Skip to content

It’s Official

June 25, 2007

So, John’s in PA now! It’s official… we’re really moving…

I know that sounds funny, I mean, you’ve been hearing me say we’re moving to PA for a while… but the history behind this move is pretty ridiculous. Last May we heard about the opportunity for this transfer, and decided to go through with it sometime in June… so in July we put the house on the market and got an offer in December that we accepted… 1 week after accepting we heard there was a ‘hold’ on the transfer. John was a contract employee for a federal agency, and this agency decided to ‘get rid’ of all contract employees (with the explanation that Federal positions would be created for current contract workers). John’s manager put the move on ‘hold’ for us…

This meant two things really:

1. We had to wait and John had to ‘apply’ for the job he was already doing

2. The move, if it happened, would be paid for by someone other than us!

In February the agency posted John’s position, and John applied… they posted the position for 3 employees and posted a similar position for an additional employee… and it seemed like FOREVER, and almost like he wouldn’t get one (the positions kept getting filled before they even got to his application)… but in May we finally heard that he had an offer in the works! It was nearly another 4 weeks before we heard that he did indeed get a relocation package, and things have seriously snowballed since…

So given this history you can imagine why even up until yesterday I wasn’t 100% convinced we’re moving… but we are!
John begins work today as an official Federal employee… and he meets with the house inspectors to ‘inspect’ the home we are buying… I have Abby and JJ in Art camp this week in the mornings, and playdates for nearly every afternoon… and will leave NC on Friday (or Saturday)…

How did this all happen so quick, when in reality we’ve been in LIMBO forever!?!?!

Well it did and about two weeks we’ll be official PA residents!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 25, 2007 10:04 am

    Congrats! And you’ve kept your sanity through it all…

  2. June 25, 2007 3:00 pm

    Just remember to not let the movers pack up all of your knitting though. Hide it somewhere safe in the car.

  3. June 25, 2007 6:53 pm

    Not to worry folks.. the knitting is being packed by myself.. and I bought some rubbermaid bins to bring it all with me (minus the 3 large packing boxes filled with yarn that weren’t unpacked when we got to our rental)… Scary how serious my stash is.. and.. I really hope to get my invite to Revelry soon… so I can catalog my stuff and figure out the projects I’ll be doing with it all!

  4. June 26, 2007 7:46 am

    Congrats on the official letter. I hope the packing and such goes well and that it is a smooth trip up to PA! Ravelry…I wish I would get my invite too. LOL

  5. July 7, 2007 10:06 pm

    where in PA? close to philly? I’m in PA, 20 mins from the airport, closer to DE state line! LMK and I’ll be around to help when you get here.

Leave a Reply

