Skip to content

Hasta la vista 2007

January 1, 2008

I spent much of yesterday thinking about the year… and about how other of my blogger friends have highlighted their year… and trying to decide the best way for me to ‘blog’ how I feel about 2007.

Honestly… 2007 sucked out loud.

If I do a month by month review, which I really like the idea of I think it will look so terribly negative… but then… it will also be a good exercise in letting go of ‘the year’ I could do without…  Maybe I should just highlight the year in knitting… but… I don’t have photos of much of the year’s projects…  maybe I should just talk about how good 2008 is going to be just because it’s NOT 2007…

bleh

I’ll review.. I really liked when Amanda did it, and then Chan, and then… was it Monica???  I’ll have to go look again.

January: Celebrated turning 36 with a loud and very PUBLIC disagreement with someone I thought was my dearest friend in NC, only to find out in reality she’s a psycho.  What a way to ring in a birthday!  I started knitting a lot more this month, probably out of anger and frustration.

February: Celebrated 10 years since my engagement to the Big Guy with a special gift, and by closing on our first home the following morning.  We spent much of those two days moving all our belongings to a new rental in a neighboring NC town.  We received our anonymous ‘nasty gram’ let’s just call it, mailed to us on the day of our closing.  Chewy celebrated her 10th and last birthday with us as well.  I was still reeling from the January events and thus started my blog as a ‘vent’ location, and to re-direct my emotions/energy.

March: The big guy turned 37.  I participated in my first KALs with the Monthly Dishcloth KAL. I ran an almost PR in the Shamrock Half Marathon with two good and very dearly missed friends, Molly and Elizabeth.

April: The Big Girl turned 7 and the Middle Guy turned 5 (1 day apart).  We celebrated with a joint party again, and with Mimi the Clown.  What a wonderful entertainer she is.  She’s greatly missed!  I joined my first swap this month, the Harry Potter Sock Kit Swap.  I had a lot of fun putting together my package and participating in this swap.

May: The Middle Guy graduated from preschool.  Found out that The Big Guy was being offered a position in PA.  We traveled to PA on a house hunting expedition.  Had a relatively quiet and nice Mother’s Day, but behavior issues from the kids abounded this month!  I joined the Dishcloth Swap this month, and who’d have known then what wonderful friendships would develop from that one action!  Thank you Anne for such a great swap and getting the chance to know you, and Chan! 🙂

June: The Big Girl finished up first grade at her beloved Elementary School.  Received our Relocation package and began the nightmare of packing up AGAIN…   2 days before leaving NC we got the news that Chewy had urinary cancer, and that we could expect a 2 week -6 month timeframe of what we’d have left with her.  I started my Christmas KAL this month as a motivator to get my Christmas Knitting done early.. yikes.. it worked a ‘little’.. 😉  This month I published my first Harry Potter Pattern, and joined the Vacation Swap.  We celebrated Father’s Day with a trip to the beach.  We rounded out the month by moving to PA (sort of)…

July:  The first few weeks of July were spent relaxing at my in-laws while we waited to close on our home in PA.  We visited with cousins, who got to say their last goodbyes to Chewy… this month I received some swap packages, the Tea Swap (which I forget when I joined)… and my Harry Potter Sock kit.  I did a bunch of knitting at my in-laws… in preparation for the dry spell as we finished packing our NC rental and closed on our PA home.  The kids stayed with their grandparents while the Big Guy and I finished up in NC and got unpacking in PA.  Our kitty ran away and came back this month too!

August: Camp week… it was awesome, and probably one of the highlights of this year… a week to be thinking of nothing other than running and our camp… we had a lot of fun.  The kids started school at their new school, the Middle guy starting Kindergarten!  My mom came to visit for the  month and help with unpacking.  I joined another tea swap and the Fall felted bag swap, and continued with my dishcloth swapping.  I also published another Harry Potter Pattern.

September:  I did a lot more fun things with the kids this month, including apple picking, and baking and more like the usual ‘mom’ stuff I do.  It was a rather uneventful month, which was nice.

October: Bleh, can we just skip October??  Other than the Little Girl’s birthday… where she turned 3 and celebrated with a pool party, and our wedding anniversary (9 years).. the rest of the month stunk out loud.  We said goodbye to our dear Chewy  on the 30th, but she was not the first doggie lost that month nor the next… seems like the fall was bad for a lot of my dog owning friends. I knit a LOT this month.

November:  More knitting and knitting and  knitting… and Thanksgiving with Family… 🙂

December: Contact with an old neighbor caused me a tiny bit of stress as I was looking forward to escaping the start of this year (that January Public fight)… it ended up ok.  We celebrated a quiet Christmas with our family and enjoyed time with the in-laws as we refresh and prepare for 2008.
Looking through this list now I see that the end of the year is much better than I’d though… other than October the fall turned out nice…  🙂

So now, I can say  goodbye 2007… don’t care to ever see you again! 😉

Bring on 2008!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. January 1, 2008 3:00 pm

    Here’s to saying goodbye and good riddings to 2007…… on to 2008.

  2. January 1, 2008 3:37 pm

    I’m glad you did that. Don’t you feel better? At least it seems to not have been as bad as you originally thought.

    Welcome, 2008!

  3. January 1, 2008 3:51 pm

    Wow – sorry you had such a rough year and so very sorry to hear about Chewey. I’m enjoying your blog (which I think I found through Chan).

    Happy 2008! g

  4. January 1, 2008 5:59 pm

    Here’s hoping 2008 is a wonderful one for you! 🙂

  5. January 1, 2008 7:09 pm

    Wow! What a year you’ve been through! I don’t blame you for looking forward to tossing 2007 out the window. But just think, “Whatever doesn’t kill you will make you stronger.” Keep that in mind as you begin a new year with new beginnings. Keep your chin up… it can only get better.

  6. January 2, 2008 10:43 am

    Michelle,

    I wish I had done that as well, broken the year down. I too am glad 2007 is over. had my share of sorrows too. As you well know.

    But there was good in it too as there was in your year. I choose to remember those things the most.

    2008 is going to be great. That’s been my motto all year. Ok it’s only day 2, but still…

  7. chanknits permalink
    January 2, 2008 3:04 pm

    Good for you. 2008 *HAS* to be better!

  8. January 3, 2008 9:39 am

    Great goals! I second almost all of them myself… 🙂

Leave a Reply

