Skip to content

Oh the weather outside is…

November 10, 2007

Exciteful!

Yesterday Middle guy got up and turned on the TV before I got downstairs (to put it on a channel he likes, rather than the news)…  and after switching channels for him, he informed me that it was going to snow!  Exciting for a kid, and actually for me too… one of the things I’ve been  most excited about our move Northward was that we’d have snow each winter… I had missed the snow the last 10 years as a displaced Northerner in the Containment Area for Relocated Yankees

But… well.. I had 2 requirements of my husband when we moved… 1. Spanish tutors for the kids since they had attended an immersion school and I didn’t want to lose that ground in the language development area… and 2.  A garage, at a minimum a 1 car garage for me… but ideally a 2-car garage for both of our cars…

We of course fulfilled both requirements… however… said 2-car garage was still filled with stuff that hadn’t been unpacked… boxes from those things that have been unpacked, lawn equipment, and the outdoor riding toys…

My kiddos had the day off from school (the first of a 4-day weekend… gasp!).. and after a morning of errands, dental visits, and play I decided that it was time for me to try to get at least 1 bay ready for a car… in the event that the 1-2 inches of pure joy for my little ones truly did arrive…

I finished up a few chores and said to my  littles… ‘ I can put a movie on and make some popcorn for you if you want while I work in the garage… of course.. if you want you can come out and play… it’s cold though so you’ll need hats and mittens… ‘  Just as I started to say this.  I happened to look out the window … and.. the white goodness was already falling!

I told the kids to run to the window and look outside…  and there were a lot of loud squeals of joy…

chelseasnow.jpg

so of course we ALL went outside..  in my hunt for the hats and mittens to satisfy my requirements.. I realized that the kids are in need of a few new pairs… so I will be casting some on this weekend I think..  🙂

For those curious ones out there… yes.. I did a TON of work in the garage and while I cleaned out MY bay… I let the Big guy park in there last night since he left early this morning for a cross country meet in NJ to promote camp… I figured that it would be a lot nicer for him to not have to scrape his car (though a measly two inches  wouldn’t require scraping really…)…  I actually got enough cleaned up and brought downstairs that after the boxes go… (and when I say boxes.. I mean.. we moved a 4-bedroom house from NC to PA… there are BOXES upon BOXES in our garage… all nicely collapsed and stacked, waiting patiently for a new owner…

The big guy’s co-worker who’s moving to our town is supposed to come pick them up this weekend… I hope so.. because it will feel so nice to have both cars parking in the garage!  There are only a few small remaining jobs to do to be able to park both in the garage… but they are things I simply cannot do on my own… the lawn mower and edger, and power washer need 2 people to lift them down to the basement…. (I see a nice large shed in our future)… and our washer and dryer need to get moved down there too… but I seriously CRANKED… I went outside at around 12:30ish… and didn’t come in for good until 4:30… I should have counted the trips up and down the stairs with the STUFF… because it should definitely count as a workout…

I was frozen when I came inside, so I brewed a big pot of Pumpkin spice coffee… and this is how I warmed myself up…

yumcoffee.jpg

This and a beautiful afghan my Mother-In-Law crocheted us years ago, and my knitting… Hat #6 of 8 for Christmas gifts... 🙂  Cranking right along in the Christmas knitting at long last…

None of the white stuff stuck, and as I type this this morning.. the snow that was falling when we went to bed must have turned to rain… bummer.. the kiddos were really hoping for a sledding event today.. 😉

At least the cat won’t have to contend with it… will ya Sparkster…

hisparky.jpg

So… to go TOTALLY off topic..

The blog world is a totally interesting place… I started mine as a sort of ‘therapy’… when we first moved from our home in NC to a rental… still in NC… I was going through some stuff that had me.. well.. down.. and needing a place to put my thoughts… distract myself I guess…. and I didn’t do it as a way to meet people… but that’s the inevitable really… (speaking of, I really need to update my blogroll!)..  It all started because I found myself reading peoples blogs, about their knitting mostly… but you can’t really keep a blog about knitting and not talk about other stuff too…

I eventually made some friends who I’d say are even better than most of the friends I’ve had in person living in NC … (sad isn’t it)… and this all brought me out of my funk… making friends through blogs continues.. and something I’ve learned is that the world we live in is really a small place… and the people you meet, whether from here or there.. are really more like you than you realize…

Take Nichole for instance… Nichole and I met through one of my first few blogging friends Chan… We all 3 share the love of dogs… we’ve talked on our blogs and email for months.. (Chan and I a bit longer than Nichole and I)… and I can’t remember exactly how it all happened but Nichole and I discovered we were from 1 town apart in Massachusetts… and not only that… but… over the course of one afternoons’ random emails… learned that she was a PR gal for my cousin’s High School band… the Slyboyz… and while his music wasn’t really my type of music (it was more my Sister’s stuff)… it’s just hilarious that a girl like me from a town of only 3000 would 18 years after leaving it meet someone who was friends with my cousin!… and meet her in blogland.. NOT in person.. .just weird… don’t you think…?  cool weird…

I’ve met some of the coolest and most interesting people… Anne, from Atlanta… a displaced Alaskan…  Chan, who happens to be Anne’s best friend, Isabelle, a Frenchie living in the state of my dreams.. Maine.. she and I have met in person…  Devon, my Boston friend from Oregon… we’ve met in person too… we had such a fun Yarn Crawl… and others who I really want to meet… Amanda, in NH, Nichole in NH too, Jessi in Alabama.. Monica… who I’m so jealous of because she’s moving from Canada to London to be with her boyfriend… Speaking of… she leaves today… so go over and wish her safe travels… and Hettie.. whos’ so like me, in my Momness and just generally what I’m like… over in California…  Every day my bloglines grow a bit… and I have Loretta, who doesn’t blog herself.. to thank for bringing me there to track the blogs I read… and ultimately, the friends I’ve made…

🙂

8 Comments leave one →
  1. secret pal permalink
    November 10, 2007 12:31 pm

    It looks like you got alot accomplished. I have a garage and love my car in there in the winter. That cup of coffee looks and sounds so yummy. Is that whip cream on top. YUM! Well it looks like you are ready for the Winter Wonderland Coffee Swap, you got snow (I am jealous), Coffee, a good warm blanket to snuggle after a cold day outside, and knitting.

  2. November 10, 2007 2:19 pm

    Fun post! I hate it that the first snow never sticks. Glad you got a lot of your garage cleaning done.

    I would love to meet you, too. I have enjoyed meeting a lot of people from blogland as well.

  3. November 10, 2007 3:28 pm

    Color me green. We have cold, but evidently, just not cold enough to snow. Sigh. I’m still waiting on that first snow!

    I’m still looking forward to our in person meet up. Next time, I promise I’ll get the time right!!

  4. November 11, 2007 2:20 am

    Snow? What’s snow? Oh wait, it’s that fluffy white stuff that I never get down here. LOL I’m so jealous, by the way! 🙂

    It really is a small world, isn’t it? And if you ever come to Bama, we’ll definitely have to meet up!

  5. November 11, 2007 3:08 pm

    Awww… sweet post! 🙂 Such a small, small world and I’m so psyched we realized just how much we have in common! Blogging is fun… and like you said, you can really meet some true friends here. We’ll have to have one big ‘ole blogfest meet up sometime… somewhere! Can’t wait til you visit Essex or Maine again… 🙂 We’ll party like its Slyboyz days… ha ha ha ha!

    Congrats on all your unpacking & organizing success. I’ll admit that we still have boxes here … from our move 6 1/2 years ago… boxes that are unpacked and well, at this point… not sure what’s even in them… sure there’s quite a few Slyboyz pictures though!!!

  6. November 12, 2007 2:16 am

    I love the snow, I remember as a kid when we woke up and there was dead silence we alway knew that it had snowed.. there is just a certain silence that comes with a blanket of snow. 🙂 I love you kitty, he is very cute, I want one, but Shane keeps telling me that I already have three dogs 🙂

  7. November 13, 2007 5:01 am

    Aww! Thank you so much! I’m so glad I found your blog too. Reading your posts have really lifted my spirits, inspired my knitting, and made me smile.

    Thanks for the well-wishes on the move! I’m here and safe and enjoying living with my BF.

  8. November 13, 2007 2:21 pm

    Hi Michelle

    I tagged you over on my blog, figured I’d let you know. I totally understand if you are too busy to play, no pressure.

    By the way how do you get your links to just show a name and not the whole link? I can’t seem to figure that out. Grrr

    Even though I met you through WW and not the blogs, I still count you as one of my blog favorites. I too found theraoy here and new friends and even more now that Ravelry let me in.

    Now that you are in PA we will meet too, you can count on it. I am only 3 hours away. I just need to get some more weight off so I can drive the distance myself.

    Love ya Michelle

Leave a Reply

