Skip to content

Dogs on Thursday, and a drink for Cass…

November 1, 2007

I try to do Dogs on Thursday but too often forget… but NOT today…

I have been looking for my favorite photos for the last hours… and soooo am grumpy that I can’t find the ones I want… I just have a disaster of a house calling to me to pick up so I will move forward and add the pictures later when I find them…

Chewy was a natural with the kids when she joined our family 7 years ago…

chelseachew.jpg

So this sort of photo is not unusual in our albums… this is our youngest child, then barely 6 months old… Chewy was the best at handling the kids climbing on her, and pulling tails, whiskers, and ears… she was loving and kind and amazing with our kids.. she was a natural protector and actually protected Big girl on her first birthday from a potential dog attack (neighbor dog tried to come (teeth bared) into our yard where Big Girl was sitting on a blanket… and Chewy chased it out of our yard quickly… even went through our electric fence! )

Murphy.. now he has some interesting stories… and I’ll share the best one here…

When I met my husband, the big guy, I was a single girl who’d just one month before decided to give up Men, and get a dog… Murphy was my new Boy.. and I didn’t need a man in my life… I mean really, what better love and devotion can you get but from a dog… I had a name for him.. (besides ‘Murphy’).. he was the ‘All men suck’ Dog… of course.. you meet the important people in your life when you aren’t trying..

anyway…

When I decided to move from Maine, where I’d attended college, and worked for 2.5 years afterwards…, I was getting help from my now hubby. It was blazing hot, and we decided to let Murph ride in the Big Guy’s rental SUV because it had air conditioning, and my Nissan Sentra didn’t. Murph had had a LOT to drink… and it was not his custom to tell you.. vocally.. that he needed a potty break…

I’m driving along, and I come up alongside of the Big Guy’s vehicle.. and notice that Murph is sitting in his lap… which of course is sooooo totally NOT safe for driving… Murphy isn’t a small dog… he weighs close to 70 lbs… and while the Big guy is 6’5″ tall.. he still shouldn’t be driving with a huge dog on his lap…

Next thing I know.. the Big Guy pulls over… so I pull behind only to have him get out of the car SOAKING wet from where Murph released himself ALL over the Big Guy’s lap!

It’s amazing that he still married me… really…

oh.. .and for kicks…

Darn… I really liked these needles… Crystal Palace Daisie’s…

needles.jpg

Cass, take a drink!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. November 1, 2007 7:06 pm

    Just wanted to send you hugs and good thoughts. I’ve been thinking about you since you posted about Chewie–but realized that my thoughts will be more of a comfort if I actually let you in on them. I hope the whole family is doing well and that you’re sustained by the good memories, even though they will be bittersweet at the moment.

  2. November 1, 2007 7:10 pm

    Oh what a precious pic of Chewy!
    I’m lol as I just spit Diet Coke everywhere about the Murphy pee time!

  3. November 1, 2007 7:26 pm

    Great, GREAT Murphy story. Sweet, dear photo of Chewy and the weest one. I wish I had a copy of the card you sent me to send to you…

  4. November 1, 2007 8:44 pm

    SNORT! As if I need an excuse to drink. πŸ˜‰

    {{{{hugs}}}} for you and your family. Extra hugs and ear rubs to Murphy.

  5. November 1, 2007 10:38 pm

    That is a cute picture πŸ™‚ Sorry about the needles.
    😦

  6. November 2, 2007 2:33 am

    What a beautiful dog and baby you have.
    Welcome to Dogs on Thursday!
    P.S. Love your blog too!

    ~Paula

  7. November 2, 2007 12:04 pm

    I am so sorry to hear about Chewy. He looked very sweet. I heard a story once about dogs being our forever friends, and when they cross over the bridge before us they will be waiting on the other side for our arrival. Good thoughts to you and yours.

  8. November 4, 2007 9:58 am

    That’s a precious picture. Still sending warm thoughts and prayers your way, and hoping you’re all pulling through alright.

  9. November 4, 2007 8:49 pm

    Great story about the pup! Bummer about your needle.

Leave a Reply

