Skip to content

Wii had a great Wiikend.. how about you?

December 17, 2007

Seems like our weekends are JAM packed from now until New Year’s or later even… 🙂 I’m sure I’m not alone in this hectic rush TO and THROUGH the holidays… I try to find enjoyment though in each of the things we to do celebrate the season…

Saturday started with two early basketball games for the middle guy (yellow #4)…

bball.jpg

The Big guy is one of his teams coaches. Middle Guy did make a few baskets but there’s no score or results to report… at this age level, they are working on learning the game 🙂

The middle of the day was filled with baking…

todayscookies.jpg

(I’ll write a separate post with the ‘other’ thing we baked)

and then we decided to end it with some family fun with Wii.. I LOVE that thing…

Wii know how to box… do you?

wii.jpg

wii2.jpg

Wii, as the big people in the house, let our Littles ‘Win’

wii3.jpg

On the knitting front, I finally finished my Mom’s ‘Mary’s Summer Bag’… so I can mail the package to her on Monday.. I do hope it will ge to her in time for Christmas, but won’t be surprised if it doesn’t.. dang…

momsbag.jpg

I ended Saturday enjoying the view of my Christmas village lit up in the dark kitchen…

nightvillage.jpg

My village is not as large as some… and I LOVE every single piece of it. They all have some special meaning to me… all but maybe one… The Big Guy started me on this collection years ago after noticing me admire them whenever we were out shopping at a store that carried them… My pieces are from Department 56, which can be rather expensive… and we haven’t added any in a few years… but I know he bought me something this year because he came home with a GIANT Department 56 bag from his trip to MN…

bag.jpg

Here’s my village, spread out on the large Bay Window sill/seat in our eat in Kitchen area…

houses1.jpg

houses2.jpg

houses3.jpg

houses4.jpg

Sunday…. well… we woke up to no electricity… and a very loud windstorm as part of the Nor’easter we were getting. We have a gas stove so that was quite nice as I was able to use my infuser tea pot with it’s stainless steel basket to make a pot of coffee 🙂 and we were able to have a hot breakfast to warm us in our 52 degree house. Our kids howled almost as loud as the wind with complaints about what they could do… but that ended quickly as we added painting, coloring, games and generic ‘play’ to the list of things and everyone was happy… When the wind finally died down the Big Guy and I took turns shoveling our driveway.. (my turn was 2 hours!)… and unpacking framed photos and decorations from one of our closest that we hadn’t yet tackled. Our goal is to have all our pictures hung by Christmas! The tremendous pile of packing paper proved a lot of fun too for the Littles… amazing the things you can do for fun without tv or computers… 🙂

The shoveling proved to be difficult as it was ice encrusted… and was coming down as freezing rain during the Big Guy’s session, and switched to snow during the second half of my session… but we cleared the long driveway and path to our back door… 🙂 The kids enjoyed some sledding during this time too! Our electric came back on around 1, so it was nice and toasty inside in time for dinner and the lighting of the rose candle… we have a lot of Joy to celebrate in our family!

And did y’all see Survivor?!? I think I was most thankful for having electricity to watch Survivor last night…

I’ll be back with the other ‘baking’ post after I get the kids off to school… 2 hour delay this morning.. so they got to sleep in.. now I need to be packing lunches etc… 🙂

9 Comments leave one →
  1. December 17, 2007 10:13 am

    Tha picture of the two of you in the bag is so cute! That will be a BIG addition to your village. My mom has been down-grading hers the last couple years, and now that they put Wyatt’s room where she use to put them- I don’t think any of them were put up this year.

  2. December 17, 2007 10:25 am

    Wow would I love to have Wii that looks like so much fun.

    I love the village too, no place in my little house for one, so i think I’ll just enjoy yours if that’s OK/

  3. December 17, 2007 11:41 am

    That pic of you in the bag is too funny!

  4. December 17, 2007 11:53 am

    Loving the pics of the baking.
    My baking mojo seems to have gone walkabout at the moment and I am really hoping it is back by the weekend at the very latest as there are lots if Christmas biscuits to do!!

  5. chanknits permalink
    December 17, 2007 2:18 pm

    I don’t know which I enjoyed more… the family fun photos, your village, or the REAL snow behind your village…

  6. December 17, 2007 3:35 pm

    Great post! I feel like I was there with you (OK, not that cold, though!) I love reading about all the things you do with your family. Your blog radiates your happy home.

    One more thing… please no more rubbing it in about the wii. We have wanted one, but cannot find one anywhere. Ya. Thanks. ((smile))

  7. secret pal permalink
    December 17, 2007 6:00 pm

    Look at your village, it looks like it runs right outside your window, with all that snow outside. I have the Dept. 56 North Pole Village, they are expensive. Which I need another piece to mine. YUMMMM…… those cookies look wonderful.

  8. December 17, 2007 9:29 pm

    That’s one big bag! I’m very jealous of the snow, but considering I don’t have to shovel driveways, I don’t guess I should complain. 🙂

  9. December 19, 2007 2:28 am

    MMMM that looks yummy, I will take a cup please. 🙂

Leave a Reply

