIRED?!?!?)

I’m most excited about the Knitting Adventure I have planned for this year… ๐Ÿ™‚ I can’t wait to share it all with you, Ups and Downs… ๐Ÿ™‚

8 Comments leave one →
  1. holly permalink
    January 3, 2008 12:50 am

    We are here for you ups and downs. I am hoping for ups for you this year though. If you are anything like I am on more than one caffeine drink a day. It is like the energizer bunny on speed.

  2. January 3, 2008 7:55 am

    I’m so glad your foot is better, I hate not being able to run! The alternatives at the gym just aren’t the same. I cut back on diet coke last year too, that stuff is strangely addictive isn’t it?
    Happy New Year!

  3. January 3, 2008 9:24 am

    I really want to see that movie. Mark won’t go with me. I just remember as a kid listening to the Chipmunk’s Christmas album over and over. I can hear them in my head… oh happy times. On a similar note, I got “Fraggle Rock” from net flicks a couple years ago- it wasn’t as intreguining as when I was a child- but I look forward to introducing it to any kids I have someday. I will have to go see the Chipmunks by myself- oh well, more popcorn for me!

  4. chanknits permalink
    January 3, 2008 9:27 am

    I’m hoping to take MJ to see the Chipmunks this weekend. She wants to see it and so do I!

    I used to LOVE to run. Now, I’d be very happy if I could just do yoga and walk daily again.

  5. January 3, 2008 2:58 pm

    Michelle,

    I don’t do resolutions either, it’s always a Goal… not something to be broken, but something to work towards.

    Last year I wanted to learn how to blog, I think I reached that goal, lol among other things.

    This year I want to learn the Intarsia method of knitting and how to make socks.

    I forgot how you hurt your foot but I am glad to see it’s healing.

  6. January 3, 2008 3:05 pm

    HE is very cute ๐Ÿ™‚ I think dogs are funny when they get all excited, it is a quiet day at my house, the dogs are all laying in front of the heater enjoying the warmth, they are usually outside during the day but I am off today so they get to stay inside.(Eva stays inside in her crate during the day, but the big dogs go outside)

  7. January 3, 2008 8:00 pm

    โ€œChicka wa wa, chicka wa waโ€

    HaHa, my seven year old has been saying it for weeks as well!

  8. January 3, 2008 8:31 pm

    I’m glad to hear that the Chipmunks movie is good – my boy has wanted to see it but I hadn’t heard anything about it yet!

    Um, my name is Amanda, and I have a Diet Coke problem. OH YES!

Leave a Reply

