Skip to content

Almost 2 weeks without blogging…

July 10, 2007

Ok, that’s not entirely true… it’s only been 8 days, but it feels like longer.. and I owe some BIG posts…

I attempted several times to post my July 4th Pikes Peak post, and failed… my in-laws are on a dish network at home and I dont’ know if it was their speed or the weather or what but I could just never get it posted… I will attempt to get that done in the next few days, but will probably NOT as I am so overwhelmed right now with our move… and Chewy… and just life… I am so sorry Firefly for failing in my end of the bargain for Pikes Peak.. I WILL get it posted soon, I promise!

I have a number of photos to share.. quickly and then I have to get… thank goodness for free wifi at Brueggers!

I have news on Chewy to share… her cancer is a malignant form that is highly invasive and metastatic (meaning, fast growing, and will spread easily)… we have probably up to 6 months left with our dear girl… so we are taking the extra time each day to tell her how much we love her and just enjoy her… we told the children, and they took it rather hard… which doesn’t surprise me given how much they love her… we made a stepping stone with her pawprint on it for our new yard, and will do the same with our other pets as a way to honor their lives and our memories of the fun we’ve had with them.

chewystone.jpg

Suzanne, one of Chewy’s original owners, took some time to take a nice nap with Chewy…
img_2917.jpg

I took the time to relax a bit at my in-laws and knit… I got a number of things completed, including the following…

A fun fur hat (for fun) for my Father-in-law

img_2955.jpgimg_2954.jpg

A cupcake dishcloth for a friend

img_2919.jpg

A shower scrubby for my Mother-in-law

img_2883.jpg

A house warming present for my sis-in-law

img_2885.jpg

And I received my Tea Swap package from Mia, here’s a quick pic…

img_2878.jpgimg_2880.jpg

I also received my Hogwarts Sock Kit swap package from Helena, and I love it, but forgot somehow to take a photo, so I”ll put that in here sometime soon!

I took an afternoon for myself and went to a few LYS in the Rochester area, including The Yarne Shope and Knit n Purl (which wasn’t open but I oggled the store from it’s glass windows… I’ll definitely be going back there!)img_2948.jpgimg_2949.jpg

I have their info/links etc and will update Anne’s LYS blog as soon as I can…

We met up with friends and their Quad’s for a day of fun at the playground and a yummy Pontillo’s pizza and wings lunch.. YUM!
img_2943.jpg

img_2940.jpgimg_2932.jpgimg_2936.jpg

We had a ton of fun with our cousins for the fourth of July at my in-laws home… sparklers, fireworks, etc… it was great!

img_2905.jpg
img_2914.jpg
img_2911.jpg

We celebrated one cousin’s birthday with a yummy cake and tons of fun at my Sis-in-law’s new house…

img_2893.jpg
Happy birthday Suzanne!

img_2902.jpg

I did get in a good amount of running as well,… John and I ran in the Sodus Point Lighthouse 5k race on the fourth and I placed first in my age group with a time of 22:16. Not my fastest by far, but still a good race… We enjoyed ourselves and our prizes.. 🙂

When I get more time I’ll update this post with links etc… I just have to get moving. 😉 (pun intended)…

6 Comments leave one →
  1. vacationswap-pal permalink
    July 10, 2007 6:40 pm

    So sorry to hear about Chewy’s diagnosis. It’s a blow all right.

    Your traveling looked like fun. Hope the moving isn’t too stressful 🙂

  2. July 10, 2007 8:53 pm

    Congrats on finishing first for your group! That’s awesome! I’m glad to see all the smiles, and give Chewy and pet and some drool from all of us too. (Six months… that’s still time for me to get up to meet her!)

    Good luck with the next leg of your move. Can’t wait to hear that you’re settling into your new home.

  3. July 10, 2007 11:29 pm

    Congrats on winning your age group race. 22:16 is awesome! I’m so sorry to hear about Chewy, but 6 months is a long time to get in lots more Chewy good times. I am in love with your cupcake dishcloth, your design? Very fun hat and I also love all your other knitterly goodies.

    Best of luck with the next part of your move or the unpacking part at least. Looking forward to meeting up with you at the end of the month!

  4. July 11, 2007 5:25 pm

    Chewy is so sweet. I hope she stays happy.

    And just remember that some of the stuff in the box was to give you a head start on knitting winter wear for the kids. I hope you enjoy the wine.

    And it looks like you had fun on the 4th!!

  5. July 11, 2007 8:55 pm

    Woohoo – congrats on the race!

    And the picture of Chewy is precious – I used to sleep with Maddie like that when her back was bad; I couldn’t bear to go into the bedroom and lock her out so she’d not jump on or off the bed, and if I laid in the recliner, she wanted to hop up. So I went to her =)

  6. July 12, 2007 6:33 pm

    I’m so sorry to hear about Chewy 😦 Give her extra hugs and scratches from us.

Leave a Reply

