Skip to content

Mmmmm blueberries

August 30, 2007

blueberries.jpg

The night before camp starts we (and about half the staff) stay at a hunting lodge for the night to have our meetings and prepare for registration… This year the owner of the ‘Vacation Inn’ invited me to bring the kids back to his property to pick blueberries off of his 200+ blueberry bushes… Of course I graciously accepted the offer…
On Thursday when camp had settled down finally (well as settled as it’s going to get) I drove the kids over to Rocco’s for blueberries…

chelsea.jpg

abby.jpg

jj.jpg

berries.jpg

We picked to our hearts content… and then JJ tells me that Abby found ‘Bear Poop’… so I investigated, and sure enough…

Bear Scat

bears.jpg

Bears love berries, and this looked fairly fresh.. so we finished up then and there… and I’m not so sure I’ll be bringing the kids back there next year… Rocco told me (when we returned to thank him) that yes… the bears are there regularly (Ok, Rocco.. I greatly appreciate the opportunity to go there and pick, but I guess it’s been a long while since you’ve been around children… I just don’t think a ‘bear-berry patch’ is where I’d like to bring my kiddos! 😉

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 31, 2007 8:59 am

    Yum! Looks like great fun, bear poop and all. Have I told you lately that you have the most adorable kids?

  2. September 1, 2007 10:31 am

    Michelle you take the best photos.

    What kind of camera do you have? I really need a better camera. You really could make a claendar or post cards out of some of those shots, ok maybe most of your pictures.

    I love coming to see them.

  3. September 12, 2007 12:03 pm

    This reminds me of the book “Blueberries for Sal” about a little girl and her mom and a bear and her cub. Wonderful pics of the afternoon– everyone looks relaxed and happy.
    🙂

Leave a Reply

