Skip to content

Come on people!

October 12, 2007

Yesterday’s post, and cute comments made me think of some of the other funny ‘repeats’ that my children have done over the years… and I decided that I have to share the one that makes me laugh the hardest…

For background info… prior to becoming a parent I worked in an office full of men… now, I cannot completely blame my ‘language’ on that office of men, but I can say that it brought out whatever language issues I had prior to working there :-0 I wouldn’t say my issues made me a true ‘Sailor Mouth’.. .but let’s just say … it was far from Sesame Street Approved..

During my pregnancy I worked hard at cleaning up my trash mouth… and in particular worked on it in the car during my daily drive to and from work… I changed the,

‘$#^%*@& People… just drive’

to much friendlier dialog.. and I felt like that 9 months of practice was a good exercise in finding alternate ways to express anger, and in particular… road rageish outbursts, than just through Oscar The Grouch trash mouth… 🙂

When big girl was 2 or so… we were driving home from some now forgotten location… we came to the stop light off of the highway exit ramp… and, with a few cars in front of us, waited our turn for the light to change… from the back of the car though comes this little voice shouting

‘Come on PEOPLE… GO!’

Big Guy looks at me and says…. ‘Did she just say, “Come on PEOPLE… GO” ?’

To which I was mildly embarrassed and answered … ‘Sounds like it’… and in my head thought… hey… ‘it’s a whole lot better than $%^&*@ People… just drive’…

A few seconds go by.. and again from the back seat.. that cute little voice booms out…

‘GO People GO!!’

I so wanted to laugh out loud.. but the Big Guy didn’t find it so funny…. so I had to explain to her the concept of the traffic light… and that it wasn’t the person in front of me that was causing us to wait…

Kids are hilarious… that’s why we went and had 2 more….

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 12, 2007 10:25 am

    I love it!! And for the record, it beats what Mugsy would say if he could talk…

  2. October 12, 2007 10:56 am

    Thanks for the comment… I like the hat too, I did get him to pose for me, but not with out him making funny faces 🙂

  3. October 12, 2007 11:01 am

    When my brothers were small we had two cats that were supposed to be indoor cats. The cats did not agree and made frequent attempts for freedom, requiring us to chase them around the yard and pull them out from underneath the car. My not-quite-three-yet brother managed to capture one, and while carrying him back to the house (here’s a vision: PJs, rubber boots, shaggy brown hair mussed from bed. Cat, tiger striped, draped over child’s arms, all four paws swinging no more than an inch off the ground) he can be heard to exclaim “F#@king cat.”

  4. October 12, 2007 1:24 pm

    When we were little, my older sister cried when she saw road kill, and I was the kid asking, “Are we there yet?” So to keep us entertained my mom used to tell me to count exit signs (looking for our exit)… “There’s an exit! THERE’S an exit! There’s an exit!”… and then my mom would scan the road for road kill and then say, “Ooh look at that pretty tree!” to distract my sister from the dead animal. Your kids sound great.

  5. October 12, 2007 2:08 pm

    Again – Love it! Sounds like we have similar driving habits 😉 I foresee some trouble …

Leave a Reply

