Skip to content

Weekend Finished Objects

December 9, 2007

I struggle to get online on the weekends.. mostly because I’m in competition for ‘MY’ laptop with the Big guy who’s always using it for his fantasy football stuff… prepping his team, watching the game and the points as they accrue… bleh.. give me a break… doesn’t he know I have Ravelry updates to make, emails to surf, blogs to read???  Ahh well.. I used my time wisely this weekend…

First and foremost, I got some rest… I’ve caught the nastygram that my big guy brought into the house and on top of my cat allergies and the congestion and itchy eyes that gives me.. I now have a runny sneezy nose, head congestion (popping ears oh fun)… and a mildly sore throat…  so I barely got out of my Jammies yesterday… and got plenty of rest.  I did have to leave for a few hours for a Brownie’s nursing home Christmas Caroling session..  and then in the early evening a dessert and coffee visit with some neighbors…  but the rest of the day I spent under the blankie on the big yummy chair in the living room with the Christmas specials on ABC’s 25 days of Christmas and these…

jesterhats.jpg

These hats are the Jester Hat pattern by Elizabeth Morrison at The Garter Belt. I saw this hat pattern months ago and pictured it as a sort of ‘Santa’ version that my sister would like for Christmas…

terri.jpg

so I knit her one, and her partner Anne one, and then knit one in all red for my non-brother-in-law Marty.  So now, I’ve just got to finish my Mommy’s 2nd mitten from her pair and the ‘market’ bag she wants… and off that package can go!  Wahoo!  One more family nearly complete for the Christmas knits…

I like this hat so much that I’m going to make myself one.. and I think I’ll make the rib white too…

I also cast on a secret project…

mystery.jpg

I’m writing the pattern up for this because after I give this gift, I have a few folks who might be interested in the pattern… but this is all you’ll get to see of this project for a bit, because I know it’s recipient reads this blog…

With the kiddos.. I did this…

cinnamon.jpg

Cinnamon ornaments (totally simple recipe… 4.2 oz bottle of cinnamon with 3/4 cup of apple sauce, roll out dough to 1/4 ” thickness (in 1/4 of the dough at a time).  Cut out with cookie cutters being careful NOT to forget to put a hole (with a straw) for a ribbon for hanging.   Bake for 2 1/2 hours at 200 degrees F.  The house smells lovely during the whole baking process.   I made a bunch for some friends, and some for some other friends…  (am I being as ambiguous as possible? yes?!?)  The kids made some too and we decorated them with puffy paints…

And… Mr. Postman brought me some yummy yarn and gifts from dear Anne!  I won a contest over at her LYS blog.. 🙂

hpim1252.jpg

I think I opened the cocoa almost immediately and sucked it down!  Yummmm… and those bath fizzies are so cute.. I’ll be sure to use them soon!  The Midnight sky scented sachet is lovely… subtle and very nice.

hpim1253.jpg

Look at that gorgeous yarn… I have just the plan for it too.. but it will have to wait for the new year! 🙂

Not too bad for a weekend where I felt less than stellar…

7 Comments leave one →
  1. holly permalink
    December 9, 2007 11:04 pm

    To not have felt to well, you sure got alot in. I love the hats. They are as cute as the Snowmen hats. Thanks for the recipe for ornaments. I am baking cookies with the kids next weekend and that will be perfect for us to make. The yarn is gorgeous and can’t wait to see how you put it to good use.

  2. December 10, 2007 7:35 am

    … I wanna know what the mystery project is!! *pouts* ….. wait…. is it on Ravelry?! *runs off to check*.

    P.S. cute hats! and great ornaments!!

  3. December 10, 2007 9:48 am

    Cute hats!
    Secret project?!?! Do tell!
    Great contest goodies!

  4. chanknits permalink
    December 10, 2007 11:17 am

    You are a knitting machine, woman! I might have to look up that “santa” hat pattern myself; I won’t wear much other than holiday sweaters, but that hat’s pretty cute!

    That yarn’s yummy too. Enjoy!

    Are you feeling better?

  5. secret pal permalink
    December 10, 2007 12:32 pm

    I will be watching out to see what the secret project turns out to be. Cute hats. For adults or kids? What kind of yarn did you use. Might have to try that pattern.

  6. December 10, 2007 6:41 pm

    You were so productive considering you didn’t feel well. Hope you feel better soon!

    I love the hats.

  7. December 11, 2007 1:39 am

    Have I told you lately how talented you are? LOL I love the Santa hats! If it wasn’t in the upper 70’s here, I might knit me one. Where is my December weather? Gah.

    I hope you feel better soon!

Leave a Reply

