Skip to content

Winter Wonderland Coffee swap

October 17, 2007

I know I said I wasn’t doing more swaps except for the one I’d offered to help on (though my help hasn’t been needed)… and this one is it… 😉 and it’s perfect for THIS coffee lover!

www_coffee_swap_button_1.jpg

Coffee

What are your favorite kinds of coffee? (Brands, Roasts, anything at all you’d like to share!)

My favorite brand of coffee is Dunkin Donuts brand, I love it…  I’ll drink most coffees though… I do find Starbucks to be a bit too strong for me.. their latte’s are amazing though… so if I find my way to a Starbucks, I leave with a gorgeous Latte in hand… and come to think of it… it’s Pumpkin spice season.. therefore I need to find my way over there… 😉

As far as roasts go.. I’m sort of a medium roast kind of gal…

Do you prefer whole bean or ground coffee? 

Whole bean all the way baby.. I love the smell of grinding the coffee almost more than drinking it…

This time of year, there are often Holiday Blends available, and many flavored coffees – do you drink flavored coffee? Do you enjoy special blends?

I’m not into the flavored coffees per se… I prefer to flavor my coffee with a flavored creamer…  Sometimes the spiciness of a holiday blend is just too much for my liking…  That being said, I do enjoy some of the mint flavored coffees and the pumpkin spice flavored coffee that Wegman’s has right now… but the nutty ones or vanilla (some of my favorites for flavored creamers) just don’t do it for me in the flavored coffee area… I’ll stick to my creamers for those flavorings…

How do you take your coffee? Cream and Sugar? Straight up? Decaf?

Flavored creamer, or… occasionally just cream and sugar… I have tried but didn’t really enjoy the flavored splenda… I do use splenda though in my coffee often…

Do you prefer drinking from a nice thick mug, or a matched cup and saucer?

Ahh… my favorite mugs are my heavy duty ceramic mugs, the kind that look/feel home made, not just the generic mugs… I posted a pic of my absolute favorite mug, the Jack-o-lantern one… a while back, let’s see if I can find that picture… I really wish I had a snowman version of this mug… 🙂

fallcoffee.jpg

see how big and heavy duty that one is… Maybe Cass would be less likely to break one of these suckers…

Winter and Holidays – PLEASE be descriptive! Your pal will need this information to be sure to put together a package you will enjoy!

What is your favorite part of Winter?

Hmmm my favorite part… well, when we were in NC, my favorite part of the winter was wearing sweaters and jeans, and occasionally my black leather jacket (I needed it more than I wore it… I just hate wearing a jacket when I drive… so I almost never wore it and often stored it in the car)…

My favorite part now that we live in PA… it’s going to be the snow… building snowmen, making snow angels, snow ball fights, building snow forts, and going sledding.. I love love love to ski, and haven’t done much of it for years now… I can’t wait to show my middle guy how to ski this winter!  I love being out in that cold, coming in to a hot pot of coffee, or cocoa, and warming up under a blanket… and, sitting under the blanket while I knit in my favorite big yummy, sleep on me please, chair.

Do you celebrate a holiday in December, and if so, which holiday?

We celebrate Christmas, but, having attended a multi-cultural, spanish immersion school for the last two years, we also acknowledge and spend time learning about as many of the holidays as we can… I want my Littles to know about what’s going on in the world around them and to better understand other cultures, faiths, and ethnicities…

If you celebrate Christmas, do you put up a tree?

Absolutely, and it’s decorated with the ‘annual’ family ornaments, and those crazy craft ones the kids make through school every year…  🙂 I love the tree, and decorating it… I love the smell in the house… the glow of the lights… I love everything about it, except taking it down!

Would you enjoy items related to the holiday, or would you prefer a Winter themed package?

I love all things winter and holiday… but lets just go with the Winter themed package this round as I have TOO may holiday decorations etc. as it is… 🙂  Plus, I like both Red and Green, but not together really…  My favorite colors are blue and green, and I love how the blue and white winter themed decorations look…

Do you collect anything? Are there any holiday or winter-themed items (Snowmen, Angels, Snoflakes, Santas, etc) that you collect?

The only thing I collect is yarn… though I love snowflakes and snowmen…

Do you wear scarves? Mittens? Hats?

Uh huh, Uh huh, Uh huh (do I sound like Cousko sp? from The Emporer’s new groove… that’s how I’m hearing it in my head)  I love all three of the above…

What is your favorite holiday or winter treat?

Hot cocoa, vanilla bubble baths, peppermint sticks, gourmet marshmallows… 🙂 Mmmmm

The best winter treat is a steaming hot cup of GOOD hot cocoa, with a peppermint stick and gourmet marshmallows in it… yum!

Please share a favorite Winter or Holiday memory.

This will sound silly…  but my birthday is in January, and every year when we were little, my sister and I (her birthday is 1 year and 8 days after mine) would have a joint, sledding party at the town ball field hill… it was sooo much fun…  it’s not the party I remember so much as it’s the two of us, standing nearly naked (we’d have my dad’s tee-shirts on because our clothes were sopping wet after hours at the hill), on the heat grate in the floor…

Our’s wasn’t like the standard floor vents in homes now… the ones that are like 1 foot long by 3-4 inches wide… no, we had this big square one that was probably 2 feet by 2 feet or so… and we’d both stand on it, and my mom would crank the heat and our beet red frozen toes would get the blast of air… (and it would blow our shirts up a bit.. now, NOT Marilyn Monroe or anything, but it would puff our shirts out… ) we’d laugh and laugh and spin… but we both were petrified of the moment when our feet would warm up enough to actually start the painful pins and needles phase… YUCK/OUCH!

It didn’t only happen on our birthday party day… but that’s the day that always stands out in my mind…

Yarn and Crafting

Do you Knit or Crochet? For how long?

Knit… only.. I can’t crochet, and my attempts a single chain are just pathetic…  I learned to knit when I was 12, but had a hiatus from it until I was 21… I knit off and on from then until my early 30s… and really only got crazy about it in the last 3 years I’d say…

Do you like wooden, metal, or plastic needles\hooks? Circular or straight? 

I have found some of each of the above that I love… but I most often use bamboo, straights… I am doing most of my hats on circulars, and for those I adore Addi’s.. I only have 1 pair though.. size 8… I forget my cord length, but I recall that it’s not hat appropriate 😉
What sort of projects do you enjoy making?

Hats, mittens, scarves, dishcloths, afghans (mostly baby ones), and I am looking forward to trying socks out this winter 🙂  I have knit 1 sweater, and I’m planning on starting some soon…  I’ve also found some bag patterns that I really enjoy…

What are your favorite types of yarn to work with?

Cottons, cotton blends, wools of all sorts… I’m not picky.. I even enjoy acrylics … everything has it’s purpose 🙂

Do you spin or dye?

I spin my kids around, I have also been known to spin in circles with my kids until we’re too dizzy to stand anymore… but when it comes to yarn.. I leave the spinning to the fiber artists who I purchase from 😉  I’d love to try dyeing at some point.. but I say that about a lot of crafts.. 😉

Do you do other crafts such as scrapbooking or needlepoint or anything else?

Baking, cooking, scrapbooking, cross-stitch, photography, I’m starting to get a little into beading… and fimo work, but if it’s a kid craft, I’m all over it.. 😉  I’m also a runner…

General

When is your birthday?

January 14

Do you have any children? (Furry kind count!)

3 kids, Big girl, age 7, middle guy age 5, and little girl, age 3

Murphy the dog, age 13, Chewy the dog, age 10, Sparky the cat age 7 🙂

What are your favorite colors?

Blue and green, the darker tones… but I like all colors…

Do you have any allergies?

None 🙂

Let the coffee swapping begin 😉

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

