Skip to content

Hotel internet bliss and the Dark Mark

July 12, 2007

I’m supposed to be out running… enjoying the cooler PA temps.. and what am I doing?

Surfing…

blog land… yay! I’ve been reading up on my swap partners for Knitters Virtual Vacation, and Dog Days of Summer… and reading on my Weight Watcher’s threads… I haven’t been able to do this for two weeks! But the scale tells me I should be running 😉

I need to vent/rant here for a moment about the Dark Mark cloth I’ve been trying to design… I’m so frustrated…

My Harry Potter cloth that I recently designed and posted here was my first design… it was a lot of fun and turned out exactly as I had imagined it in my mind… but this dark mark.. dang if I can get it to look right… I’ve knit it 3 times and ripped it 3 times… and still… NOT what I want… I may have to put it aside and do something else Harry Potter… I have a quidditch one in mind, and a Dobby… so maybe I’ll start work on those two and come back to the Dark Mark… I just thought that the DM was so much more appropriate for the upcoming book release… maybe just maybe I can get it right in time for the 21st… we’ll see… with all the unpacking that lays ahead of me this next week I’ll be surprised if I can get knitting time, but I’ll certainly be trying…

we close on our house today at 2! wahoo!
🙂

Ok, that run is calling louder and louder by the second…

7 Comments leave one →
  1. July 12, 2007 1:07 pm

    Well, you’re still my hero. I’m still not brave enough to do more than drop a repeat or ten on socks to make them as short as I like!

    Dobby? I adore Dobby! Toss the Dark Mark frustration aside for another time and let your inner house elf free!

    As it is less than a hour from closing, congrats! Knowing you, you’ll be settled in before I get back from my travels. 😉

  2. July 13, 2007 3:07 am

    After frogging an entire pattern twice, I’m usually too frustrated to continue. *insert cheering squad* You can do it! Trap the Dark Mark in a dishcloth pattern!! 🙂 Kudos to you!

  3. July 13, 2007 10:50 am

    How did the closing go? Are boxes now waiting patiently to be opened and put away?? I do hope all has gone well with your move and that your dishcloth design will work its way through your needles. Yeah for Dobby, he is too cool! How are the little ones taking in the move and Chewy? I do hope the family is well.

  4. July 13, 2007 2:15 pm

    So sorry to hear that the dark mark is living up to its evil reputation. If I can help with any of the Potter cloth projects, just say the word. I think you do great work, and I’d be glad to help support it. 🙂

  5. July 13, 2007 4:54 pm

    Aw, I’m sorry the cloth is frustrating you. I think sometimes setting things aside is just what we need to let our brains breathe. Perhaps even just setting it aside a few days as you close, celebrate the closing, and unpack will drop some little piece into your brain that shouts. OH! That was the missing piece! 🙂

  6. July 17, 2007 8:23 am

    OK Michelle I have no idea what Dark mark is…lol… perhaps I should break down and get and read the books huh? I know you can do it though, and believe me I have frogged many a thought I have had that wouldn’t knit right. I think I did 7 mermaids.

    Oh by the way the words on the bigger mermaid cloth say Baby and Love going up and down and Angel going across.

    A woman had a baby born with the mermaid like feet, he only lived 6 hours and she wanted a cloth to remember him, so I designed it for her specifically. I actually prefer the one without the words myself.

    I do need a better camera though, my pictures leave much to be desired.

  7. July 17, 2007 2:00 pm

    Have a wonderful and relaxing run! 🙂

    I have nominated you in my blog, because I think you rock!

    Miss you…

Leave a Reply

