Skip to content

A Pupa, Supa Dupa! (thanks Wonderpets for that song!)

August 8, 2007

We collected monarch caterpillar eggs while at my in-laws for our recent wedding trip… some hatched, however we were unable to keep the little tiny guys alive… so we were thrilled when in Maine that we found some large monarch caterpillars!  We took some home with a bowl full of milkweed leaves intent on following the progress from caterpillar to butterfly.. and boy were we surprised to find that they were ready within 1 day of being home!

I captured some photos of the first caterpillar’s progression from Caterpillar to Pupa.. though not the best (my digital is not good with ‘up close’…)

img_3594.jpg

img_3597.jpg

And then this morning when Caterpillar #2 started his progression (shedding his last skin to reveal the pupa stage)

caterpillar.jpg

almost.jpg

pupa.jpg

crysallis.jpg

I also did a quick video, but I don’t have enough room here unless I purchase more … I haven’t investigated that… maybe I will later…

On to camp work! yuck!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 8, 2007 2:40 pm

    Amazing Mother Nature, huh?

    Do you plan to collect the silk and knit it? LOL

  2. August 8, 2007 2:42 pm

    I am going to walk in your steps this weekend. We are going to Boston for a baseball game, and I hope I will be able to visit those stores you went to with Devon…

    Good luck with Camp work! 🙂

Leave a Reply

