Skip to content

Winter Wonderfun

December 20, 2007

My Coffee Swap package arrived.. and boy was I surprised when I saw the return address for Holly, one of the hostesses of the swap! I had started talking with Holly a few weeks back when our ‘topic’ of the week was to start a conversation with someone on the swap that you didn’t know. I’m not kidding when I say that I seriously went to the site… closed my eyes and scrolled down through the list of participants and clicked on a random name and it just happened to be Holly!!! I didn’t go there and say.. well.. I know the other swap hostess.. so lets check out this one… I seriously randomly selected her… And I’m pretty sure it was big surprise to her when I started talking to her… 🙂 That happened to me in another swap… the Vacation Swap… I ended up randomly starting to talk with my partner… Lesley.. and now she and I are hosting the Cocoa Swap!

She and I are so similar it’s funny… and cool… that’s one of the things I really love about swaps.. getting to know people that so often are similar to you in more ways than just knitting.. 🙂 Holly definitely did her research and sent me such a sweet and absolutely perfect package!

Here’s a quick shot of the package.. and then some info…

 

loot.jpg

I’m pretty sure I said I liked snowmen, and blue and white.. and Holly completely went with that theme… she sent me the coolest funnest yummiest stuff!

First.. a quick little story about the box…

When I got home yesterday from a totally nutty morning/afternoon, the box was sitting at our garage door… and I kinda knew it must be my WWCS box because everything we ordered has arrived… so I was pretty pumped but had a load of groceries in my car to deal with first. I actually emailed Holly when I got in to let her know I’d received it because while I knew I’d have time to unpack it and enjoy it’s awesomeness.. I wasn’t sure I’d have time to blog or email her back…

I brought the box in and Murphy had a LOT of interest in it.. which I thought was funny because he usually only shows interest in boxes from my mom because she always sends her granddog a package of goodies for the holidays… I seriously barely got the top of the box open when he sticks his big nose into the packing peanuts and pulls out a little cute blue wrapped package… I had to chase him to get it out of his mouth… and lo and behold.. it says on the side ‘For Murphy’… so… I embarrassingly laughed as I unwrapped it and handed the goodies back to him… he scarfed down one cool treat, a twisted stick covered in doggie safe chocolate, and I did manage a quick shot of the second, a cute christmasy pretzel…

 

cookie.jpg

Murphy says ‘Thank You’ Holly!

 

murphycookie.jpg

Let’s first talk about the yarn… the luscious yummy yarn!

 

yarn.jpg

First one I unwrapped was the so appropriately named white skein of soft and fluffy yumminess, ‘Frosting’.. I mean come on… that is so fitting for me the baking freak… 🙂 and second a gorgeous BFL hank from Amanda in a beautiful blue! Thanks Amanda (and Holly).. I haven’t yet decided what I’ll use these for but I’m envisioning a beautiful soft and fluffy pair of mittens with that white…. I seriously can’t tell you how soft this Frosting is… I’ve never seen it before… soo cool!

and related to yarn…

 

holder.jpg

One of Mary‘s so cool stitch marker holders, and a set of markers as well as Row Counter? I’m not sure if that’s what it is.. I had so little time to play with it yesterday… I need to email Mary to ask her how it’s used… it’s so pretty with those cute snowflakes.. and the blue beads! Wow.. awesome! I know I just purchased one from her (the stitch marker holder that is).. but I seriously need two.. so this is perfect!

Ok, and the goodies… oh my

 

other.jpg

Such a cute snow man mug.. he’s sadly in the sink now.. so I have to use a different one this morning, but he was instantly washed yesterday and USED right away yesterday afternoon for my cup of coffee that I needed to survive the afternoon… and to warm up.. brrr it was cold… Ok, and those are my absolute favorite soft peppermint sticks… I JUST found them here in PA for our stockings this year.. I was in fear of not having them!… and now I have 2 bags JUST for me… 🙂 and my other favorite candies.. Werthers’… my kids saw those and were like… ‘oh yumm’… so of course I’ve already hidden them… There’s a cute snowman magnetic pad of paper for lists, and note cards as well…She obviously lives near a Target, because I’d eyed the snowman mug there before, as well as the three cups (still wrapped in the photo) for my Littles.. they adore them.. I’ll photograph them a bit later and post.. they are the heads of snowmen with a straw… very kid friendly and very winter appropriate!

The snowman bar of soap is so cute… and of course y’all know I love Dunkin Donuts coffee… I understand from Chan that you had to go to great lengths to get it.. I soooo appreciate that! The snowflake frame is beautiful… and I have just the photo for it.. 🙂 And finally.. in the back, kinda tucked behind stuff is a lovely bag of Starbuck’s hot cocoa mix… ahhhh my other winter hot treat! Holly with a package like this.. your pal in the Hot cocoa swap will be sooo happy! 🙂

Thanks again Holly… you’re the sweetest!

so briefly because I have only 2 more minutes before the little one comes in here and asks me to play hide and seek again…

Here’s my Pillows Dogs on Thursday show for y’all… What are my kids going to do when the Murphster isn’t with us anymore…

murphychelsea.jpg

10 Comments leave one →
  1. December 20, 2007 11:29 am

    That is so great that he knew the one was for him! Chester got some special treats from my Hogwarts Sock Swap partner- he loved them! Have a great Christmas!

  2. December 20, 2007 11:40 am

    Isn’t Holly great?!? Believe it or not, she lives probably 5 minutes down the road from me. LOL Small world, huh? That’s a wonderful package and I love that Murphy knew which one was for him! 😉

  3. chanknits permalink
    December 20, 2007 1:12 pm

    I howled about Murph knowing that was his package. Sweet, dear Murphy boy! I really want to meet him… Love the picture too of littlest Little and her live pillow. That’s just too precious.

    Of course it’s a great package all the way around and I’m so glad my incredible spoiler got an incredible spoiler of her own too! 😉

  4. December 20, 2007 2:54 pm

    I love the “kountry kitsch” dining room decor. You do not see that style much anymore. I hope it is on a comeback. You Rock!

  5. December 20, 2007 3:16 pm

    Wow! Can Holly send to me? LOL!

  6. December 20, 2007 3:41 pm

    Great swap goodies! Cute Murphy pics!!

  7. December 20, 2007 7:47 pm

    I’m glad you like your package! Holly put a lot of thought and work into it for you, and it definitely shows!

  8. holly permalink
    December 20, 2007 9:23 pm

    I am glad you love your package. I just kept finding things and couldn’t help myself. Two things, I want to know how that hot chocolate is from Starbucks. The other the yarn is 450 yds. I got it in case you wanted it for your shawl in your to do after the new year for you. You might already have some yarn in mind but I wanted to give the yds you would need in case you wanted it for that. That is so funny about Murphy. When I open the door to those doggy treats, they really did smell so good.

    Love the picture of your little one using him as a pillow. Too Sweet!

  9. knitisses permalink
    December 21, 2007 9:19 am

    What a great treat to sweetener your day 😉 Murphy seems very happy with his present! Oh.. How I love Werther’s!..

    kisses from Portugal*

Trackbacks

  1. And now a word from our sponsors! « Cocoa Swapn 2

Leave a Reply

