Skip to content

You’ve GOT to be kidding me…

October 11, 2007

Those are the exact words… with the correct inflection uttered by my almost 3 year old yesterday…

Yep… Mommy words straight from her little precious 2 years and 363 day old mouth!  Doesn’t it just kill you when your child repeats what you say in a manner that makes you stop and think.. hmm do I really say ‘THAT’ so often that you would repeat it… and in a way that is perfectly appropriate for those words??

Yep… I do…

Now… for the background story… I was using clippers to trim off the dead/spent Blackeyed Susan flowers that I’d been meaning to do for weeks…  I couldn’t find my good ‘small’ pair of clippers so I had the big mongo sized ones out…

she asked if she could use the clippers and help…

My response was… ‘no honey, I’m sorry, but the clippers I’m using are bigger than you… if you want to… you can help mommy by putting the flowers into the bucket’

A few minutes goes by…

Cute little 2 year old peeks at me from around the fence and says… ‘You’ve GOT to be kidding me mommy’…

to which I stopped, chuckled to myself for a moment and said ‘What?’

Cute little 2 year old: ‘You’ve GOT to be kidding me Mommy’

Me:  ‘Kidding you about what?’…

Cute little 2 year old :’ You must be kidding that I cannot help you’

Mommy: ‘Well, you can help me by picking up the flowers’

Cute little 2 year old: ‘Yes, but that’s not how I want to help’

Mommy:  ‘Well.. how could you help me?’

Cute little 2 year old:  ‘By using those big clippers’

….

and the conversation went on and on and on…

Finally she shakes her head, says ‘You’ve GOT to be kidding me…’ again and walks away !

kids…

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 11, 2007 9:22 am

    Out of the mouths of babes… Very cute!!

  2. October 11, 2007 10:55 am

    LMAO… aren’t they so precious?

  3. October 11, 2007 10:57 am

    Hilarious! Someday I’ll have my own. I wonder what they’ll repeat… Yikes!

  4. October 14, 2007 7:10 am

    LOL Too funny. My mom relayed to me that Katie (5) came into the house from playing outside the other day and said ..

    “It’s so friggen cold outside!”

    haha. At least friggen is better than the alternatives, but they’ll surely repeat what they hear 😀

Leave a Reply

