Skip to content

Blame it on Cass Meme

November 29, 2007

Cass has some interesting gross things too… go see..
8 Gross things you wish you didn’t know about me…

1. Once while running (in winter) in the golf course, Murphy found a dead fish. He rolled in it… ground it into his collar… I had to get him home, on leash and therefore had to touch the ground in rotted dead fish on his body… the smell as I approached him made me wretch. I threw up all over my running shoes and lower leg. I walked home with this nastiness on me, and continued to throw up at the smell of the dog. While that’s gross… this is even worse… I tried to wash his collar to get the smell out… three times… and still couldn’t the second washing still produced wretching moments.. literally!

2. I like the smell of my sweat after a hard run. Salty, body odor yumminess… (weirdo!)

3. I like the way my mouth tastes in the morning.. enough that I often put off brushing my teeth until later in the day. (oh the poor soul who visits me early in the day)

When I was in grad school I taught Anatomy and Physiology as part of my graduate work. There are two gross things to share from this experience…

4. I liked the smell of the formaldehyde (actually it wasn’t formaldehyde but at the moment the preservative’s name escapes me)… that the cadaver was preserved in.

5. The soleous muscle of the human leg when preserved in the formaldehyde relative I mentioned above looks remarkably like those huge turkey legs that they sell at the Renaissance fair’s of the world, which I previously found to be rather tasty…after this teaching experience I am amazed that I didn’t become a full vegetarian… though I did strongly consider it…

6. I like smelling the containers in the fridge that get moved to the back and forgotten about to see if they have truly gone ‘bad’…

7. I loved having my braces tightened back during those 5 not so glorious brace faced years… For some reason I liked the feeling of the pain when I clenched my teeth together the few days following a tightening.

8. I like to clean out ‘gross’ things.. like the lint filter in my washer, or the area around the sink faucet that can get nasty… the only gross thing I don’t like cleaning is the toilet.

There you go Cass… let’s get the ball rolling with this one.. I’m actually going to tag for once…

Anne, Lesley, Chan, Jessi, Amanda, Kris, Monica, Wendy, and Courtney,

have at it girls… share your ‘gross’ side…

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 29, 2007 5:36 pm

    GROSS!!
    (I think I threw up in my mouth a little just now.)

    HA! Now let’s see some lowlife claim you don’t have a life! 🙂 AS IF.

  2. chanknits permalink
    November 29, 2007 5:47 pm

    Groan… You guys remind me of a bunch of drunk firefighters playing “top this!”

    Of course, next I will indeed attempt to do just that…

    SNOL!!

  3. knittinggal permalink
    November 29, 2007 5:59 pm

    What does this have to do with Dogs on Thursday???

  4. November 29, 2007 6:01 pm

    The smell of that preservative was enough to trigger headaches and asthma attacks for me in college. That is why I took geology and astronomy for my science classes. I had a medical excuse to not take the lab science required to graduate.

    And puking patients are the worst thing to deal with in an ambulance. Maybe that is why I prefer the engine.

  5. November 29, 2007 9:28 pm

    Ah, crap Michelle. Now I’ve got to do this one? Get ready…

Leave a Reply

