Skip to content

Giving Thanks

November 25, 2007

Thanksgiving has come and gone, but with our visitors I was just not going to be making time to Blog.. and that’s ok… I don’t mind doing a recap…

turkey.jpg

1 Fried Turkey, 1 dish of roasted cauliflower and tofu curry, 1 sweet potato casserole, 1 lb of lemon butter steamed green beans, homemade spiced cranberry sauce, 1 recipe of fresh sage dinner rolls, 1 recipe of chipotle cheddar scones, 18 apple and onion stuffin’ muffins, and 2 bottles of wine.

13 people in my home for Thanksgiving Dinner…

dinner.jpg

dinner2.jpg

Priceless

Thanksgiving morning started with 9am Mass, where my two oldest children sang in the children’s choir… fortunately, I did a ton of prep work the two days prior, so I spent only a small amount of time in the kitchen the remainder of Thanksgiving morning.  I even managed to get in a good hard run of about 5 miles…  🙂 (had to work off some of the calories I was sure to take in later)…  Big guy did a deep fried, cajun injected turkey of about 20 lbs… less than an hour of cooking, and one of the most moist turkey dinner’s we’ve ever prepared… YUM!  For my vegetarian Sis-in-law, I also prepared my roasted cauliflower and tofu curry, and vegetarian apple and onion stuffin’  muffins… mmmmm

The leftovers haven’t lasted long… bummer… maybe I’ll get a turkey on sale and make more 😉  Maybe NOT…   We are enjoying our post-Thankgiving turkey/stuffin/cranberry sauce sandwiches… and roasted cauliflower and tofu curry wraps…  so now.. back to the grind with treadmill workouts and watching what I eat 😉

On the knitting front…  I am nearly done with my sister-in-law’s family’s gifts which will go with the big guy on Tuesday when he travels to Minnesota for work.  I am on the last hat, and hope to finish it tomorrow so I won’t have to mail it.

Walt’s hat: Pattern from Fig and Plum, chunky cashmere blend in chocolate brown, size 6 , 16″ circular.  Modeled by the Big Guy, making a goofy face on purpose…

walthat.jpg

swirl top that I really like…

tophat.jpg

Kathy’s felted bag, modified version of the My little companion bag in her favorite, Purple…

pre-felting: size 7″ wide x 16″ long x 11″ deep

kathybefore.jpg

Post-felting size: 6″ wide, x 11″ long x 7″ deep

kathypost.jpg

Can’t get the best picture.. which is kinda bugging me… but this one will just have to do…

One last project… and it’s OTN… For Connor, the Swell Hat, earflaps are knit… now onto the body of the hat…

connor.jpg

tomorrow I’ll talk about gingerbread 😉 I’ve got to get knitting…

4 Comments leave one →
  1. lauriec permalink
    November 25, 2007 9:09 pm

    LOVE the kid’s table!! I think I was in college & STILL at the kid’s table!!

  2. November 25, 2007 9:35 pm

    Good luck on getting those gifts completed in time!

  3. chanknits permalink
    November 26, 2007 5:08 am

    Love the way felting changes the colors. It’s one of my favorite parts of felting!

    Care to share your curried cauliflower recipe? I love cauliflower and curry, but wouldn’t have though to pair them together…

  4. November 26, 2007 10:13 am

    Looks like you guys had a great weekend, good for you! Dinner sounds yummy. Love the hat!

Leave a Reply

