Skip to content

Ooops.. it’s Thursday

November 15, 2007

I almost forgot.. it’s Dogs on Thursday… and to commemorate… a silly Murphy story…

When Murphy was a pup, eons ago it seems… he was constantly getting into trouble… CONSTANTLY.. I swear, the novel Marley and Me is really, Murphy and Me. The things that Marley did in John Grogan’s novel seem straight out of my life… except that Murphy isn’t a yellow lab…

I took Murphy to the park across the street from where I was living back in the late 90’s in Rochester, NY… we would go running, and throw the ball or sticks (that he’d never return)… and just have a good old time. In the winter, the golf course that was next to the park was obviously not in use, so we’d go there, and run with him off the leash (I know.. bad mommy)… but it was so ‘free’… and he loved those times…

Once however, he got busy and ran and ran… and then we found ourselves back in the park… he was thirsty… VERY thirsty… so he decided to get a drink in the river that ran through the park… Wouldn’t have been such a terrible idea if it weren’t for the fact that it was late February, maybe early March… and the ice along the edge of the river was melting… and covered in about an inch or two of the water… Murphy stepped onto the ice, not realizing that it was wet.. and SLIPPERY… and slid right across and fell into the river…

I was so scared… he tried and tried and tried to get out… but every time he got his claws onto that ice he’d slide back down into the river… so what does a good and INSANE mom do??? Slide on my belly, onto the ice (It was maybe 4-5 feet to where he was)… and pull him out… Now… I know… you think I’m totally nuts for risking my life for my dog… but there was no way in heck I was going to sit there and watch him drown and I was too pumped with adrenaline to leave him to go call for help. There were people in the park, they saw what I was doing.. so if I were to have fallen in… it would have been horrible, scarier than scary and I would have had help 🙂

Dogs on Thursday!

ps… Don’t forget Nichole’s Contest!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 15, 2007 7:18 pm

    Welcome to Dogs on Thursday. I don’t think you were crazy. Would have done the same thing myself. I hope Murphy learned his lesson about ice! He sounds very sweet.

  2. chanknits permalink
    November 16, 2007 12:05 am

    Heck no you’re not crazy!! Smooch Murphy on the nose for me.

  3. November 17, 2007 12:22 pm

    That’s why you are a doggy MOM and not a ‘dog owner’…….. KUDOS to you!!!!!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

