Skip to content

Where to begin…?

December 30, 2007

When you take a big break from blogging (which honestly… for me… 6 days is significant…) and during that break is like the hugest holiday of the year… well… where do you start???

Let’s just say that our holiday was wonderful, spirit filled, and relaxing.

Last year at this time, we had an offer on our house which we’d accepted, but still needed to ‘show’ our home to potential buyers until we got to closing.. so Christmas felt stiff and rushed. I couldn’t decorate in my usual manner (even though I didn’t do my usual this year either)… and I had to get things cleaned up immediately… We actually showed our home on Christmas Eve and on the day after Christmas??? That seemed so weird to us…

Our Christmas week traditions grew this year to include special singing performances by the childrens’ choir at our Church, on the 23rd and 24th (the 23rd was a reschedule due to the snow the week before)… and a Polish tradition we picked up this year including the Christmas Wafer (Oblatek) and an Italian one with the 13 items Christmas Eve dinner..  the eve began with our Christmas Eve service with the older two singing in the choir,

evekids.jpg
eveme.jpg

and ended though in the same manner as every year since their birth… a stack of Christmas books beside their beds, and brand new jammies…

jammies.jpg
We spent a few minutes ‘torturing spiriting’ the pets… before tucking the kids into bed…
jinglemurph.jpg
torturedsparky.jpg

We only hear about 10 screams that their were jingle bells to be heard on the roof… and eventually the Big Girl drifted off…  3:45… that’s seriously the time that the Middle Guy got up (and woke his older sister)… and he was sent back to bed NO JOKE every 10 minutes as he returned to see if it was ‘Time YET?’ to go downstairs…  Finally at 6am, the Big Guy went and snuggled him back to sleep… can we say ‘tired parents’ for Christmas morning???

tree1.jpg

Santa was good to our children this year. I heard from Devin that the screams over the Disney Vacation and Hannah Montana tickets could be heard all the way in Minneapolis!

hannah_montana_logo.png

Hannah was definitely the highlight for the Big Girl… and the Middle Guy keeps telling us that the Disney vacation doesn’t count as a gift since we weren’t going ON Christmas day… (where do they get this stuff?)

They all received their requested ‘Fuzz Luvz’ and a Webkinz from the big Round Man from the North…  We also got them a few of their other requested items, including a lot of books and some fun activities like a Magic Kit, K’Nex set, Playdough and the Dora Vanity! 🙂

tree21.jpg
magic.jpg dora.jpg knex.jpg playdough.jpg 

Due to our recent state move, and the cost of the above mentioned ‘trips’… the big guy and I exchanged hugs and just a small gift each… for him new jammies (and socks that I’ll knit after I get a ‘BIG MAN’s Feet’ pattern from Anne?) for me, two pieces to my Christmas village which I haven’t even had time to photograph yet! One is a skating scene that is electronic and the little skaters move around the ‘ice pond’ by magnets… and the other is an additional light house for my village. I love them both!

Knitting…  I’m sure you’re all wondering… (hahaha)

Yes… I knit.. and knit, and knit.. .and ALMOST finished all my gifts… (with two VERY VERY late nights of finishing) but sadly … due to a series of unfortunate events involving the dishwasher, a grapefruit knife, and my right index finger… well.. I had to take a couple of days off, which meant, no Booga bag for my sis in law…  she was totally cool with it though, which was great!  I have it about 1/4 done and will finish it before too long and get it to her in the mail.  I swear it right now… there will be VERY few knit gifts next year.. though I am going to join a new KAL, the Year Long Gift Along… that Amanda turned me on to… so if I properly plan I can do the 2008 plan of the Year of Knitting for ME and still squeeze in some gifts…

The Middle Guy was thrilled to get his stitches out at long last the day we left for NY… 🙂 Blue stitches were ‘fun’ at first… but soon lost their enjoyment… so fortunately the day we were heading northward… he got to have them removed!

stitches.jpg

Our drive to NY was fairly uneventful.. the cat and dog did well on the drive… we were surprised about the cat.. I thought for sure he’d cry the whole way.. but after a short while he settled in on the Big Guys lap and went to sleep…

drivetony.jpg

Our visit with family was wonderful… we got to see one Auntie that we don’t often see since her graduate schedule keeps her away more of the year than we’d all like…  the kids loved playing with cousins and walking the short walk between grandma and grandpa’s house to their cousins house… we celebrated a brief ‘christmas’ there as well…

Here are the Rochester knit gifts… (well some of them anyway)

Mother-in-law’s little companion bag (before felting)

mombefore.jpg

 

After felting

grandmabag.jpg

Brother in law’s hat(Cashmere Ribbed hat)
(action shot)

wiiboys.jpg

Father-in-law’s Ribbed hat

grandpa.jpg

Typical Grandpa…

grandpa2.jpg

And.. the Snowman hats for the cousins… I didn’t get a shot of them all wearing them, though will as my Sis-in-law for that one when she gets the chance…

cousins.jpg

This same sis in law was knit a ‘tote’ and I somehow forgot to get an ‘after’ shot.. so here’s the before and my Sis in law said she’d email me an after…

michellebefore.jpg

It came out a bit larger than I was expecting but I really like the colors…  I will likely knit myself this bag with some alterations to make it smaller…

 

Wow.. that was tremendously long and picture laden.. but I suppose it makes up for the nearly week long hiatus from blogging…  our family had a wonderful holiday.. and it’s ending right now with a snowfall.. one that we hope will provide sledding fun tomorrow… we’ll also end it with a trip to the theater to see the Chipmunks movie… and a playdate with friends on the first… before we head back to school and ‘regular’ life… 🙂  I have a lot of plans for the New Year… changes for my blog, changes for my Etsy shop, and changes for my knitting… I can’t wait to share it all with you!

Merry Christmas, and Happy New Year!

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 30, 2007 11:40 pm

    YAY!!!! I’m so happy to hear from you, and to read a big ‘ole post about all the happenings this past week. Looks like a great Christmas!

    Happy New Year, my friend!

  2. chanknits permalink
    December 31, 2007 8:39 am

    I just have to say it again… You have the most beautiful children. I’m so glad you had a great Christmas, and while I don’t know where Middle Guy gets his logic from, I got mine from the same place. I told the Knight and his mother both that I wouldn’t accept an engagement ring as a gift for a normal gift-giving occasion; it had to be a stand-alone, special moment…

    Have a very happy 2008, and I hope it includes us meeting up!

  3. December 31, 2007 8:55 am

    They were so loud! Woke me up (since you are 2 hours earlier that us- and I don’t have to get up at the crack of dawn- other than for Chester) I’m glad they were so excited!

  4. holly permalink
    December 31, 2007 1:05 pm

    I am glad you had a good Christmas. I am sure they are excited about the the trip. All your knits for gifts look great. Like the bag especially. Hope you have a Happy New Year!

  5. December 31, 2007 5:43 pm

    Michelle, you are as beautiful as your children.

    Your Christmas tree is amazing. OMG, I am just blown away.

    Your cat is HUGE. If the colors were orange instead of grey I’s think it was a TIGER, LOL.

    And I love the felted bag, I have never been brave enough to try it. Awesome.

  6. Anita permalink
    December 31, 2007 6:49 pm

    I wouldn’t know where to start with a comment… I loved reading your post. So glad you had a good Christmas!! The tree was beautiful!!! I remember when we used to have room for one that big… Hope you have a great New Year too!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

