Skip to content

One Week

November 6, 2007

If you don’t know the Barenaked Ladies, you’re missing a fantabulous band… This morning (well in exactly half hour) it’s one week since we said goodbye to our dear Chewy…

The Barenaked Ladies have a ‘One Week’ song, who’s lyrics I’ve adapted for one verse… (I’m not terribly poetic, but some of the verses call out to me right now with regards to Chewy…)

It’s been one week since you looked at me
Cocked your head to the side as I said “I’m sorry”
Seven days since I said “Don’t go now,
I want you to come back and see me”

Seven days since the Vet’s room where
I realized it’s time now, but couldn’t tell you

Yesterday you loved me
but it’ll still be forever till I say I’m ok

it will still be forever till I say I’m ok,

it will still be forever till I say I’m ok…

One week…

I miss you Chewy…

7 Comments leave one →
  1. November 6, 2007 3:55 pm

    What a wonderful poetic tribute to Chewy. It’s OK to grieve, and remember how wonderful he was.

    Kris in NH

  2. November 6, 2007 3:59 pm

    Oops! Chewy is a she…sorry! 🙂 Sorry, Chewy!

  3. November 6, 2007 4:29 pm

    OMG… I’m sitting here balling my eyes out at my desk… I think my coworkers think I’m nuts… that was so beautiful and touching (and yes, I’m singing it in my head to the tune…as soon as I got to the I said I’m Sorry part, I lost it…..)

  4. November 6, 2007 5:56 pm

    Beautiful. Yesterday was one month for us…

  5. November 6, 2007 6:29 pm

    Oh, I’m crying. I love that song. And you did a great job adapting it!

  6. November 6, 2007 10:07 pm

    Tears are flowing…..It has been a year since I had to say goodbye to my baby, Smokey Tigger. She was my first baby and after 15 years with her it was so hard to hold her as the vet gave her shot. She had throat cancer that was undetected until it was to late. I cried my heart out as I dug the hole, myself and gently laid her in there wrapped in her favorite blanket. I so feel for all of you…..My heart goes out to you…..

  7. Lesley permalink
    November 6, 2007 10:56 pm

    My heart aches for your loss.

Leave a Reply

