Skip to content

Umm.. not what I was expecting

November 26, 2007

I thought that this would be a post about making a Gingerbread house with the kids today.. but unfortunately, it looks like it’s going to be about a lesson in Gauge…

connorshat.jpg

Here’s the hat I started yesterday for my nephew… modeled by sweet little girl, who willingly claimed this hat as her own… and she can keep it.. because it’s actually a tiny bit small on her, and is far from fitting her 12 year old cousin Connor!

why oh why do I refuse to check gauge?  I mean really… I’m crunched on time as it is with my Christmas knitting… this hat needs to be in the Big Guy’s suitcase for his trip to MN tomorrow… and while it was a quick knit.. and I can surely knit a new one before his trip…  I’m just peeved at myself for not stopping part way through when I was thinking.. hmmm seems small…

See.. I’m a gauge snob… really.. I have rarely knit something that wasn’t the exact size it needed to be… honestly… the yarn called for in the pattern was Cascade 220… worsted weight… with a gauge of 16.5 stitches, 27 rows = 4×4″ on size US 5 … and I substituted with Moda Dea Washable wool in a medium Worsted Weight…  when I checked the gauge on it this morning, I had 10 stitches, 26 rows for a 2×2″ swatch…  Every time I’ve substituted before which is hmmmm EVERY time I knit… I’ve not had any issues…  so now, in my rush… what do I do?  Do I go up a needle size and do a test swatch? Do I stick with the needle size, and double the yarn?  UGH… my gauge friends out there, please come to my rescue… I have a gingerbread house to bake with my kids and a hat to knit before tomorrow REALLY early …

on the plus side, I’m pleased with how the hat turned out.. I haven’t done any color work in ages…

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 26, 2007 1:18 pm

    Sorry to say it, but I think a gauge swatch is in order. I know that it isn’t always a guarantee, but it beats having the garment come out too small. Also, factor in that you’ll be knitting under pressure, so you may knit tighter than normal.

    I’ll send some good kniting/cooking vibes your way!

  2. November 26, 2007 4:49 pm

    Gauge swatches can bite me – especially for hats. Just think of all the things you have made successfully without them 😉 Guess it all depends if you are a half full/half empty kinda gal. And if you are a half empty – fill it up with a beverage of your choice and gauge won’t mattter anyway 😉

  3. November 26, 2007 4:50 pm

    See, I’m the same way with gauge swatches. Like Amanda said, it’s not a guarantee for me, so I rarely do it. I just kinda check as I go and hope the knitting gods don’t smack me around too much. LOL

  4. November 26, 2007 10:38 pm

    OK. I really must say again that while all of your children are beautiful, little there is just SO adorable!

Leave a Reply

