Skip to content

I’m not just a knitter

October 15, 2007

I do enjoy other crafts… and while I wouldn’t ever swear off knitting.. for any reason… I do enjoy trying other crafts, or working on some of the other crafting trades out there that I enjoy…

Every year … come Halloween… the sewing machine makes a debut… I don’t know why I don’t sew more regularly, because it’s not that difficult… I lack the complete confidence though in my sewing capabilities to try something difficult.. instead.. I stick to Halloween costumes and fairly simple projects…

Halloween is nearly here.. I love the holiday.. dressing up… it’s so fun… this year Big girl is being a black cat… I’ve knit her an iCord tail that came out quite cute actually *fun fur does have good uses.. really…  and I’m part way through her hat.  Yesterday I ran out of said ‘fun fur’ and moved onto the Middle Guy’s costume… a Bat… I got him a black sweat suit and sewed him a pair of wings from dark grey fleece yesterday…   I also sewed a pair of mittens, and if I run out of knitting time, will sew him a hat from the remaining fleece… otherwise, he’ll have a knit hat similar to his sister’s…   I will attach his mittens to his sweatshirt sleeves so that he  has a warm matching pair to go with his costume, and won’t lose one while out trick-or-treating…   I still have to attach the wings, which I’m actually quite proud of… to his sweatshirt, and same with the mittens… and make shoe covers as well 🙂  He seems quite pleased with the outfit…

Little girl likes Dora… what.. you’re shocked?  hahaha… she’s 3… there’s no other important girl in her life (well, outside of mommy of course)…  so.. who do you think she’s dressing up as??… Doo doo doo doo doo Dora… 🙂 Her Grandma bought her a Dora Mermaid dress up costume for her birthday, so we’re using that, and some sweatshirts and thick tights 🙂  I think she’ll go as a blonde Dora though because I don’t know if I’ll have time to knit her hair like I’d wanted.. I won’t count it out completely though…  🙂

The other crafting things I enjoy include cross-stitch, scrapbooking, and any craft that I can do with the kids…  we made a load of ghosts on the weekend to decorate the house (same as the one I detailed last week, here) … and I am enjoying trying my hand at stitch markers, and playing with Sculpey clay… I have had a few ideas of things to make with the clay, and am trying them out for some gifts and swaps and such… like…

Riiipit

DPN or circular needle tip protectors

froggie.jpg

bottom1.jpg

Crochet needle decorationsnakecrochet.jpg

crochet2.jpg

Needle Tops

slytherintop.jpg

size7.jpg

size7-2.jpg

I figure I can test out these ‘crafts’ on swaps and see what my pals think before making more 🙂

Oh my… look at the time… and my coffee is getting cold… I’d better get my kiddos up.. and warm this coffee a bit!  Have a fun and crafty day!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 15, 2007 8:44 am

    Wow! Aren’t you crafty?! I love the frog and the needle tops!! Obviously, you’re working on thing Potterish… 😉

    Great swap package. My goal is to learn to sew well enough to line my bags without stress.

  2. October 15, 2007 9:07 am

    Oh I am totally knitting Grace a knitty wig now in Dora colours! What a great idea!

  3. October 15, 2007 11:50 am

    Absolutly love the Riiipit!!!

  4. October 15, 2007 3:45 pm

    Those are so cute!!! I’m trying to figure out a way to indicate to the trick-or-treaters that we’re passing out candy- we live in a Tri-Plex. And I think we get missed because people figure that we will not be passing out candy.

  5. October 15, 2007 4:26 pm

    Thanks for the compliments on Rip… he’s cute isn’t he 😉 I have a few more I’ll be making tonight maybe… it’s hard to work with Fimo in the presence of children 😉

    Devin, I recommend setting up a table or hallweenish display out front and sit with it to hand out the candy… hubby sits on our front porch with creepy music etc… and hands out the candy and tries to scare the big kids and NOT to scare the little ones… 😉 Otherwise … if it’s too cold or something… you could make a series of signs like … ‘candy This —-> Way ‘ or something fun for the kiddies to follow to your door… 🙂

  6. October 15, 2007 11:51 pm

    Thank you soooo much for my package, I LOVE it, you are the best 🙂 I love everything that was in it 🙂 This has been my best swap package every recieved 🙂 Thank you!

    ~Courtney

  7. October 16, 2007 11:48 am

    You NEED an Etsy store!!!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

