Skip to content

One week in a minute

August 7, 2007

Well, as much as I’d like to cover one week’s vacation in a minute… I’m fairly certain it will take 2 or 3. I will definitely blog more about this visit later however my dear sweet husband whom I normally love to pieces has destroyed what little bit of organization I had accomplished before leaving for Massachusetts and Maine! And… we have company coming tonight for a lobster dinner (which I acquired on my trip home from Maine)… grrrr I have an unbelievable amount of cleaning and organizing to do before our company comes, so I have to keep this short… I’ll share with a few pictures… a very brief glimpse into my week away from unpacking!

I started with a stop near my Dad’s in Hamilton, MA to catch up with two high school friends and so that our kiddos could play… here we all are.. the crazy mom’s…

highschool.jpg

and of course we cannot forget the little ones… it is almost weird to see them all together since many of them really closely resemble us in our childhood…
highschoolkids.jpg

Next… a meeting! I met Devon in Boston for a super fun yarn crawl. What an awesome visit we had. It’s like I’ve known her all my life or something. The comfort and ease with which we talked was almost odd. I think any witnesses would have assumed we’ve been friends for ages!

michelle-016.jpgEventually I’ll send pics of the yarny yumminess that I acquired…

After I left Devon, I caught up with a Weight Watchers Message Boards friend, Missy… Missy is another ‘sister’ to me. I felt so comfortable with her and really enjoyed our quite brief meetup at Fire and Ice in Harvard Square. I hope we too can have more times together in the future…

michelle-017.jpg Finally we headed up to Maine, to visit with my college roommate and best friend Beth. Beth has had a rough few years and we haven’t had much time to visit due to distance, however, now that we’re in PA, it was only 6 1/2 hours drive! That’s a whole lot better than the drive from NC!

While at Beth’s we did tons of relaxing and fun stuff with the kiddos including a trip to Crystal Lake Beach and a wonderful trip to Storyland! The kids absolutely loved it there in spite of the extreme heat!

humpty.jpg

We left Beth’s yesterday mid morning to stop for Lobster’s at Butcher’s Seafood, and then at Chuck E Cheese’s in Portland to meet up with Isabelle.

I was so excited to meet her, though nervous that I’d need to use my very poor French, however her English is amazing (no matter what she says, her accent isn’t even remotely difficult to understand)… Chuck E Cheese’s was the perfect place to meet for our kids sake, however it was hard to chat… I did enjoy what little bit we got to say to each other… and definitely will plan to catch up again, sans petites, when I am next in Maine. Abby graciously took a photo of us… which from her angle wasn’t bad, but is hardly a decent photo of me… oh well! Isabelle also graciously gave me this cute mug, with dishcloths and reed diffuser set! Thank you SOOO much it is all so great! I love the lobster pin! And, I’m drinking my coffee out of the mug right now!

isabelle.jpg gift.jpg

We got home last night around 8pm and had a nice dip in the pool before getting to bed… I hope I can get everything adequately cleaned up quickly enough for our evening guests today!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 7, 2007 10:50 am

    WOW!!! You did lots of things! Chuck E. Cheese’s was probably not the best place for us to chit chat, huh? LOL

    Crazy place there… and it was especially busy yesterday too… πŸ˜‰

    Too bad we couldn’t go to the beach, but the weather was not really appropriate anyway…

    I so hope we will have another opportunity to meet again and have more time to get to know each other better!

    We didn’t have time to go to the LYSs either… But don’t worry, I will go for you… he he he

    Thanks for your kind words about me. And I think you look great on the photo. Look at ME… Argh! LOL

    Abby certainly snapped a great shot from the top of her young years… πŸ™‚ And it is so nice to have a souvenirs of our time together!

    We went to Storyland too when my Mom was here, and my kids love it there a lot too… Better than Santa’s Village. I think Riley was wearing Story Land’s T-shirt yesterday, wasn’t he?

    I didn’t know you were a Weight Watcherette… Maybe I should too… It seems like I cannot do it on my own this time… 😦 You look so great and athletic! πŸ™‚

    Good luck for organizing your house and for your dinner tonight!

    {{{HUGS}}} Isabelle πŸ™‚

  2. August 7, 2007 10:52 am

    I forgot, you are very welcome about the mug. It is just a little something to remind you of me when you drink your coffee or tea… πŸ˜‰

    I see that you have signed up for Knit 1, Tea 2 Swap… I did too! πŸ˜‰

  3. August 7, 2007 9:15 pm

    OOH! I read Devon’s blog and I just realized that you already had shopped for yarn in Boston… Lots of stores that you visited!!! πŸ˜€

    I need to go yarn shopping next time I go to Boston… Never thought about that… πŸ˜‰

  4. August 7, 2007 10:06 pm

    Meeting you was great and I am so glad that I got to be a stop on your vacation! It was like I had known you forever! It was a great day and I’m so glad that we got to meet IRL! Hope you guys have fun at camp.

  5. August 8, 2007 2:52 pm

    I am not sure I will be able to drag my husband in more than one yarn store… LOL

    So, if you had to pick one of the yarn stores you went to in Boston, which one would it be?

    Thanks! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

