Skip to content

Felting

October 3, 2007

So…  I told Chan a while ago, I think I also mentioned it to Anne, with a few questions about felting something that wasn’t originally intended to be felted…  anyway.. I’m already off topic…

In 1991 I traveled for a school year to Cork Ireland.  It was the most amazing year in my life probably… and I have the  most wonderful souvenir of my time there… A beautiful handknit fair isle sweater from Blarney Woolen Mills…   At the time I was a poor college student and couldn’t afford (the time or the money) to buy the yarn to knit a nice sweater, so I just bought the sweater…   Well .. in 1991 it was the ‘fashion’ to wear things quite large… and I bought the sweater in a Medium size… well.. I swim in the thing.. and it’s tremendously itchy…  and having lived the last 10 years in North Carolina.. well.. I honestly can say I cannot remember the last time I wore it..  So…

I’m making bags…

Buckle up folks… here we go…

before.jpg

Still in ‘pristine’ shape after all these years…

sleeve.jpg

Hmmmm screaming ‘Sock Bag’…

blarney.jpg

Somehow I’ll incorporate the tag…

inprocess.jpg

No turning back…

pieces.jpg

eeeks!

Here’s how I did the bottom…

bottom.jpg

sockbag.jpg

You can’t see it but there’s a pocket on the inside from the cuff ribbing…

ready.jpg

Ok.. she’s felting as I type… felt baby felt…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 3, 2007 5:51 pm

    Wow, you’re brave and adventuresome! I can’t wait to see it all felted up. Clever girl, you are…

  2. October 3, 2007 6:16 pm

    Oh what a very cool idea! Can’t wait to see how it turns out…
    Thanks for donating to the ASPCA! 🙂 You rock!

Leave a Reply

