Skip to content

Kids are seriously comic relief

November 15, 2007

So… I’ve said that before.. .and I truly mean it… I had additional children for the constant comic relief… 😉

I’m a child of the 80s, married to a child of the 80s… hence… 80s music abounds in our house… If it’s not Come on Eileen, or ‘Beat it’.. there’s some other great stereotypical 80s tune playing…  course… my dear hubby is much more into the 80s tunes than I … but I’ve been known to ‘get down’ to a few songs here and there…  it’s only natural to think that our children will have an affinity for the stuff.. RIGHT?

7-year old walks by me yesterday singing the words … ‘Girls… to do the dishes… Girls.. to clean up my room… Girls.. to do the laundry… Girls … and in the bathroom.. Girls… ‘ She wasn’t belting it out.. but she had the Beastie Boys song down pat…  I kinda shook my head… she’s liked this song since Kindergarten when her and her bestest bud ‘Danielley’ would belt it out in her daddy’s car…  if it’s not the Beastie Boys, then it’s Aqua… and ‘Barbie Girl’…  yikes… what’s my kid listening to??? Am I still a good mother??

Well, on our drive to Weggies today, little girl asks me for the Clean Up song…. no folks… we’re NOT talking about Barnie, and ‘Clean up, clean up, everybody, everywhere.  Clean up, clean up, everybody do your share… ‘  Nope… it took Mommy 3 or 4 minutes of scrolling through an unlabeled (currently listening to) CD in the car to find that she meant ‘Girls’… by the above mentioned Beastie Boys!  Yikes!  There’s another Beastie Boys song this child loves as well…  but right now the name escapes me…  she calls it ‘The Silly Song’.. because it has an interested drum/guitar thing going on in it…

What’s worse… Big Girl and Little Girl asking for 80s tunes?  Or the constant Replay of songs 1, 2 and 4 from Hannah Montana?   Aiiiie yaie yaie!

In knitting news…I completed my FIRST Christmas knit last night… I actually have 6 hats that are THIS close to being done… but sewing on all those buttons is tedious, and since it’s not DUE ’till nearer December… I am holding off on them…  Big Guy is taking a trip the week after Thanksgiving to MN for work and will see his sister and her family… so … those knits have moved to the front of the line…

I give you … Suzanne’s ‘Happy‘ Hat… modeled by the Big girl, who now wants one exactly like it, just a tad smaller… (shock of all shocks)

happy.jpg

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 15, 2007 4:39 pm

    LOL It took me a while to figure out what my son was singing when he kept saying, “Gonna cut my hair and change my name…”. Then it hit me that it was Nickleback’s “Rockstar”. I didn’t realize he was listening! Thankfully, he hasn’t repeated any other lines of the song. 😉 I can just see him belting that out at church.

  2. November 15, 2007 6:04 pm

    I was born in the 70’s but 80’s music was the absolute BEST BEST BEST!

  3. secret pal permalink
    November 15, 2007 10:26 pm

    Cute hat. She looks just like you. I bet if you hold your childhood pictures up, they match her.

  4. November 16, 2007 10:02 am

    That hat is cute…

    Who are the Beastie Boys??? LOL

    Guess I am not an 80’s girl

  5. November 18, 2007 11:35 pm

    LOL Too funny. If I ever had kids, they’d be the same way, no matter how many years it’d been since the 80s *grin*

    That hat is adorable, by the way – very fun pattern!

  6. November 23, 2007 11:31 am

    What a lovely hat! Big girl looks lovely wearing it! It is amazing how she looks a lot like you on that photo! :-))

Leave a Reply

