Skip to content

More Fitter Knitters

June 4, 2007

A while back I joined the ring, and blog More Fitter Knitters and I have been meaning to put a list of my goals and plans here on my blog… but I just kept of forgetting or ‘not’ getting around to it… until now.

I’m an avid runner, and spinner… so I often forget that there are indeed other things that I should, could do to improve. Running and spinning are great at tightening up your hamstrings and quads. Running in particular does a true number on the hamstrings. I should really include a lot more Yoga and Pilates into my daily routine…

Those who know me well know that I’ve lost nearly 40 pounds on the Weight Watchers points program. I’ve been a Lifetime member for nearly 5 years. But I still struggle with portions and making healthy choices every day! Weight loss is truly a WIP and maintaining it is even harder than losing (or at least for me it is).. Only when you can make a true lifestyle out of your changes will one be able to maintain… I feel like I’m truly there… everyone slips though… so I need to keep working on meeting the 8 Good Health Guidelines daily…

1. Eat at least 5 servings of fruits and vegetables daily
2. Choose whole grain foods whenever possible
3. 2 servings of milk products daily
4. Drink at least 6 glasses of water a day
5. Have some healthy oil every day
6. Make sure you get enough protein every day
7. Limit added sugar and alcohol
8. Take a multivitamin-mineral supplement every day

For the most part I get most of them every day… I sometimes struggle with the fruits and veggies, and milk servings… the healthy oils can be tricky at times too. I nearly never drink alcohol but could stand to work on the added sugar category… I take my multivitamins, however lately they have upset my stomach if I take them on an empty stomach… so I have been forgetting them…

So, my pledge for the next month (and hopefully forever… takes 21 days to form a new habit right?)

1. I pledge to get at least 30 mins of cardio activity daily
2. I pledge to do yoga or pilates work for 30 mins each day
3. I pledge to decrease my sugar intake
4. I pledge to take my vitamins
5. I pledge to drink 2 glasses of milk daily

I’ll start there and add as I go!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 4, 2007 6:47 pm

    Yoga is so much fun. I guess I should try running again. I prefer yoga to running. And as I have discovered, decreasing sugar is hard. It is hidden in everything. It is often the second or third ingredient in commercially made breads. Even those that claim to be whole grain.

    I tried WW but it didn’t work for me. Their veggie option was really heavy on the dairy and that is what I have to avoid. So I have kind of made up my own. I am hoping to slowly switch over to more of a fat-free/low-fat vegan diet. (There are certain things that I just can’t give up yet.)

  2. June 4, 2007 7:13 pm

    As you may recall, I can’t run anymore because of my back problems. It’s okay! Some of us are better suited to yoga than others. What’s important is to find what you like best, and do it. Sure, variety is good for your mind and body, but doing ANYTHING is better than nothing.

    Anyhooo… I popped in to say that you are inspiring! What a great HSKS pal you are. That was quite a package you sent your pal.

Leave a Reply

