Skip to content

Weekend wonders

November 18, 2007

It’s the weekend and with Thanksgiving coming up this week, we are busy busy busy… finishing some yard work (read that as… Raking and leaf blowing for almost 3 hours yesterday)… now I can say that minus ONE more thing that needs to be brought inside, our yard is ready for winter…

Good thing too because Saturday morning we woke to a MINOR dusting which put the kids into a frenzy and today.. well today is a blizzard in comparison to yesterday’s dusting. Each of the mornings the household (minus me of course) was woken to the littlest one screaming ‘Daddy, it’s Snowing’… while I know that I won’t find this so exciting in March when I’m missing the warmth of a spring in NC… I’m really enjoying the kids excitement in their first few snowfalls…

snowing.jpg

With all this yard work and inside preparations (means cleaning rooms and unpacking a few more of those icky boxes)… I still have managed to get some knitting in… I have to. Big guy is heading to MN the week after Thanksgiving for work. He’ll visit his sister’s family while he’s there and is planning on bringing my Christmas knits… so that means I need to get those projects done… so far so good…

Suzanny – Happy Hat… Check

happy.jpg

Walt – Cashmere Ribbed hat … one more skein to go and I ran out! Horrors..
Leila – Fulled Slot Handle bag … felting as I type…

leilas.jpg

Knit on size 8 circs, Lion brand wool solids, held double, Pre-felting size 17 1/2″x 17 1/2″, in Leila’s favorite color… ORANGE.. shocking huh… she just got a new winter jacket in a heathered grey, so I added in two greys to hopefully help the bag match her coat.

what’s left…

Kathy – Felted bag
Connor – Swell Hat

With a bit more than a week left, I think I can I think I can I think I can… 🙂

The felted bag I had chosen may prove to be a bit much for the amount of time I have left… gonna have to evaluate… re-read the patterns and see what I think… Leila’s bag only took me 2 days of work… (with three kids y’all know that’s NOT continuous work)… and Walt’s hat has less than 1 day’s work left… Connor’s hat requires intarsia.. and I haven’t knit intarsia in eons.. I’m a tad nervous… but I have the yarn and can start today…

Today will be more cleaning (indoors) and a concert at the local mall where the big girl and her school choir are singing… gotta get that camcorder charging…

murphydog.jpg

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 18, 2007 1:05 pm

    That last picture is simply beautiful. You can feel the happiness radiate off the monitor.

  2. chanknits permalink
    November 18, 2007 6:02 pm

    Agreed! I love that photo. Happy, happy, HAPPY!

  3. November 18, 2007 7:42 pm

    Great pics… esp that last one!!! 🙂

  4. November 18, 2007 11:31 pm

    That photo is, indeed, precious.

    And I’m pretty sure I’m TOTALLY jealous of your snow 😦 It’s really quite unfair. *sniffle* none for me until December, I’m sure. Definitely sounds like a busy weekend – but then, you’re always a very busy lady!

Leave a Reply

