Skip to content

Book 1… The Sorcerer’s Stone

November 7, 2007

covertn.jpg

I have been a fan of Harry Potter since the first book came out…  When a new book was due to arrive… I’d pre-order it on Amazon and patiently wait for my Owl and then curl up in a chair with coffee and my book not to leave until I was done (or until I needed a bathroom break,  or more coffee)…  I fell in love with Harry’s world, crazy mystical beasts, wizarding fun and all…  I bought the entire series in hardcover for the day when my children would find a love for Harry like mine..

and that day has come…

Big girl has finally relented and let me begin reading Harry to her… I got barely 1/2 a page in when she was nearly ripping the book from my hands to read on her own.  We talked about how sometimes there might be ‘scary’ parts… but that the basic underlying theme of all the HP books is that Good prevails over Evil… always…  I intentionally gave away some secrets that, had she been older, she might not be happy about knowing in advance.. but I did so in order to convince her that Harry is a series for her to love… plus… she’s bored of all the books on her shelf…

She’s a 2nd grader with a reading level well above her classmates… she devours books in mere hours…  we have exhausted the series we can find a the local library… it’s time to move onto something else…

We agreed that I would do much of the reading to her… and that she could read a few chapters ahead as long as she stopped if she had questions or that if something scared her she come to get me to talk it over.  When I put her to bed last night, We had finished Chapter 5… she comes down with it this morning to bring to school for ‘Dear Time’ (time when they can read something they love).. and I peeked inside to see just HOW much she’d read ahead after I put her to bed (supposedly)… and the goofball is already well into chapter 8!!! sheesh… I was really enjoying re-reading Harry!  Guess I’ll have to wait for her to finish so I can continue on from Chapter 5… 😉

She adored the sorting hat chapter, and the first Feast… she wonders why his teacher from Potions doesn’t like him much, and loves that Neville loses his toad all the time…  I love seeing her this excited about a story again… (she’s REALLY been bored with her books lately)…

I intend to stop her when she gets to ‘Fluffy’…. I know that whole area of the book will be frightening to her.. so I will read those chapters to her…  🙂

But today I want to just jump up and down and scream YAY… another Harry fan in the house (of course Big Guy is probably shaking his head, thinking … ‘great, another Harry fan in the house’…

in knitting news…  (and certainly HP related)… my HSKS3 sock kit pal did in fact receive her package.  I sent it out 2+ weeks ago and hadn’t heard anything until yesterday.  She’s been somehow locked out of her computer… so she was unable to get in touch with me to let me know it had arrived safely… **Note to self, in any future swaps… DELIVERY CONFIRMATION…

here’s what I sent her…

3 Custom wands

size7-2.jpg

Bamboo, core of Polymer clay in  Slytherin colors

snakecrochet.jpg

Hook version, Bamboo, core of Snake skin

And

want.jpg

Wands came in the standard Ollivander’s packaging…

wandbox.jpg

Also…

markers.jpg

Magic crystal ball stitch markers

And… for the first years you get to pick, Owl, Toad, or Cat, and her favorite… OWL

Here is Hedwig, a snowy owl, strongly scented of cinnamon (Hedwig was made from a cinnamon pine cone covered in cotton)

hedwig.jpg

Note the Slytherin colors in the sock kit bag, and the Snake icord drawstring
The bag is a LONG version of the Mandy’s Candy Bag with a Slytherin Crest knit into it

hpim0615.jpg

Sonia loved the bag, and her daughter has stolen the knitting wands with Slytherin caps…  😉  Also included in this swap package… chocolate goodness, crocheted sock pattern book, and hmmm something else?? what am I forgetting.. oh yes.. Yarn… 🙂  Gorgeous Sock yarn from Sunshine Yarns, on Etsy of course…

Just glad my package indeed arrived safely and that my pal really liked it… 🙂

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 7, 2007 6:25 pm

    That is a fabulous package that you put together! Very creative! It’s evident that you put a lot of hard work into it, so I’m glad it hadn’t been lost in the mail. 🙂

    I can’t wait till my oldest starts reading HP. He’s just now starting to read (K4), so I’ve still got a bit more waiting to do.

  2. November 7, 2007 8:33 pm

    I’m the only fool that hasn’t been able to read the HP books yet. It’s a lonely world for me – especially when the new one’s come out and everyone’s blog has a closed sign with “reading HP right now, be back soon”… ha ha… That is so nice that your daughter loves to read.

    I emailed your quote last night. Please let me know if you didn’t get it! 🙂

  3. November 7, 2007 9:05 pm

    Such a creative package!! Wanna be my swap pal next? And I’m so glad you have another Potter fan! I think my boyfriend felt something like that when I started reading the Sword of Truth series by Terry Goodkind. He’s been reading them since he was 10 or 11 and the final book comes out in a couple weeks!

  4. November 7, 2007 11:08 pm

    You are so talented and creative. I’m so glad you are getting to share your love for HP with your little ones. It is the perfect story to share.

  5. November 8, 2007 4:08 am

    You always send the best packages; I know, because I’ve been on the receiving end. The wand is just beautiful, as is the bag you made.

    I am Slytherin green; I’m jealous that you and the Big Girl are enjoying HP together. I first read the first three books to see if my stepson could read them on his own, but he likes dragons, not wizards. GoF is the only book he’s read.

  6. November 8, 2007 8:10 pm

    Congrats on the new Potter fan! It’s always nice to have one more.

Leave a Reply

