Skip to content

Had a little random side trip

November 13, 2007

Sort of random.. sort of not…

When we first moved to our new home, we sold the big girl on the move with the fact that New York City is just 2 hours from our house! We have tried to get ourselves settled and unpacked and back to as normal a life as we’ve ever had… and finally… FINALLY we got the time for a trip to NYC!

nyfine.jpg

It was a sort of shortish trip… but we got to the places the kids really really wanted to go… and I learned yet another tidbit about my big guy…

Big guy and I really really need to tap our in-laws for a weekend babysitting deal or at a minimum an overnight, and go to NYC to windowshop, see a show, and just have an adult time together! I wanted to seriously slam him though yesterday with the number of totally inappropriate for children stores that he would walk into.. I mean seriously folks… how many of you would bring your kids ages 3-7 into a shop that sells nothing UNDER $300, and everything in the store is seriously BREAKABLE… and then.. after the complete shock (from which my entire body is still sore from the tense moments in that store) … of that store, he, NO JOKE, turns around and walks into a Christmas Ornament and decoration shop… AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH He turned to me in that store and actually said ‘keep an eye on the middle guy… he’s touching things’…

I’ll show you touching things Mr! (and no I don’t mean that in the ‘Cass‘ sort of way)… (have you ever noticed that Cass get’s quoted or referred to a lot here, and in other blogs too??)

On top of this, Mr. Big Guy decides that it’s totally fine to go to Toys ‘R Us, and FAO Schwarz, and NOT allow the kids to pick a souvenir of ANY sort.

toysr.jpg

Though he did let them buy chocolate at both M&Ms World, and the Hershey’s store.

mnms.jpg hersheys.jpg

What was that holiday we just celebrated??? And HOW many bags of candy do we still have in the house?? I’m totally confused here… Toy or teeth rotting candy of which we’ve already been overloaded… oh yes… let’s buy more candy!

bigdora.jpg mrpotato.jpg toystory.jpg

Toys ‘R Us was fun, the Life Size Dora Doll is desperately ‘needed’ by the Little Girl, however, at $99!! It’s not likely to be in Santa’s sleigh… We took our first ride on the super cool Ferris Wheel inside the store, and sadly 5 cannot sit together, so I took the two older ones in the Mr. Potato Head Car, and Big Guy took the Little Girl in the Toy Story car…

 

The little girl fell asleep with only 8 blocks to walk to FAO Schwarz… so once inside, I took her from the big guy so he could rest his arms… we sat on the stairs and people Gawked (not watched, I gawked… I know, I’m ashamed.. NOT… it was hilarious!)

 

Big girl and middle guy had a great time on the ever famous keyboard floor and hung with the lego sponge…

 

 

fao.jpg sponge.jpg

 

Finally I woke up the little one, and I was able to finally go up and hang with the flammy… I got to see Harry, Hermione, Ron, and Hagrid up close… I got sorted in to Ravenclaw (Big girl got sorted into Hufflepuff)… not a surprise on either one!

potter.jpg sorted.jpg

The thing I think I love most about the city… the totally random things you might see… like running into one of our camp counselors in the city for the night to see a show… or the totally cool and random window displays… like this one for the upcoming movie that my Big Girl is dying to see.. (so she tells me every day)…

prince.jpg

A great time was had by all… now back to real life… 😉

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 13, 2007 7:20 pm

    It looks like y’all had a great time! Although I’m with you on the frustration with the hubby. That’s something my husband would do. lol

  2. November 13, 2007 7:35 pm

    Loved all the photos. Keeps me from turning green with envy, since I *ALMOST* feel like I was there…

    It’s a dad thing. They just aren’t wired right for shopping with kids. By age 8, my little buddy took the Knight shopping, *NOT* the other way around. Sigh…

  3. secret pal permalink
    November 13, 2007 10:57 pm

    What a awesome spur of the moment trip. That is the floor piano Tom Hanks is dancing on in the movie “Big”. I would of never thought of NYC to have so much kid stuff. You just always hear about the shops and shows.

  4. November 13, 2007 11:10 pm

    Looks like so much fun!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

